Customer Reviews: Hangrope Law (Rancho Diablo Book 2)
Amazon Vehicles Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Electronics Holiday Gift Guide Starting at $39.99 New Professional Skin Care Cozy Knits STEM Get $40 cash back on House Cleaning LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship  All-New Echo Dot Introducing new colors All-New Kindle for Kids Edition AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Cycling on Amazon Fit for Fall Save on select BOB strollers, Car Seats & Accessories

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 20, 2011
This novel begins with a brave and bold move - the prose reads like a dime western novel of the late 1800s. No worries, though, two pages in and it's obvious that sixteen-year-old Titus Blaylock was dreaming of adventures, rather than living them. Nicely done, that. And of course it isn't long before Titus is thrust into a real adventure, where lives are at stake.

There are two other Blaylock children: Miriam and younger Elijah. At fifteen, Miriam's typically a bit of a tomboy, and wore trousers `something else that scandalized folks along with her occasionally salty language.'

Sam and Jenny are the long-suffering parents of this brood. Loving and doting, yet firm too. When Titus and Miriam chase off some varmints who were after an old guy called Orion Pike, Sam's proud of them while wanting to ground them for leaving their spread, the Rancho Diablo.

Orion Pike brings back Sam's memories of his own childhood, when he'd briefly ridden with this man. Now, Pike seemed to have brought trouble down on his land and his family. Yet, Sam owes his life to Pike. Against his better judgement, he harbours the old fella. Trouble - and an unsavoury US Marshal - hover with ill intent.

The first in a series, this is a fast-paced credible story about the past returning to blight the present. All the characters are well drawn and there are lashings of suspense, action, humour and emotion to move everything along. I finished the book wanting to know more about the Blaylock family - which is just fine, as there are at present two more Rancho Diablo books in my Kindle still to read!

0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2011
I've been waiting a long time for a traditional western series without graphic sex. This series has believable characters and reflects the values of America moving west. Again James Reasoner shows his talent for crafting a tight action packed plot and story. I gave it four stars only because the story is too short, though i wouldn't want any padding and James never does that. Hopefully a long line of episodes in this series can make up for the shortness. It's a great read and too soon over. Keep them coming James, Bill and Mel.
33 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2012
I went into this series not caring much for westerns but liking the authors. I was surprised how much I liked the first book, Shooters Cross, so I decided to get book 2. I think I like it even better than book one. I guess the reason is because I know the characters better now and more time could be spent on action and development rather than the introductions of the first book. Book 3 is next on my reading list.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2014
It being short was my only problem. I thought the book had lots of acion. This is the second book so you are getting to know the people better. Sam Blaylock is the main person in the series. However, I like Tucker very much as he is the fastest with the draw.

The story line is well done, it is beleveable and you can almost see the things happening in your mnd as you read. It is true of so much of the old west that these type poeple are what made it what it is today.

I think anybody that likes western action along with family involvement and men who are loyal to the owner will like this type book. I am looking forward to getting the next in the series and hope it is a little longer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2011
Writing as Colby Jackson, James Reasoner spins another thoroughly believable story about Rancho Diablo and the family that calls it home. He brings in a nemesis from the past that Sam Blaylock feels obliged to take in. That's where the trouble begins.

Hangrope Law offers the speed and umph of Bonanza of TV fame. A family is merely trying to build themselves a life in the frontier of Texas, but the past catches up, and a shady lawman thickens the plot.

James always writes tightly and helps the reader visualize what's going on in the story. By the time you finish Hangrope Law, you'll know the Blaylocks well, and you'll be looking forward to more on how the Blaylocks won the west.

Highly recommended.

Chuck Tyrell, author of The Snake Den, Vulture Gold, and other westerns
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2014
Colby Jackson has written a great western series of books about Rancho Diablo. They have great characters, good story's, and action. Only complaint is that they are not long enough. If you enjoy reading westerns or like a good series with good characters then you will enjoy this series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2014
Lot's of action, very realistic with a good story line.
The plot line was very believable when you think of how it must have been in the raw west as it was being settled.
I personally like the clear lines of what's right and wrong. With the main characters having a good sense of the same.
I'm a Louis L'amour fan so I tend to measure all westerns by that standard, this series remind me of some of his books.
Telling a good story along with all the little things that made up the lives of those who actually lived this kind of life.
Plus a like westerns that do not use profanity. I realize there was probably much more bad language than what's found in these books, but I don't need it to make it a good read.
Keep 'em coming, I love reading books like this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2012
This was a very good Book, you can't go wrong in buying this book for the price, I was happy that I bought this book, if you like reading Westerns, then you will like reading this book. Had a hard time putting this book down, was always glad to get back to reading it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2012
Nicely crafted classic Western. Good story, smoothly written with appropriate word choices. While this book is only a little over 100 pages, the story was complete and didn't need to be any longer. Good job.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2012
This was an old fashion western where you know who the bad guys are and the good guys have honor. I really enjoyed living a story written in the old style. It makes me want to find more stories like this .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse