Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Generic AC Power Adapter Charger for Nintendo 3DS/DSi/XL
Amazon Vehicles Fall Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer conj2 conj2 conj2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Kiss Rocks Vegas Water Sports STEM

Color: AC Power Adapter|Change
Price:$5.17+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 14, 2012
Incorrectly described as compatible for the 3DS! The one picture of the plug appears to be more a rectangle as the 3DS appear, though the one that came has a wider more trapezoid like shape. Hope this helps other because this is so inexpensive it has folks say great grab it.
0Comment| 88 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2013
Plugged charging unit into my 3DS and walked away. Came back a couple hours later to find that it wasn't charging. I plugged it in again and heard some crackling and then saw smoke come from the plug.

Item was returned for full refund.
0Comment| 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2012
Plugged into my 3DS and it did charge, but when I went to play it while it was plugged in, the screens flickered, and a burning smell came from the wall plug. The wall plug's plastic had actually partially melted.
0Comment| 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2013
I didn't leave it plugged in for long enough to get the burning smell or smoke that others described. However, the plug was loose inside the system, wiggling around, and it caused the charging light to flash. I unplugged it pretty quickly, fearing for my system.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2012
Shorted out after 3 uses, fear it could have damaged my unit as the screen was flickering. Pure junk do not buy.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2012
Purchased this to replace damaged 3DS power adapter. Figured it would be cheaper through Amazon than local store. The adapter arrived quickly - good. But it did not work - bad. The packaging did not look new nor was it sealed. Rather than wait for return and replacement I went to local Target and purchased one for under $10 - it works (so no issues with the 3DS) and package was sealed with factory tape. Should have taken this action to begin with.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2014
Do not buy these cheap 3rd party AC adapters they are potentially dangerous and you can easily just by the HDE USB cable for the 3DS/DSi/XL for far less and not take any risks with your life/property. A bad AC charger can at best destroy your 3DS and at worst burn down your house and electrocute you by applying full line voltage on the low voltage side.

The 3DS XL is fully compatible with USB 2A chargers (regardless of what Nintendo says on the backplate) it actually is a 5V ~1amp charger internally and works fine with any modern 2A USB charger that you get with your phones or even just the ports on your laptop or pc.

AC to DC power supplies should never be cheap quality as they are the barrier between you and lethal voltages. If your going to buy a AC adapter get the official one and if your smart get the HDE USB cord as that is cheap and safe provided you use a good quality usb charger.
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2016
Shipped out fast and arrived in good packaging and condition. However, does not work! There must be a loose connection or something in the adapter because when connected to the DS, the charging light will flash intermittently. A properly working adapter will have a steady charging light on the DS.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2016
Does not work at all. My 3DS did not charge at all and it smelled like something was burning. a complete scam, I am not sure how amazon can actually allow this to remain on here when it clearly hasn't worked for so many people. I will get a refund as soon as I possibly can, because this was just a terrible waste of my time.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2012
i bought this thinking "Hmmm not a bad price and its new!!" i bought it and it came alot faster then i was expecting which i was impressed with. the charger itself does work but its messing my dsi xl up. like the red light for low battery still flashes and it effects some of my gaming. but once i unplug it the dsi is fine. umm if i keep using this will that be safe for my system?
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 11 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here