Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Shop Popular Services gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports toystl17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 15 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 16 reviews
on December 26, 2012
This doll house KIT is a true test of your patience and skill. I would not recommend this kit for a pure novice builder. I built the 6 room furniture kit first then started on the doll house. Make sure you read through the entire instructions first before doing anything. Then make a plan that details what each room will be. Decide what you are going to do with the floors...wood finish, carpet etc. Decide on the paint or wall paper for each room. I highly recommend that you build AND finish the sub-assemblies first (stairway, 1st floor fireplace wall, etc. Next layout your lines on the outside walls for the clapboards and the roof panels for shingles. Next finish the floors and the interior walls and ceilings. Once interior finishing is complete go back to the first instruction and start the assembly of the house. Outside finishing is last and takes some time and a lot of hot glue. If you have questions call the toll free help number in the plans. They will be a big help. It's a great product when completed.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2012
My husband and I bought each of our daughters one of these dollhouses for their birthday. They love the houses and they have become a family project to build. They come with all of the wood pieces including the trim, however they do not come primed or painted, we liked that because then we could personalize each house according to our daughter's tastes in color and furniture. This is a large dollhouse, it's bigger than I expected. We have a three year old and a 7 year old and these houses will be played with for a long time, I think my daughters will be able to "pass" them down to their own daughters one day.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2016
You get what you pay for. The material is cheap 1/8 plywood, everything is die cur from sheets, the siding is very thin oak and as well as the shingles. The instructions are hard to understand and you spend a lot of time figuring out what they want you to do. For a first time dollhouse it's OK but if you are serious about making a good dollhouse go for a more costlier one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2014
This house is adorable, but has been a nightmare to put together. The directions are not helpful as none of the parts are labeled. And we have had to sand all of the pieces because they are too rough as is. We have our retired general contractor grandpa working on it he is challenged on this TINY house project more than a big house--he says! Ha! It's not together quite yet, so I'll have to update this on how the finished product looks.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2014
I bought this dollhouse for a trade show display of some house paints. It took me 45 hours to paint the exterior parts and build the dollhouse. The panels with the various parts were marked appropriately. The instructions were somewhat clear, but it did take a few times reading over certain sections to understand them. When I finished the dollhouse, it looked very nice.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2013
Cheap 'fiber' board splinters when pieces are punched out and impossible to sand smooth. Shingles and siding are thinner than card stock. Structure is sturdy enough when assembled but it is way too deep for a child to play with. I would not advise purchasing this item.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2016
will not buy again, absolute garbage!! Hard to pop things out, they break up.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2016
The bad reviews are most likely from people who have little to no woodworking experience. Woodworking experience will definitely make this go much smoother. I found the quality of the wood to be flimsy, but it is on par with standard hobby plywood you can buy at places like hobby lobby. Yes due to intricate design, there is a chance some pieces will break, but with a little titebond, you're good to go. You'll need a lot of sandpaper and a set of files will really come in handy. The wood has a nice smell and I am really enjoying putting this house together. You really get a lot of bang for the buck with this dollhouse. This house is massive, and has a lot of nice details. The fireplaces really add a nice touch. Where it lacks in terms of wood quality, it definitely makes up for in other areas. So if you're handy with tools, this is the perfect house for you, if you're not, then maybe take a look at the Real Good Toys kits.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2014
Very cute design, good instructions. I found it best to set up the house structure unglued, then take apart and decorate before assembly as long as you allow for the joins and are precise. I prefer wood glue (eg Elmers) to a glue gun, gives you more time and is not heat and moisture sensitive like gun glue, though you may need to use tape (masking or similar light tack tape) to hold some joins while they set. Wood could be thicker and needs some filling in places for the best finish. Glue the roof shingles to brown paper first and then glue paper to roof and trim- a lot easier! Not a quick project and does need care and patience but very rewarding. Allow for the addictive nature of miniaturisation and the fact that you'll probably end up spending three times what the kit cost. Find a good specialist store (I found Ms Peggie's Place in San Diego CA, she's great) and get their advice on anything/everything!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2015
Needs a lot of sanding and even some cutting to get the pieces to flit properly. Otherwise, not bad for the price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here