Your Garage Luxury Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Samsung S8 Launch Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Book House Cleaning animestrike animestrike animestrike  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch National Bike Month on Amazon

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 75 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 158 reviews
on February 14, 2012
As far as HTML5 goes, there really aren't a lot of good and comprehensive references to the markup specifications yet. This book serves as a good reference to the new markup tags and offers examples of how each can be used. If you're already working with HTML and are looking for a quick read through of the new tags and their purposes this is the book for you.

However, it does not serve as a beginners guide to HTML. The book assumes that you're already familiar with coding in HTML and makes no attempt to teach you the basics. I don't count this as a fault against the book, but I do think it needs to be said.

The authors also spend quite a bit of time talking about accessibility features (working with screenreaders and so forth). It's a good topic and worthy of a book by itself, but the amount of time they devote to it in this book seems disproportional. I'd offer the authors my advice of toning down that topic in this book and devoting another book to it instead.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2012
You'll find only basics and major HTML5 concepts in this book.
Book is well-written, well-designed. It's pleasant to read it.
It's purpose to introduce you into HTML5 world and give you examples (but "out of context") to explain use cases.
Good only for first handshake, for introduction of HTML5.
But a book was usefull for me, cause i got HTML5 concept in teaching manner. And finaly i used the concept (and will use it) in my website.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon November 17, 2011
I found this book to be a good update on the new stuff (and there's a lot more than just 30 new elements) in HTML5, including good information on WAI-ARIA and accessibility issues... and I find the price to be good for what you get.

This book mainly discusses only the new elements in HTML5, and the new form input types and attributes (which allow a level of form validation without requiring JavaScript). It also has chapters on the new "video" and "audio" elements, canvas, data storage, going offline, drag and drop, geolocation (though not part of HTML5), messaging (the Messaging API) and worker threads (multi-threading in JavaScript), and a chapter on patching older browsers to support HTML5 today (called "polyfilling"). Some useful information is given about browser support for new HTML5 elements and attributes, but not a lot (too much browser support info would just make the book get out of date even faster).

It's important to note that this book is not for the HTML beginner. The reader should already be familiar with HTML (like HTML 4), CSS, and JavaScript. Also, this is not a reference book, so don't count on that. If it were a reference book, it would be A LOT bigger and probably less beneficial.

Some have mentioned the humor in this book. Let's just say it is "childish" and "sophomoric"; the authors must have an underlying desire to be "megahunks". But many may find this type of humor funny (depending on the type of humor they like), and some could find it offensive and/or annoying and/or unprofessional.

NOTE: I had originally read the 1st edition of this book, which I also enjoyed but which was becoming outdated due to how fast things are moving now. The 2nd edition is more up-to-date, corrects some issues in the 1st edition, and has 295 pages instead of 223 pages, so the 2nd edition also has more content.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2012
I got this book to help with an online core I was taking for the intro to HTML 5.
To my surprise, the writing style made it easy to understand. Normally with a "how to book"
there isn't anything to look forward to other than reading instructions....blah.
The authors were able to make the material palatable and easier to digest.
I did learn that the internet and web browsers are still not ready to fully support HTML 5.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2016
This book was very clear and concise, as well as delightfully written. I ordered it for a class but one could easily teach oneself from this book. According to my memory, I ordered both the hard copy and digital version.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon August 22, 2011
I found this book to be a good update on the new stuff in HTML5, including good information on some accessibility issues. However, some things are already out of date, since HTML5 & HTML5 browser support has changed since this book was written, and a 2nd edition is soon to be available.

It's important to note that this book is not for the beginner. The reader should already be somewhat familiar with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript. Also, this is not a reference book, so don't count on that. If it were a reference book, it would be A LOT bigger and probably less beneficial.

Some have mentioned the humor in this book. Let's just say it is "childish" and "sophomoric"; the authors must have an underlying desire to be "megahunks". But many may find this type of humor funny (depending on the type of humor they like), and some could find it offensive and/or annoying and/or unprofessional.

But I wouldn't buy this edition with the 2nd edition coming soon. HTML5 and user agent support for HTML5 have changed and HTML5 is still not final (though it's true that a lot is still the same and would still be useful). I would recommend waiting for the upcoming 2nd edition, unless you have to have this now for some reason.

Because this book is already out of date (it was written Nov 2009 to May 2010) & the 2nd edition is upon us, I only feel comfortable giving the 1st edition 3 stars, but if the 2nd edition is just as good as the 1st edition was when it was first released, then I would probably have to give the 2nd edition 4 or 5 stars (leaning toward 5)... so I recommend the 2nd edition instead (I have the 2nd edition on order).
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2014
Authors do a great job in making the reading as easy as possible and try to make it enjoyable.
Lots of information and url addresses to many other sites to further your educational learning experience
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2013
This book is great for everyone that wants to dive right into web 3.0 learn the right way and stop using tables!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2014
It contained some stuff that was useful and lacked other information.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2015
Excellent book I used it for a Digital Marketing Class at Emory U.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse