Salon Beauty Kindle 10th Anniversary Hallo nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition $99.99. Limited-time offer. Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now HTL17_gno

Guardians of the West (The Malloreon, Book 1)
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:$7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on March 10, 2015
Read this series! David Eddings is a master of epic Fantasy genre. Read the Belgariad series, then this one, Guardian series, then the Mallorean series, and then you can start on the other worlds he has created!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2017
not my type i'm afraid. the style is too old :(
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2017
Classic fantasy with great storyline and interesting characters
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2015
You will never go wrong with a David & Leigh Eddings books. The violence and sexual content is far worse on shows like Law and Order. They tell a great story but the violence and sexual reference are not detail to the point of blood and gore. The sexual content is more about the falling in love then detailing sexual acts. I would like a 10 year old read the books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2015
Guardians of the West - The Malloreon Book 1 takes us to Riva where we learn what has happened to Garion and Ce'Nedra after the end of The Belgariad. You're reintroduced to Eddings' humor, the characters we all love, and above all, some great story telling. This is a good read and you're going to enjoy the start of the new quest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2015
Eddings is very derivative. but saved by his characterization and humor. This is the weakest of his books so far. It uses well known characters from his earlier series with a few minor characters enlarged. The plot is a general redue of the first series with a lot of time spent on individual characters lives.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2016
I love the characters in this book series. I wish someone would use this as a movie franchise. The SFX are available now to do it justice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2015
Eddings knows how to bring characters to life. I have read these before and picking them up and reading them again is like visiting an old friend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2016
This along with the Belgariad is my all time favorite set of books, I loaned mine out some time ago and couldn't wait for their return to read it again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2012
I love the Mallorean Series.
The characters are engaging and humourous and the story follows on nicely from the Belgarion series. (I would recommend reading them first)
You travel through a vast land enjoying the different scenery and cultures. There is magic and commonsense all bound up together.
Its nice when main characters are actually useful and not just blundering.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse