Oil month Automotive HPC Spring Reading Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Always ad-free. Learn more. GNO for Samsung S9 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day gifts Home Gift Guide Mother's Day gifts across Amazon Home Gift Guide Save $20 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment Hostiles available to rent Hostiles available to rent Hostiles available to rent  Kids Edition Echo Dot Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now SWMTVT18_gno



on November 12, 2013
I downloaded this free version of GT so that my Kindle would read it to me on a recent road trip. I'm teaching a college-level class and included the whole text of GT and didn't want to waste time while I was driving 14 hours when I could be reading/lesson preparing for my class. ALAS, this version is CENSORED and only HALF of the book! I am so disappointed that this isn't advertised anywhere. This Kindle edition includes Part I (Lilliput) and Part II (Brobdingnag) ONLY. It is missing Part III (Laputa &c.) and Part IV (Land of Houyhnhynms). Unbelievable. The censorship is ridiculous, too. Beware, you're getting the child-proof version of this classic.
22 comments| 114 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 16, 2014
I chose this edition of GULLIVER'S TRAVELS because it has an accompanying narration available from Audible.com. It features WhisperSync, so you can switch back and forth between reading and listening without losing your place. Also, the price is right!

GULLIVER'S TRAVELS is a very early novel, first published in 1726 – just seven years after ROBINSON CRUSOE, often cited as the first modern novel. It has no dialogue at all, since it’s in the form of a memoir narrated by Gulliver of his travels, and it can be rather tough sledding to read it. However, listening to it (I mostly listened to it, instead of reading it) makes it much easier to comprehend, especially when it is read/performed as well as this was, by David Hyde Pierce (from “Frasier”). I really enjoyed this classic, a lot more than if I had simply read it.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 6, 2016
I read the Illustrated Classics version as a kid and when I was in my mid-teens, I read the full version. To this day, I am still enjoying both versions; which one I read depends on my mood and how I feel.
The author uses great metaphors, like storms, to transition between different islands. Each change in setting teaches many important lessons without the reader really realizing it. How the author does this is a mystery and keeps the reader hooked,, wanting to know what will happen next snd if the characters will ever retturn home. You also wonder how things will change for thr main character if their journey does end and what the long lasting effects will be. Not just on that person, but those around them and where they live.
This is an interesting, intriguing, edge of your seat book that you don't want to miss!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 23, 2014
Most importantly: give the book some time to build steam. I pushed my way through about the first quarter - the writing is sparkling throughout, but story proceeds pretty tamely at first, making you wonder why this is perceived as such a classic As it goes along it gets more ridiculous and more acerbic, with some of the second half laugh-out-loud funny. Once you get in the groove with the Enlightenment writing style, Swift's utterly modern and biting observations on human foibles and depravity are a sad revelation - beautifully executed, but dispiriting in that we've made no progress in three hundred years. While I doubt I'll get around to it, the book bears rereading, particularly to get at Swift's characterization of Gulliver. Justly viewed as a key classic of English literature.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 4, 2017
This printing seems to be publish on demand. It is a large format book, but with regular (not large) type within very tight margins. This lets them fit a long book into a thin volume, but it is still quite readable. It is a shame there isn't more space between the lines, as this is a good edition for annotating. There is no copyright page, which I suspect is legally required.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
Top Contributor: Coloringon February 12, 2014
Swift has to be one of the best writers of satire, the English speaking world has ever known. There's no reason to reiterate this. I can hardly think of too many people that don't know the story of Gulliver and his travels, if not by real the story, at least by seeing any of the number of movies and animations that were made. If you haven't read it, you should read this book. There are very few movies that can express what an original written piece can convey.

This book is nicely illustrated with the cover being the original cover of the graphic novel published by Classic Comics from years ago. The other illustrations are also of a classic nature. I really liked these too.

The only problem I had with this edition, was the weird formating of the text. Sentences are broken up, so that it looks like poetry. It did take some getting used to it. And maybe I just got a strange copy.

I would have only given the book a lower rating for that reason, but I don't want to discourage people from reading it and enjoying the illustrations.

