Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating FFII_gno

Format: Video Game|Change
Price:$12.11+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 206 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 242 reviews
on August 20, 2016
Halo wars is an RTS game.With this in mind, do not expect to be playing the normal halo games. Although halo wars may share some of the lore from previous halo games, it is not to be mixed up as a cheesy spinoff of the Halo franchise.

- The graphics are good... for how old this game is. There is nothing that makes you just stare in awe of how realistic or appreciate the amount of intricacy in the models.
- The story is very interesting and made me want to play just one more mission, just one more mission, just one more... the cycle repeats. Although, a friend of mine stated the story felt 'on rails'.
The player is allowed to build any unit he wants and approach the enemy any way he wants, but the game may "guide" him sometimes. An example of this would be (sometimes this happens, not all the time) when the mission starts and the player doesn't have a base, he just directs his units around to capture a base.
- Multiplayer for this game is very fun if you have a teammate or two to play with. Playing online by yourself will not be a great experience as most teammates (like every game) are very bad.
- The balancing of this game is not fantastic. Most multiplayer matches end up with one side making scorpions ( tanks ) and the other side mirroring it. There are some blatantly overpowered units and some extremely under powered units. Sometimes it is very fun to win with under powered units though.
-The sounds are perfect and everything has its own audio queue. All units have 4-5 different lines they say when directed.
-The path finding for this game is below average however. Path finding is the way a unit travels from one direction to the other. Sometimes I will direct a warthog to a spot and he will not even move. Other times he becomes stuck behind a pack of units instead of finding a different way around.
Overall this game is a 4 star game. It is not anywhere near perfect, that is for sure, but is one great game and will give you loads of fun when playing.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2014
Here's my take, I used to play Real Time Strategy (RTS) games when I was younger and single on my PC. I really enjoyed the whole interface, the level of control, and depth that RTSs had. I had never played an RTS on a game console prior to this either.

I'm 5 missions into the campaign, and I have to say on many levels this game is excellent. Story, depth, graphics, staying true to the HALO timeline, and ability of units.

Control - I have to really say that there is room for improvement. Consider my RTS experience and take my criticism with a grain of salt - On every RTS PC game I've played you could group like units together and designate them independantly - but for HALO wars, the best you can do is "all units". or individually task units to accomplish tasks.

Creating groups is my only complaint about this game. You can't, unless I missed something.

Other than that - this game is awesome for what it is. A real time strategy game for a console based in the HALO universe.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2011
I still think its not fair that the average halo player hates this game. I have all sorts of friends that claim "it isn't even a halo" but that is all crap. This game, although not a FPS, is a great game, (its an RTS). If you have played any of the other games made by ensemble studios, like Age Of Empires or Age Of Mythology, then you will really like this game. The campaign is very fun, and the cut scenes are also entertaining. PLaying co op with your friends is great, and skirmishes are also available on xbox live. The controls for this game are very easy to get used to. For a console RTS I think that Halo Wars is a huge success. It really is a shame that this is the last game Ensemble Studios was able to make. Overall this is a great game, and I would reccomend it to anyone who likes rts. I will admit that for an RTS it is a little dumbed down (you can only build turrets and buildings at base areas, not anywhere on the map like in AOE or AOM), but it is still a lot of fun. Oh and BTW, if you buy this, get the platinum hits edition, it comes with all the add ons free (the map pack and extra gametypes). One more warning, there are not nearly as many people playing Halo Wars on Xbox Live as other Halos, so some specific gametypes you may have trouble finding matches. What I mean by that is gametypes like 3V3 Deathmatch and 3V3 Tug Of War only have 15-30 people playing at a time. Still this is a great game, and basic gametypes like 1V1 skirmish are very popular with 1,000s of people.

I wish Ensemble Studios was still making games...
11 comment| 69 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2016
Many people will say they do not like this game, as Halo is generally a first person shooter, and they go into this expecting that. However, this is a Real Time Strategy game (RTS) meaning you play it from a birds eye view, and create and order troops around the battlefield. It is worth noting that most children, especially those into shooter games like Call of Duty, will find this game weird, even boring. However, this is a fantastic game, which is well designed and executed. Can't wait for the sequel in late 2016!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2016
A fun 2nd person shooter game which relies on strategy. I like the option of playing with multiple allies and enemies and choosing which persona to use each of which have different strengths. This is a good T rated game that I will allow my kids to play without worrying too much about first person violence and gore.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2017
First time my seven year old played an RTS....not too difficult for him to grasp the controls and he loves playing. Will be buying the sequel shortly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2014
If you are a Halo fan or RTS fan, this is worth a look, especially at the Platinum Hits price. Legendary mode is appropriately difficult, unlike some of the recent Halo titles.

Just be aware that the console is not the ideal method of controlling a real-time strategy game. You will likely find yourself frequently confusing "all local units" and "all units" regularly. Also the AI is a bit thick, and requires a level of micro-management that is borders on absurd.

The storyline is alright, but has some serious holes. Halo writers deal with awesome Forerunner technology by simply blowing it up far too often. Using FTL drives as a bomb is basically a trope now.

I suggest playing co-op with a friend. It makes it a far more enjoyable experience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2017
Arrived in new & great condition. Great addition to game collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2013
Completing my Halo collection. Not your ordinary Halo game play. It's an RTS or real time strategy game. I have tried other strategy games before and wasn't wowed in the least. Your average strategy game seems to take too long to play. And the graphics look cheesy. This game is quite different. It isn't slow and there's plenty of action. Not unlike the standard waiting around for you to make a move so the CPU can make it's counter move. The graphics are unlike traditional Halo games but they are good. I own the complete Halo series and this was the only game that was missing. I now have the entire set. Not so much into RTS but it does add to the experience of the Halo Universe.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2012
Entertaining top-down scenarios using familiar units (Grunts, Ghosts, Scorpions, etc.). Starts out easy enough with a built-in tutorial, but that practice is necessary as it becomes ever more challenging. Gameplay is great. Knew before buying that it is not an FPS: already have Halo 3, ODST, Reach, and Combat Evolved: Anniversary for first person shooters. Instead, this is the best of both worlds: Halo's stories now set in larger-scale real time strategy, building troops and developing support bases as resources become increasingly available over several missions.
Will be looking into replacement/return options for broken case's sharp edges (most of top was smashed off leaving jagged surfaces, but security tape masked the damage since cardboard shipping box was intact).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 25 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here