Customer Reviews: Grip It on That Other Level
Oct16 Amazon Fashion nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Electronics Holiday Gift Guide Starting at $39.99 Halloween Candy Cozy Knits Book 2 or More Hours of House Cleaning on Amazon pbskids pbskids pbskids  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $89.99 All-New Kindle for Kids Edition Elvis Presley Shop Cycling on Amazon STEM

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$249.99+ $3.99 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 20, 2005
this is the original version, grip it on the other level was released in '89. the geto boys self-titled album is the re-released version that was released in '90 because it was so classic in rhyming skills. to be honest, this version is much better because the other version doesn't include the original songs like the gangsta of love version and it also doesn't include search and destroy and no sell out. glad to help you.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2005
Forget NWA and all them other mainstream fools. This is REAL and they are REAL and do REAL s#it that a lot of them other people like snoop have nightmares about happening to him. Geto boys should have been known just as much or more than NWA and snoop. They originally started in 1986 with members Raheim, Jukebox, DJ Ready Red, and Sir Rap-A-Lot and used to feature little billy as a dancing dwarf who after a while joined the group and called himself bushwick bill. They broke up then in 1988 local rappers akshun who changed name to scarface and willie d joined bushwick and ready red and thats when s#it blew up and they got it together. This album is haaaard and tight all the way through start to finish. Theres timeless classics that will never be forgotten by a lot of people that know about the real s#it. The production is heavy and nicely mixed, but most of all, the flows rip through the tracks and just get your attention like they are supposed to. Bushwick, willy d and scarface were a triple threat not to be fu@ked with. Straight out of houston, texas they are all real and done more in the streets than what NWA had heard about. Bushwick bill is a dwarf and can knock out people twice his size. Hes a real gangsta and not one that just talks about it, mans been in enough s#it. I respect the geto boys and like and recommend all their work up to 96. So, if you want the REAL hardcore rap pick this up and put that other weak gangsta(party) s#it down. get this!! Later!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2006
Willie D, Brad and Bushwick deliver an inpressive debut. All 3 MC's get their shine on telling how it goes down in their hometown of Houston.

Standout Tracks:

Do It Like It G.O.

Gangsta Of Love (Willie D gettin down with the get down)

Talkin' Loud Ain't Saying Nothin'

Read These Nikes (Using your kicks to get your point across)

Size Ain't S_ _ _ (GB's version of Eazy E)

Let A Ho Be A Ho (Self explanatory)

Scarface (On forealla, My Nilla, Just Call Me)

Life In The Fast Lane

Trigga Happy aggiN

Mind Of A Lunatic
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2007
boy it was on in 1990 when I first heard this tape willie d, scarface, and bushwick bill takes no prisdoners throughout they get on everybody ho's, parents againsdt rap, crooked police, the education program, the kkk, uncle toms, a darker side of nwa's straight outta compton do it like a go is hardhitting love the superfly sample and lil j makes his classic ypu wanna go to war I'll take hyou to war. gangster of love has willie d and face talking some real nasty chit about threesomes, oral sex and other kinky things you gotta hear for yourself. trigga happy nigga is classic you love songs about homicide check it out along with mind of a lunatic where bushwick rapes thwe girl then kills her while scarface goes crazy on goes on a killing spree just to wake up in an asylum witrh both of his wrists slit willie d has the most terrifying verses love it classic horrorcore rap. this whole tape is classic geto boys and rap a lot fans should cop it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2008
This is without a doubt the blueprint for gangsta music. One of the best rap albums ever made. Gangster of Love is a classic. The production is excellent. Rap-a-lot Records is without a doubt the pioneer of the gangsta music culture. I was bumping this in 1989 and it still bumps today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2014
Straight Outta Compton received all the controversy, but Grip It (also released in '88) is far more lyrically extreme. Musically, it's on par with other releases from its time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2014
OG album. Brought back memories. The negative that I have is the package and CD is not original. Looks as if it was a printed label and copied like if I found it at a swap meet. And I paid regular price for it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2013
Pure classic. Not for the faint hearted. Enjoyable adult entertainment with banging beats and rhymes. Completely satisfied with the content, packaging, delivery and cost.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2005
This record is classic!!! You may have been in the house back in the day when this dropped. Every true thug, gangsta,pimp,and trick loves this Geto Boys release. This is the debut to the streets. Don't be dumb, if your hip,cool or a player. You know you need this in the ride for the throwback after the the club. Dude your funny rating this with two star. Are you a Nerd??!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2008
I don't really know where to start about this classic Hip Hop album, this is my number one favorite GB album...I will start with the lyrics because they are on some other ish lyrically. Very aggressive but intelligent at the sametime and they seem to really mean what they say. Scarface has the story telling skills, best flow, and lyrics. Willie D has the best delivery, realism and punchlines. Bushwick is pure entertainment, very sadistic, and brings balance to the two other members. This is the first album with the new Geto Boy members and also the first album where DJ Akshun became the now infamous Scarface. Like all Geto Boy albums each member has more than one solo song a piece which gives you a good look into the major differance between the 3 of them.

The production has that gritty southern heavy bassline feel to it. I may be wrong but DJ Akshun(Scarface), Lil J, and Ready Red handled most of the beats. None of the beats have the same feel to them but yet they blend together perfectly.

My favorite songs are:
Do It Like It G.O.
Gangsta Of Love
Let A Hoe Be A Hoe
Talking Loud
Seek and Destroy

The only average link on this album is the song "No Sell Out" but even that one is good just not on the level of the others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here