Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Haiku d'Etat
Your Garage Buy 2 kids' books and save Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
15
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 21, 2000
When people think of rap, they think of such people as Jay-Z, DMX, Hot Boys, and other no-talent emcees. This is because of what's broadcasted on MTV, BET and the radio. Groups like Haiku D'Etat(Aceyalone, Mikah 9, Abstract Rude) are not represented and are affected by the recycled garbage on TV. While other groups continue to use simple mother goose ryhme schemes about nothing, hardly even speaking english, and using simple key loops groups like Haiku D'Etat are being original. Like The Roots, they use live instrumentation, which creates an organic sound rarely heard. It works and perfectly fits the three emcees' styles. Every song is good, and if you, like me, despise how this art form is misrepresented and you're mind is above the mainstream listener, buy this cd now.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2000
The title "Haiku De Tat" is about the overthrow(d'etat) of set rhythmic and beat restrictions (as in a haiku) -- basically the goal of this album is to go beyond the norm of hiphop. In fact these three artists (Aceyalone, Abstract Rude, and Mikah9) offer here, under their combined forces, an album unlike anything any of them have done before -- you can easily see the growth of Mikah and Acey since their Freestyle Fellowship days. The only CD offered by any of these artists before that I would consider better than this CD would be Aceyalone's "A Book of Human Language." But of course that album was minus the talents and suprises packed with Ab Rude and Mikah, and these three emcees compliment each other more perfectly here than they have ever done in the past. Abstract Rude is definitley the star of the CD, stealing the show in most songs with his bass voice and subtle humor. All of these emcees definitly blow up rhythmical patterns and lyrical content on this joint. The first two songs and "Still Rappin'" are my favorites. The CD could deal with being a little longer, but besides that no complaints.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2002
Im into hip hop, I don't know if everyone would call this hip hop because of the live instrumentation, but this is my favorite album ever. This album is one of a kind musically and lyrically. Aceyalone, Mikah 9, and Abstract Rude are my 3 favorite MC's. This album was like a blessing for me.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2000
This CD once again shows the vocal skills of LA's best. and some of the best true hip-hop mceys out there. This CD is jazzy and up beat, like peaceful.If You haven't heard this style You might not appericiate it,You will either think this style is the best thing Hip-Hop has produced or you won't feel it, but listen to it and you will love it. I recomended for anyone who likes aceyalone you go out and find All balls don't bounce his best album and my favorite album of all time.twice as good as this one.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2004
This is probably one of the most classic albums that came out under the nose and it definetly should be repressed. It is great, and I would definetly recommend it. ALSO it is a little jazzy so if you don't like hardcore underground rap and some jazzyness it might not be the best for you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2001
This is another unique sound. There is no other album with the feel of this. The closest I could say is Aceyalone's "Book of Human Language" (recomended). A must have for anyone who looks for an original sound and style. Forget those bad reviews.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2001
Haiku D'etat is the assembly of three of finest Project Blowdians in the world. At it's high points it is as FRESH as a pickl scratch and at its low point you can hit the skip button. Aceyalone continues to put forth sound, insightful verses while his A-Team partner Ab Rude does the same. The most pleasant surprise is the work of FF emcee Mikah 9 whose verses range from impressive to amazing, on "Still Rappin'" he emerges as one of the most talented emcees in the game, showing that time may place in the class of Big Ace, 2Mex, and other underground legends. The Project Blowed crew is beginning to gain notoriety all over the west coast and has even spread north to Vancouver and to major cities in the east like New York, Philly, and Newark. Swoop this recording up as soon as you can.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 25, 2006
This album is quite a treat, and if you are familiar with the project blowed clique, then you know it will not disappoint. Up there with Haiku d'Etat's "Coup de Theatre", and Freestyle Fellowship's "Shockadoom", "Innercity Griots", and "To Whom it May Concern". Conscious and mind-blowing lyrics lacing musically rich jazz-influenced instrumentals, it's hard to ask for a better trio of lyricists to come together and compliment each other so well. Prepare to be refreshed and enlightened!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2000
Anyone who loves a mix of great hip hop blends with fast paced rhyming should check out this album. I got it not too long ago and listen to it every time I hit the road. Aceyalone is the coolest!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2009
great album from aceyalone,mikah9,and abstract rude. live instrumentation behind some of the best rappers on the left coast.anybody interested in freestyle fellowship should try this out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here