Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now FFII_gno

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
94
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$14.39+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 87 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 94 reviews
on July 19, 2013
We still watch the reruns of the original especially those in the earliest days. Matt Dill\on is a character based on Wyatt Earp but James Arness hits the nail on the head. Arness should know a little about this as he was wounded in the invasion of Salerno in Italy. We especially enjoy the early films with Dennis Weaver and his limp. Most fans wanted Matt and Miss Kitty to marry but that was not to be. Ken Curtis was alright as Festus but the show was not the same.
When Arness passed away there was almost a national wake by those who grew up with those characters.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2014
Season eight and the second year of one hour episodes. Nineteen marvellous episodes and it should be noted that while most westerns very much depicted the man's vision of the west, "Gunsmoke" was one the few which presented strong female roles with actresses scoring top billing in half of the shows in this collection.
Old reliables John Meston and Kathleen Hite wrote fourteen of the episodes and Harry Harris Jr. and Andrew V. McLaglen directed seventeen between them giving the series a continuing high standard which was to remain throughout its entire longevity.
The role of Quint Asper, played by Burt Reynolds, joined the cast in episode three to bolster the already strong ensemble of James Arness, Dennis Weaver, Amanda Blake and Milburn Stone. Another interesting character also appeared: it was the first entrance of Festus Haggen played by Ken Curtis. The latter, one of the Sons of the Pioneers and a regular in John Ford movies, had appeared in quite a number of previous episodes but never as Festus. As we all know Festus would be a permanent staple in years to come and fill the gap of quirkiness when Weaver's Chester departed the series.
A great bunch of guests appeared in this selection of shows including Kathy Nolan, Virginia Gregg, John Dehner, Joanne Linville, Robert Middleton, Ruta Lee, Strother Martin, Chill Wills, Claude Akins, William Windom, Audrey Dalton, Joyce Bulifant, J. Pat O'Malley, Denver Pyle, Sherry Jackson and Mariette Hartley.
One highlight episode: "Root Down" where Chester is kidnapped, bound and gagged and destined to be a reluctant bridegroom!
A great series that has never grown tiresome.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2016
I was enjoying Gunsmoke every day on the Encore channel for over a year now. They play the early episode's season 1,2,3,4,5. These are with Chester. Up till then I was catching Gunsmoke on the TV Land channel, but they had the episode's with Festes. I never got into Festes, I don't know why? maybe because of that heavy southern drawl he had, I don't know. But one thing I know, I'll take Chester over Festes any day! The show just seemed so much better with Chester playing instead of Festes.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2015
For Western buffs like myself, Gunsmoke has to be the best. The greatest characters. Marshal Matt Dillon, who stands alone as the undefeated gun law in the whole of Kansas, let alone Dodge City. The attractive red head Miss Kitty, who would relinquish the sparklers from her earrings for Matt to whisper sweet nothings. Lovable Doc Adams, the patcher-up of bullet wounds. Comedic Festus Hagen (I love this guy) whose jangling spurs can be heard for miles. Each story is a magical trip into the world of old silver mines, loose limbed gunslingers, and feisty women who help to work their land equally as well as their menfolk. Masked outlaws holding up stage coaches, who turn out to be the sons of respected citizens.Sad stories. Funny stories. But all wellwritten, impeccably acted stories. There's nothing to compare with the magic of the Old West. And nothing compares to the great collection of stories that is 'Gunsmoke.'
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2016
Gunsmoke provides western-lovers with a family-friendly great show that emphasizes character, law & order, and good plain common sense. This half-season, as well as all previous episodes, provide a breath of fresh air in an age when many of the most entertaining movies have drifted from such character-building values. It is amazing to me that the writers were successful in making the plot and storyline consistently excellent and among the best of the classic Westerns from season to season for so many consecutive seasons. I cannot think of one episode to date that felt weak or that let me down.

Definitely a great addition for the video library of anyone who likes the Western genre, or who likes solid character and good role models in the primary characters, and a strengthening of the ideas of justice, fair play, the rule of law, and even compassion and wisdom throughout.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2015
These episodes were never on TV to my knowledge and all are excellent.I wouldn't be without them as I own the first 10 seasons now.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2017
Excellent quality DVD. Fantastic show.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2014
ANYONE WHOM GREW UP WATCHING THIS SHOW CAN CERTAINLY APPRECIATE OWNING THE DVD'S OF THIS SHOW. IT IS LIKE REVISITING HISTORY. SEEING IT TODAY THERE ARE MANY THINGS I DIDN'T RECALL. MANY ACTORS AND ACTRESSES GOT STARTS ON GUNSMOKE. SOME WERE ONLY CHILDREN AND MANY ARE ADULT ACTORS/ACTRESSES THAT WE SEE TODAY. HOW CAN ONE NOT APPRECIATE THAT ALONE?!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2014
Well what can you say - Gunsmoke is one of the all time classic western TV series. In Season 8 Burt Reynolds joined the show as Quint Asper, a "half breed" who becomes the town's blacksmith. We were also introduced to Festus Haggen in season 8. I just wish they had had more episodes with Chester. And yes, Gunsmokes tends to be a little pricey, but just watch for the sales on amazon.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse