Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Shop Now FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 12 reviews
Length: 124 pages.

The author provides eight case studies of entrepreneurs who converted shortcomings or disadvantages into niche success stories for food production enterprises.

Although each story could benefit by inclusion of business statistics, the writer has done a valuable service, and is an inspiration for other writers and people hoping to carve out a place in the business world.

In reading Handmade: How Eight Everyday People Became Artisan Food Entrepreneurs, I could not help but be impressed with how well Ms Lewis compiled the general overview for each business, then summarized how each successfully positioned themselves. Yet, the enthusiasm of each business owner shines through.

As I stated at the outset, some statistical criteria would help, but, these examples still are a valuable resource to many among us. I especially got inspiration from the pizza kit example.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2015
This book is a great starting point if you think you have a gourmet food product you would like to market but aren't sure where to start. People with a variety of products, including meat, honey, and baked goods explain where the ideas for their businesses came from and what they learned along the way as their operations grew. Some very valuable advice here.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2017
great book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 25, 2016
Not what I expected, but has some good info to consider before quiting a job and starting something on your own.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2015
Some great startup advice. Makes you think about the day-to-day running of your business. Every story has a useful lesson, regardless of the industry you're in.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2017
INSPIRING.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2016
This is a fascinating collection of stories. It's short, easy to read in a few hours.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2012
I happened upon Jennifer Lewis' blog for culinary entrepreneurs purely by chance. I thought her website was incredibly informative, so I purchased Handmade. What a great read! Unlike most instructional how-to books, it is lively and well-written with inspiring stories about real people with real companies "made from scratch." It definitely pushed me towards starting my own business. I will definitely purchase more of Jennifer Lewis' books. She really knows her stuff!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2012
I finished reading a self help entrepreneurial book about starting a food business. The book is titled “Hand Made” and the author is Jenifer Lewis.

Great book if you have that entrepreneurial drive in your. Always asking yourself or others, “how did they start that business?” You do not need to be a foodie or want to start a food business to read the book. I am neither. The book gives stories of entrepreneurial growth from around the country. All the stories are from small business, that is what interests me.

Jenifer Lewis, the author, is straight to the point and highlights the best information. Great Job Jen! What is your next book? I would like to read a book about small schools.

Thanks,
Ron Grosinger
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2012
This book is not worth the time or money. There is little information about starting a food business. Its more like a bunch of magazine interviews. Two of the businesses are already defunct.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse