Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals HPC Enlightenment Now Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon victoriaS2 victoriaS2 victoriaS2  Three new members of the Echo family Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now TG18_gno



on November 2, 2017
Worked great. Especially helpful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 1, 2015
great price, fast response
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 27, 2017
I read this book as a masculinity scholar and someone who is familiar with the US university campus culture. Kimmel makes some good observations, however, he is extrapolating too much and does not give a full account of a methodology used for this research. I see it as a cautionary tale rather than a serious academic research.

PROs
-- many interviews
-- interesting anecdotes from campus life
-- a rare book focusing on males and masculinity
-- Kimmel gives a disclaimer that the book talks only about a small percentage of young men

CONs
-- questionable methodology
-- despite the disclaimer, the book leads reader to believe that all young men follow the Guy Code
-- the book stresses negative aspects of masculinity, but it mentions no positive examples, except in a disclaimer and only in regard to ethnic and racial minorities
-- Kimmel robs women of agency and dismisses them despite a growing body of research indicating that women play an important role in establishing and propagating ideals of masculinity
-- the book does not hide its strong underlying feminist agenda: It is not an objective academic research
-- Kimmel needs a better editor: The book is full of unnecessary repetitions

I would not rely on this book as a comprehensive overview of young adult male culture. I would also be cautious to use it as an academic source. However, I see it as a useful example of the contemporary conversation about gender.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 6, 2016
I read this book for an adolescent psychology class and loved it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 4, 2015
This was a required book for a Men and Masculinities course I took in college. EVERYONE needs to read this book, especially college age males.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 23, 2017
A good read with heart.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 12, 2015
Good work about how adolescent males grow up to be men and the obstacles they face in that journey.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 13, 2016
needed it for class so perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 5, 2016
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 25, 2015
Interesting ideas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse