Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Half the World Is Watching Me Import

4.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, August 20, 2007
"Please retry"

Stream Millions of Songs FREE with Amazon Prime
Unlimited Streaming with Amazon Prime Start your 30-day free trial to stream millions of songs FREE with Amazon Prime. Start your free trial.

Editorial Reviews

Re-release of Mew's second album that has been unavailable since the original 5000 copies were sold out in 2000. This re-issue will feature a bonus CD with 9 previously unreleased tracks such as demos, live recordings, and studio recordings (among them the title-track "Half the World is Watching Me"), which were not included back then.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Am I Wry? No
  2. Mica
  3. Saliva
  4. King Christian
  5. Her Voice Is Beyond Her Years
  6. 156
  7. Symmetry
  8. Comforting Sounds
  9. Half The World Is Watching Me (Studio Outtake)
  10. Her Voice Is Beyond Her Years (Live 2001)
  11. Mica (Live 2001)
  12. Wheels Over Me (Live 2001)
  13. Wherever (Live 2001)
  14. 156 (Cubase Demo)
  15. Quietly (Demo)
  16. Comforting Sounds (Do I Look Puerto Rican?) (Demo)
  17. Ending

Product Details

  • Audio CD (August 20, 2007)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Evil Office
  • ASIN: B000UF9LAA
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #510,043 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Amazon's Mew Store

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

By Kurt Harding VINE VOICE on June 24, 2008
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Those contemplating Half The World Is Watching Me as their first outing with Mew will likely balk at the price. Even the prices advertised by amazon partners may give the musically cautious cause for pause. I can understand that. Why waste good money on something that may turn out to be tripe? However, since I already owned the other Mew recordings and enjoyed them, I dug deep and ordered this.
There is a lot to like, though if you already have the band's later recordings you may be annoyed that you had already heard about half of what's here. At least these apparently original versions are different from the more polished later renditions.
The dreamy vocals of Jonas Bjerre infuse the soaring alt-pop melodies and off-beat lyrics of this unconventional Danish quartet with an almost feminine sweetness. How many singers can sing about kissing saliva and make it sound romantic? On Disc 1, fully half of the songs are later reworked but overall, this disc is pretty solid. Many listeners may actually find that on hearing both versions, that they prefer some of these originals. Symmetry is a good example of a song that I prefer in the version presented here.
On Disc 2, there are only a couple that are later redone and maybe even renamed. My favorites here are the live Wheels Over Me and the live Wherever.
With Half The World Is Watching Me, the listener gets roughly 75 minutes worth of music. The CD set is accompanied by a booklet containing pictures, album information, brief commentary by some band members, and the lyrics to the songs on Disc 1, which contains the songs that comprised the original release.
Did I get my money's worth? Well, over time I will. This is an album I will come back to again and again.
Read more ›
Comment 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


Pages with Related Products. See and discover other items: vinyl pop