Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 30 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 58 reviews
on May 27, 2009
This brilliant score has passed the test of time; it sounds even better today than it did when it was recorded in 1950. Nearly 60 years old, it sparkles with humor, intelligence, and glorious melodies. The original cast recording has never been matched. Robert Alda sings superbly as Sky Masterson, and is matched in lovely duets with Isabel Bigley as Sarah Brown. Vivian Blaine's performance as Adelaide is definitive, and even Sam Levene (who really cannot sing at all) is amazingly effective in his one extended number ("Sue Me"). The underappreciated Stubby Kaye makes a huge contribution to many of the numbers. But the real stars are the lyrics and music by the amazing Frank Loesser. If this is not the greatest musical comedy score of all time, I don't know what is. Accept no substitutes; the original cast recording is the only one to get. (Loesser hated the movie version, in which Frank Sinatra's crooning was completely at odds with the rough-and-tumble character of Nathan Detroit. And while Marlon Brando's singing as Sky Masterson is creditable, he doesn't hold a candle to the brilliant Robert Alda.) Musicals don't get any better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2014
loved the 1955 movie - do not love any of the Broadway remakes. but if you are like me and have at least ONE G & D tune in your head each and every day, and have kept that 12 inch album your Mom brought home in 1959 - then buy this CD now and lay right down on the rug like you did when you were eight - but this time strap on those bass-heavy headphones - and join Stubby Kaye ...on that boat to Heaven!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2017
From the opening (not-quite-a-) Fugue For Tinhorns, this a pure delight. There are a couple of songs you will not find in the movie version. The four bonus tracks from the film are all Brando. Note: 'A Woman In Love' from the film is not in the OC recording.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2015
One of the greatest Broadway musicals. I have a special place for it in my heart as it was the first musical I ever saw, and years later I directed it in summer stock, accompanied it on the piano, and played Sky Masterson (not at the same time). It has been revived many times, and many of the revivals have been recorded, but this remains the best version by far. The sound is surprisingly good for the time. The extra tracks don’t really add anything except to remind us that the movie wasn’t very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2015
recordings of original production reflect level of technology available at the time of recording - sound as if were created from clean vinyl disc recordings, but without RIAA eqalization - after those tracks, added tracks from the movie version were of "good quality", similar to what you expect from a movie soundtrack
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon March 2, 2009
This cd is a superbly remastered special edition of the original GUYS AND DOLLS Broadway soundtrack. I purchased it because I am going to see the latest revival on Broadway and wanted to familiarize myself with the songs as I have never seen the show before.

The orchestration and style is a little dated but it only adds to the glorious brilliance of the performances. Through these songs you get to know each of the four main characters very closely and the performances are unbelievable. The liner notes are full of valuable info with some great pictures as well.

I am so happy I purchased this for I love musicals and this soundtrack is a must have that shows how a show should be done. It also fills me with great expectation to see the show in New York.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2015
I feel that this is the best recorded version of Guys & Dolls that I have heard. Definitely Recommend!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2007
I am a local actor and purchased this to help with rehearsing a local production of the musical. It is VERY close to the material you rent from the licensor (the new revived version is WAY off). Although the sound quality is VERY tinny for today's standards, it is a good rendition of the ORIGINAL version of the musical. Wish the ensemble was a little stronger, though. (The added few BONUS tracks from the movie version are cute, but you have to wonder "why?"...)
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2002
Stereo it's not, but it's the real thing. Listening to the Original Broadway production brought back all the joy I had when I first heard all those memorable tunes. The CD has cuts from the movie version, but they pale in comparison with the performance and voices of Robert Alda, Vivian Blaine and Sam Lavene. No one could reproduce the humor and power of Vivian's "Adelaid's Lament" or "Take Back Your Mink", or Stubby Kaye's "Guys and Dolls". All was as I remembered; a thoroughly enjoyable classic.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2013
Guys and Dolls remains a classic musical comedy, one of the all time greats of traditional musical theater. I rank it with the best of Broadway shows from the Gershwins, Rodgers and Hammerstein, Rodgers and Hart, Lerner and Lowe, and Meredith Wilson.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$8.90
$12.97
$9.98

Need customer service? Click here