Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Hammerhead Blade 2.4GHz RC Helicopter 3.5CH w/ Gyro -The Ultimate Compact Hovering Helicopter
Amazon Vehicles Back to School Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Florida Georgia Line Water Sports



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 5, 2012
Got this for a present for $20 elsewhere (a 3.5 channel version, not 4!!!). The box the product came in was not flashy like Syma S107, but smaller and more compact if you want to travel with it further.

The toy looks very much like Syma S107, with a few differences. The control is 2.4Ghz radio, not infrared. The RC unit looks very much like Syma's (same size and shape), with a tiny antenna where IR is on Syma's, and no channel switch.

The helicopter is quite similar to Syma, with a shorter steel rod on top. On helicopter itself, the turn on switch and the charging port are on the bottom, not a side (I like Syma's location better). So the accessibility is reduced.

The helicopter seems to have less powerful motors. It takes off the ground slower than Syma, and flies forward/backward slower as well. The blades' pitch is higher. Stability is very good, seems to wobble around less than S107. Also, being underpowered, it is harder to crash it into the ceiling, or move it around anywhere for that matter.

The main and tail blades appear to be interchangeable with Syma.

On the downside, my unit had a defect right out of the box. When I plugged in the wire to charge it with helicopter off, the blades started rotating. I had to turn it on and off with the charger plugged in and it started charging normally.

With Syma's going for $27 now, this was a reasonable compromise. However, if given choice, I think I'd rather go for more powerful Syma, rather than this product of less identifiable origin.
22 comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2012
I bought this from a separate site for a great price. way better than airhogs. this is built out of steel and is very durable. it also flies very stable and is easy to control. Battery does last the full 8 minutes of flight time and it recharges quickly. Overall a great buy. I ordered 2 more as Christmas gifts.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2013
Bought this on sale for $20, well worth the investment. It has stood up to many crashes as my kids (7 & 8) and I have learned to fly it. We fly it all over the house, although it is difficult to fly outside, as even the slightest breeze will blow it away from you quickly.

Only complaint is that I wish batteries lasted longer and parts were more readily available. It does recharge quickly, however.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2013
I have tried a few different flying RC toys over the years, including some costing over $100. This is one that is pretty easy to get in the air and fly around within a few minutes of unboxing it, unlike all the others I've tried. If you are in the market for an RC helicopter, and you don't have any experience, then you DEFINITELY need a gyro model like this one. It's also radio-controlled, as opposed to infrared, so it works even around corners and when someone steps between you and it. The helicopter itself looks nice and is very cleanly built. I've had it crash from over 30ft elevation with no damage. The remote looks and feels pretty cheesy, but it works fine. You can easily get it to hover and move around on your first flight. After a few flights, I can get it to fly around a small room without too many crashes, but you definitely will require a lot of practice to navigate in and out of doors and corridors. My only big complaint is the battery life - at most about 10 minutes of flying, which is about average for these things. If you plan to take it outside, then it has to be absolutely calm conditions. The very slightest breeze, even one you can barely feel on your skin, takes this thing out of control into the neighbor's yard. At ~50 bucks, maybe a little pricey, but you can find them for <30 occasionally. 4 stars at <30 bucks, 3 stars at the normal price.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2012
I bought this helicopter from other place, it's very easy to control and I have great time with it. Overall, this helicopter is pretty good. I would buy another one as a birthday gift for my friend.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2012
Very nice product will have a lot of fun playing with this. Kids love it and even their dad too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2012
My first mistake, bought this on black friday from 1saleaday (Amazon partner) and did not open it and fly it as it was a present for Christmas for my daughter. Second mistake maybe buying it as the seller has a 21 day return policy for DOA. There is no manufacturer on the directions....amazing. No place to return a machine, no warranty, no place to buy spare parts should someone need them. Toy looks amazing but since motor to lower rotor does not spin, chopper never lifted off the floor. Avoid and go for a more expensive model that has a real manufacturer...willing to list their name and address and provide spare parts and perhaps a warranty other then parts that break on impact. Lesson learned.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2013
Very good helicopter. The only thing is it would be better to include an extra stabilizer in the bag. Where can i find an extra stabilizer?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2015
Works great, easy to control with a little use, kid keeps hanging it up in trees
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2013
i was, sadly, under the impression that this helicopter would be able to fly. get some lift. even a few feet would have been ok. pathetically, it just skates along the floor... not what i was expecting for $20.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions

Need customer service? Click here