The book should be read for the content. After all is said and done, this writing could have been done in this day and age. For the problems in society Swift engages, still exist today.

If you want to really get a more complete picture of the history of our societies problems, then you should also read Swift's "A Modest Proposal". They are both quite humorous and really enjoyable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon February 4, 2013
Jonathan Swift's "Gulliver's Travels" gets the graphic novel treatment, courtesy of Campfire Classics and adapter Lewis Helfand and illustrator Vinod Kumar. Swift's satire remains an entertaining story and a biting commentary on humankind.

As the story opens, the adventurous Lemuel Gulliver goes to sea, to see the world. What he gets is a ship wreck that leaves him stranded in Lilliput, where, to his surprise, the inhabitants are the size of tin soldiers. Gulliver will eventually escape, only to end up in a land of giants, where he is the one who is the size of a tin soldier. Gulliver's travels will continue; he will visit a land of immortals and a land run by horses before finally returning home for good, a much wiser if less content man.

"Gulliver's Travels" holds up very well as a reading experience. The story can be appreciated on one level for the hero's fantastic adventures, and on another level as a knowing satire of human society as Swift knew it. Highly recommended to readers of all ages.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 24, 2013
"Now, in this case, I, who am the right owner, lie under two great disadvantages: first, my lawyer, being practised almost from his cradle in defending falsehood, is quite out of his element when he would be an advocate for justice, which is an unnatural office he always attempts with great awkwardness, if not with ill-will."

PROs:

* Almost feels like a sci-fi book set on Earth

* Nice introspection of humanity

* Many of the satirical criticism still hold today (unfortunately)

CONs:

* Very repetitive

* Almost too detailed

Gulliver's Travels is an original take on humanity's inherent problems (particularly unwarranted discrimination and hasty judgements). The book can be pretty deep, and made me stop reading and just think a few times.

Gulliver crashes in mysterious lands, each vastly different from the next. In one, he will be a giant, in another, he will be extremely tiny, in another the intelligent species will be horses while humans are stupid, and so on. Each scenario gives a different look at the qualities that make us human, particularly in a negative (and justified) light. Gulliver compares each of their systems of government with his own (English), which is very interesting at first, but quickly gets tedious. This was the main problem I had with the book - it seemed to drag on for a very long time because, although not identical, each scenario was fairly similar.

Something I found really interesting was when the author, writing in the 1700s, touched upon evolution by natural selection a century before Darwin!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 21, 2015
Gulliver's Travels documents the unfortunate journeys of a fictitious character by the name of Gulliver. During the book Gulliver stumbles upon 4 majorly different civilizations, with each having a specific theme that sets them apart from the world we know. The minuscule Lilliputians, the gargantuan Brobdingnagians, the impractical Laputians, and the noble Houyhnhnms.

First, Gulliver is shipwrecked onto the shores of Lilliput, and finds himself tied down by hundreds of tiny ropes. He makes contact with the people native to the island, and is shocked to find them only a few inches tall. He is taken into servitude by the tiny race and learns their language. He soon finds out of another civilization of little people across the small body of water that is a sea to them. They were originally members of the same nation, but they rebelled over a dispute over which end of an egg should be cracked. Political issues lead to plans of Gulliver's execution, but he is informed by a friend of this and moves to the other civilization. Here he repairs a boat of his size that is found in the water and leaves the island, taking a few small animals to use as proof of his journeys.

For his second adventure, Gulliver is stranded on Brobdingnag, and island of giants. Here, even the smallest man is the size of a house. He is discovered by a farming family, and is put on display across the country as a novelty. The family makes its way to the capital and sells Gulliver to the queen. He spends many months as a joke and in severe danger by even the smallest creatures. He is nearly killed by rats and wasps, giving him a true sense of his powerlessness. The king of Brobdingnag inquires with him about the state of the world off the island, and is in tears with laughter. He finds the squabbles of such a small race endearing and cannot take any of it seriously. The king has created a society where free speech is not a right given to the people and finds it absurd to be any other way. Gulliver's stay is interrupted by a bird carrying him off into the ocean, where he finds a ship and gains passage back to England.

