Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 765 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,021 reviews
on May 3, 2017
Well done, not disappointing, but maybe not one of his best. The initial main plot line seems to disappear almost as quickly as it is introduced, mainly revisited in the prologue chapter. The story that eclipses the book is still riveting, as always, with the numerous twists that Kellerman is so skilled at. He gives another side to how we perceive celebrities, and without giving away spoilers, he does make me mildly suspicious of Brad Pitt and his true character, if only through suggestion with thinly veiled fictional characters. I did have initial reservations about this one due to the plot involving a dead infant, but the discovery of the baby's body is treated as gently as it could be, without being too graphic considering the subject matter. Definitely worth a read if you are an Alex Delaware fan and don't have high expectations for this one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2014
I used to enjoy Kellerman's Delaware novels but had stopped after having been bitterly disappointed in a later book. But now I had decided to try his last one, give him another chance, so to speak, and see if there has been any improvement. Unfortunate, this was not the case. The first of half "Guilt" is as exiting as watching (as the cliche goes) grass grow. A lot of names of people who refer Milo and Delaware to other people. More and more names leading to ramifications that don't go anywhere. And the names have no character, no personality. The best fleshed-out name is that of Blanche, the French bulldog. Her I could picture very well and she was very likeable.

The second half improves slightly but the end just fizzles out like a wet firecracker. I think this will be my last Kellerman novel. He seems to have run out of fresh ideas some time ago.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2014
I have read every Jonathan Kellerman book there is in the Alex Delaware series. I didn't feel like this was one of his best. It was good, but not one of his best. The story line dragged on, and many early story lines that Alex investigates, seem to go nowhere and get lost in the story line. And towards the end, I felt like there was a weak attempt to tie them all together, but it comes across almost as an afterthought. I felt the story line dragged on, losing me a little in the middle. It still ranked three stars for me....but some of his better books will get a 4 or 5. That being said, still looking forward to the next one to come out!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2014
Kellerman has a fantastic knack for creating characters that carry through the story, and building a solid foundation before the stunning conclusion to the mystery. Once again the duo of Delaware and Sturgis wade through lots of ancillary characters to find the truth, whose descriptions and mannerisms create believable, recognizable human portraits. Kellerman's ability to describe the details of the locations and characters without becoming bogged down in lengthy prose makes the story move along at a fast pace, yet easily imagined by the reader. The combination of the psychological and the criminal create a mystery that keeps the pages turing and the story engaging until the end and beyond. You want to know what happens to the characters long after the actual story is complete, becoming attached to them in a way that Kellerman could easily lengthen the story, but is genius in keeping it the perfect length. No extraneous words just for the sake of adding pages, yet still so very descriptive and engaging.
Highly recommended read for the veteran Kellerman reader or the newly initiated into the Alex Delaware world.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2017
Started out riveting in first pages, became more convoluted and confusing as book went on. By the end I ft like I really didn't know what happened or which characters were doing what.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2014
Delaware and Sturgis (his police lieutenant friend) get involved in an investigation when they are called by a home buyer because prior to moving in they discover buried decades old skeletal remains of an infant. So the question is whether or not a crime was committed by the person or persons who buried the remains. When another infant skeleton is found a few days later the investigation kicks in to high gear because these remains are new. The investigation is highly interesting because Kellerman uses this convention as a vehicle to introduce an interesting and varied cast of characters. The denouement is exciting and highly charged. The discovery of the guilty party is surprising and scary. In fact this is one of Kellerman's most interesting bad guys. His introduction and the description of his crimes border on Gothic horror. This is great writing as well as Grand Guignol.

I am a Jonathan Kellerman completist but I missed this one when it first was published. I was glad to find it as a Kindle ebook.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2014
This book has all the elements of past Alex Delaware novels...but...sometimes it seems while writing the author strives too hard for descriptive phraseology to the point where a lot of it seems overly cynical, overly negative. It's not so much this one book. I've noticed this trend in other authors that have established series. It's almost like they covered much of the wording before and are really straining to come up with something new. This sometimes extends to books becoming more character studies than following a good formulae for an action (depending on the series) novel so that things move and flow from the beginning to the end. Sometimes there are so many side trips in the book that the overall flow is harmed. After all, readers want above everything else a good solid story that has all the elements, but where it always moves forward rather than running off in all directions. Some of this is needed, but too much will slow the pace of the story. There's some of that in this book, but in addition I get the feeling that Mr. Kellerman might have run this series dry.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The new Jonathan Kellerman novel is a worthy addition to the series. A baby’s remains are found buried beneath a tree in the posh westside neighborhood of Cheviot Hills. The remains are old, 1950’s old. Then a second infant’s remains are found in a nearby park. The remains are fresh but the bones have been stripped clean and covered with beeswax. Then a mature female’s remains are found, intact. DNA tests show that she is not the baby’s mother.

Alex and Milo’s investigations take them into the deep past as well as the decadent present. The dead woman had been working as a nanny in San Diego. Then, unaccountably, she had moved to Los Angeles. A connection is found between her and the possible mother of the recently-dead infant. At the same time, Alex has found some information concerning the long-dead infant. A wealthy man driving a Deusenberg had been seen at the house where the body was buried. There is no indication that that infant was murdered; what was the baby’s connection with the Deusenberg driver?

This is a procedural in the sense that it tracks the processes used to interview informants and witnesses. The resulting testimony then forms a web of information that is expected to yield answers to the investigators’ central questions. It is not a procedural in the sense that it relies on exotic technology to solve crimes. This is more Dragnet than CSI.

I have a personal set of expectations with regard to an Alex Delaware novel. Is the story interesting? Do we learn something new about Alex’s past (or is there at least a private side to the public plot)? Do we see a lot of Milo? Do we see a little less of Robin? The answer is Yes on all counts. We also get to meet Milo’s Chief for an extended lunch at a Chinese greasy spoon. A terrific character; I want to see him again, early and often.

Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2017
I chose this rating because Jonathan Kellerma is my favorite author. His novels keep me interested from beginning to end. I also enjoy his relationship with is love Anand dogs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2017
Enjoyed this, but found myself putting it down more often than most. One of the few that I figured out before the end. Still worth reading if that doesn't bother you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here