Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 20 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 28 reviews
on April 29, 2017
I think it was Tony Gatlif who said 'my native land is the road'. 'Gypsy' (maybe Roma is less offensive) music represents an incredibly vast arch of sound, stretching from Rajastan to the Gibraltar. So to speak of it is meaningless, not much different from the hapless term of 'black music'. It has more to do with someone's concern with the race of the musicians rather than the music they make.
You will be treated to excellent product coming from Asia, the Balkans and finally the south of Spain. And to some bits of Roma life, which is not easy, given the poverty and prejudice that are still prevalent in many parts of Europe.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2013
Picks up the threads that began with Tony Gatliff's brilliant music documentary "Latcho Drom" and weaves them into a new and exciting story about the music and the lives of the musicians, both in their native lands and on the road. There is often not enough extended concert footage for my taste, even though the back stories are great. There is enough for me recommend it to anyone interested in real traditions of music... not some World Cafe pipe dream of a record producer.The traditions are not watered down in the process of promoting and selling this music, which is rare.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2011
This film follows a tour in the U.S. of several Roma (gypsy) groups from Romania, India, Spain, and Macedonia. They all speak the same verbal language but not the same musical language. By the conclusion of the tour, they are able to come together in a musical extravaganza.
Over the course of the film, I felt I had gotten an authentic taste of the cultures of the various groups - they are quite different - and some of the "stars" of the groups. When one of them dies before the end of the tour, his group returns to their native land for a wake which I needed, too, I had come to love him that much.
Roma have been unjustly maligned all over the world and for a long time. They all live "some" place, but they have no homeland. Perhaps they have infused their music with the joy that is usually attached to a homeland because it is a joyous caravan, indeed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2008
The Roma people are little known, like the wind ranging over the earth, transformative and invisible, but felt unless you never leave your domicile. Not surprising, Johnny Depp's glance with a Roma troupe resulted in lifelong changes, I think especially for him. The film follows many living threads of "gypsy" culture and music, which had been unaware of each other, having dispersed to distant lands, and naturally evolved musically with different ways. The phenomenal idea actualized and here documented: a colloborative concert bringing family together, who sing, play, and dance their way along time and continents all home to the roma. There is nothing simple about portraying any people, but these people and the filmmakers are undeniable in their authenticity. This film can contribute to anyone's experience and understanding of our humanity.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2013
I can't watch many movies repeatedly, but had to order this when Netflix streaming stopped offering it. The music is beautiful, and the people featured endearing. Well made, easy to watch, and delightful to listen to. A must for anybody with an eclectic taste in music. I bought it to watch with my dad and musician friends. The Rajasthan dancer from Maharajah is stunning. There is one tearjerking scene, but the rest of the movie is very uplifting.
If you've got any Roma blood in you, it will make you proud. If you don't, it will make you wish you did...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2009
This documentary, which chronicles a concert tour of amazingly talented Roma people from several different countries, is already a favorite at our house. There are too many "good" parts to mention them all, but here are a few: Gypsy Esma, both singing and reminiscing; a fabulous aunt(Juana)-nephew Flamenco duo; Nikolai the Romanian elder statesman of the violin; a young Indian man who dances quite remarkably on his knees; there's even an interview with Johnny Depp recounting his experiences while making the film, "The Man Who Cried." I was so inspired after watching this that I bought DVDs of both The Man Who Cried and Gadjo Dilo.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2014
The classic journey of the gypsies from India, across the Bosphorus, through Eastern Europe to Spain is told by performers from everywhere along the way. On the concert tour bus together, they come to find kinship and music and dance in each other.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2017
I don't know what to say
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2016
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2014
Loved this movie first time I saw it 4 years ago and that is why I had to have it. Shame I gave it to friend and it has never been returned.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$23.99

Need customer service? Click here