Gulliver only stays home for two months before he goes out into the sea once again - and is attacked by pirates. After offending the captain, he is set free into the ocean with only a boat and four days of food. He makes his way to an island and discovers a floating landmass nearby. He hails it and is brought up into the island and meets the king. The people of the island, Laputa, are constantly absorbed in thought, and care only for mathematics and music. Their entire society spurns practicality and suffers for it, houses are poorly made and crops barely grow. Gulliver is sent to a scientific conference, and discovers hundreds of experiments that are all heavily impractical and most are failures. One such presentation hopes to propagate a breed of hairless sheep. He leaves peacefully by travelling to Japan through trade routes.

For his final voyage, Gulliver captains his own ship. That is, until a mutiny left him on the shores of Houyhnhnm. He discovers a race of humanoid savages and a race of intelligent horses. The horses think he is one of the savages, "Yahoos," but are surprised by the civility he displays. He is taken to the leader of their village, and is instructed in their language. To the disbelief of all the horses, "Houyhnhnms", he is as intelligent as they are. Their leader inquires about his world, and is stunned to find that the roles of horses and men are reversed. He is disgusted by the society Gulliver reveals. The society of the Houyhnhnms is much friendlier, but less personal. They do what needs to be done to survive, and don't nurture hate nor encourage violence. Gulliver's eyes are opened by the Houyhnhnms, and finds himself progressively more disgusted by humanity. It slowly dawns on Gulliver that the repulsive Yahoos are actually humans who arrived on the island far earlier. He falls in love with the society of the Houyhnhnms and no longer wishes to leave the island. He is sadly forced off of the island and tries to live in seclusion on a nearby one. He is discovered by sailors and taken aboard against his will. The captain is a very kind and patient man and cares for Gulliver despite his repulsion.

When he arrives home he is disgusted by his own family and can't stand their presence for over a year, instead conversing with a pair of horses he purchased. He ends with a statement about how these islands he visited are technically property of England but that he sees no advantage to colonizing any of them. He desires to protect the Houyhnhnms most of all, as their noble society is something he believes we should all strive for.

While I found the book fairly interesting at times, the language used was hard to follow, and it often went off onto rants that were both uninteresting and irrelevant. However, I do know that this book was intended to be a satire, and the boredom experienced may be an intentional act by Swift. I found many of the ways these societies operated purely ridiculous and totally unsustainable, but perhaps this was also intentional. I would assume that this was done to make me think about WHY I found them ridiculous, and if it was the product of close mindedness or fact. After looking into the story more when writing this, I found many small hints that indicate the satirical tone of the book.

While the first reading was a little grueling, the review and discovery of small hints was very enjoyable. I would recommend this book to anyone with the perseverance to get through the dry parts, as the rest of it is truly interesting.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon December 5, 2012
Parts were excellent and parts were boring. I definitely had favorite "countries" that he traveled to and loved when I could hear the sarcasm and biting wit. There were times when I'd wonder, "this was written 300 years ago??" I found that the word 'pimp' (and many other words) has been around that long at least. Another thing that I wondered at was how open the discourse was. The author, whether you mean Jonathan Swift or Mr. Gulliver, the traveler, had no problem discussing bodily functions. Fifty to 100 years later in Austen's time an author wouldn't THINK of doing such a thing.

So I found it to be interesting in three ways. First as a work of fiction since Mr. Gulliver travels so widely and sees so many unaccountable things. His descriptions of the natives of these lands is really interesting. Second, as a political satirist Jonathan Swift was acutely poking fun of his countrymen and occasionally I could even discern who he would be making the jest of. More often I couldn't but it was enough to know that he was putting down his contemporaries. Thirdly, as a gauge of humanity / human nature. The same vices, virtues and pastimes Jonathan Swift describes are just as much a part of our society today as it appears they were three hundred years ago. I distinctly remember one line where Mr. Gulliver muses on how the generation before his thought that his generation was the most degenerate and lazy and how they would be the ruin of the society etc. etc. Isn't that what our "parents" say of us? That there is no faith among our generation. We are impatient, lazy and not willing to create or make long-term goals? I found the whole thing interesting.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse