Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Josh Ritter Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now FFII_gno

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
61
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$13.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 32 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 61 reviews
on June 1, 2017
Great Aaron book, but there's as much about racism as there is about baseball.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2017
Great piece of American history. A must read for any baseball fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2013
If you are a Hank Aaron fan or a fan of MLB in general, you will find this book fascinating. Learning of how Mr. Aaron thinks, how much pain and strife he had to go through to reach the breaking of Ruth's home run record, and reading some of the chilling hate mail that he got from bigoted people all over the country, truly reveals aspects of this great American's life.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2014
purchased as a gift for my nephew and he loves it read it 6 times and sleeps with the book s well thank you guyzzzzz 100 starzzzz ****************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2015
Great Book on one of the greatest!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2016
This is basically an autobiography. Aaron does not make apologies for the sometimes severe elements of his personality and does not attempt to conceal them. He shares with the reader his expereinces as a black player breaking into and advancing within the mayors. He also shares a lot about his baseball strategy. His insights into the science of hitting are fascinating. Overall and honest and interesting read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2014
Excellent copy of this trailblazing book. Henry Aaron deserves our thanks for his courage and perseverance against racism when it was supposed to have died away, but clearly had not. Fine book for a gift, too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2013
I Had a Hammer brought back a lot of memories for me. I saw him play in San Francisco and asked him a few questions for a column I was writing. I remember he said he would talk to me if I turned off my tape recorder. He had signed the contract with Magnavox and they had the rights to his voice.
--mel bowen, retired sports writer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2013
When so many of our heroes are found to not be who we thought they were, it is an absolute pkeasure to read a story by a true icon. Henry Aaron tells a wonderful story and as a long time Milwaukee Braves fan this read is a delightful stroll through time. Loved this book and its look back in time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2016
Gave to husband as a gift. Price was awesome, book is in great shape and he loves it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse