Industrial Deals Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 139 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 219 reviews
on May 22, 2012
Harold and Kumar Escape From Guantanamo Bay (2008). New Line Cinema.
Directed and written by Jon Hurwitz and Hayden Schlossberg.

Originally Rated "R". This is the UNRATED version. Contains male and female frontal nudity (might be an apron), foul language, smoking, sexual content and gross humor.

It has been nearly 4 years we have waited for this sequel to Harold & Kumar Go to White Castle (Extreme Unrated Edition) (2004). It was actually filmed in January to March 2007. It was originally meant to be a straight-to-DVD release, however they changed their minds and released it in the movie theaters April 25, 2008. Thank goodness.
The great comedic chemistry between Kal Penn and John Cho returns in "Harold & Kumar Escape to Guantanamo Bay". Also returning are Paula Garces as "Marie", David Krumholtz, Eddie Kaye Thomas, Christopher Meloni, Neil Patrick Harris, Errol Sitahal.
The writers of the first film, Jon Hurwitz and Hayden Schlossberg have written and directed this second film.
This movie begins on the same day where the first movie ended. Since Harold (John Cho) has finally spoken and kissed the young woman he had been fantasizing about, but was too closed-up to speak to her before, he needs to see her again, however, she is on her way to Amsterdam, Netherlands for 10 days.
Kumar (Kal Penn) rescheduled his job interview and has booked a flight for both of them to Amsterdam so Harold can find Maria (Paula Garces).
When do these guys sleep?
At the airport, Kal sees an old girlfriend, Vanessa (Danneel Harris) who is getting married.
The flight doesn't go off without a hitch, thanks to Kumar and his smoking pipe invention. An old lady passenger (Juli Erickson) gets disturbed and Harold & Kumar are arrested and sent to Guantanamo Bay jail.
As the title of this film suggests, they do escape and this leads to another late-night adventure.

This film contains male and female frontal nudity (might be an apron), foul language, smoking, sexual content and gross humor. Rated "R".

Beverly D'Angelo makes an appearance as "Sally".

Jon Hurwitz appears as the Dancing Devil in the Costume Shop and Hayden Schlossberg appears as the Dancing Monkey in the Costume Shop.

To see a surprise scene, wait until after the end credits.

Not as funny as the first film. Some scenes are just too unbelievable too be funny. The movie plays plays like a mushroom dream, but then again, so did the Cheech & Chong movies.
I hope Kal Penn and John Cho continue to make many more movies together. They are a good comedic team.

The third movie, A Very Harold & Kumar Christmas (+ UltraViolet Digital Copy) (2011).

John Cho is "Sulu" in Star Trek (Single-Disc Edition) (2009) and Star Trek Into Darkness (2013) and Star Trek Beyond (2016).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2013
Harold and Kumar are two characters that my son, David, turned me onto by telling how funny their movies are and what a kick I w plain fun to would get out of them. These two are so funny and play off one another to perfection. One, Harold, plays the uptight and wants to color inside of the lines and Kumar will try anything and colors outside of the lines every chance he gets and does it with believing that the people around him are really not trying to harm them in any way. He gets surprised and Harold is right there to remind him of the errors of his ways. These two are the "Cheech and Chong" characters from the 80's and you laugh out loud at the situations that they get into trying to get out of another.
There are two other films with these two in them that are just as funny and even funnier. Great entertainment and just plain fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2017
Funny movie, loved it! Not for kids!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2017
Classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2017
Great product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2016
this was funny and worth watching
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2016
This is one funny movie. The boys managed to show being a pot head can be a good thing. You might even meet the President. I have only watched parts of the other H&K adventure movie. This movie will make you laugh till it hurts or until you get the munchies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2016
you'l laugh till your catheters pop out!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2015
I had this movie on dvd before and the original white castle movie on bluray, which is crystal clear. I got this in hopes of seeing both movies clearly. The picture is grainy, washed out and I can't tell a difference between this and the dvd. I wish I would've known, I could've saved $10 and kept the dvd I already had.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2009
The original Harold and Kumar wrapped insightful satire of the ethnic stereotypes and prejudices in American society with lowbrow humor and absurdly over-the-top situations. The result was a sleeper hit and a cult phenomenon.

This movie focuses mainly on zany antics and (especially in the unrated version) extremely low-brow humor. Is there satire of our cultural stereotypes and preconceptions? Yes, there are ham-handed and obvious swipes at "issues." In this movie, however, rather than being a thoughtful subtext, they seem to be a desperate attempt to redeem a movie that is otherwise not worth watching.

This movie has its moments, but way too few between the fart jokes.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse