Buying Options

Unlimited reading. Over 1 million titles. Learn more
Read and Listen for Free
OR
Kindle Price: $4.99

Save $9.96 (67%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others


Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more


These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Happy Doomsday: A Novel by [David Sosnowski]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Happy Doomsday: A Novel Kindle Edition

3.5 out of 5 stars 1,064 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$4.99

Length: 407 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible book:
Audible book
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible book with Whispersync for Voice. Add the Audible book for a reduced price of $1.99 when you buy the Kindle book.
Available
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

From the Editor

If you can accept Happy Doomsday’s basic long-shot premise—suddenly, (almost) everybody dies—then you’re in for a rare treat, a deeply felt and frequently hilarious coming-of-age tale like nothing else I’ve read.

The lone survivors of “the whatever-it-was” are three teens already struggling through the trials of late adolescence. For Dev—who was once told that he has Asperger’s syndrome, an armchair diagnosis that Dev wholly owns—hell is other people, and their sudden absence feels like a miraculous deliverance. Lucy is pregnant, grieving her bestie, and out of options. Marcus is an all-American kid with a sinister secret life online.

Within this almost completely depopulated world, author David Sosnowski’s treatment of these self-styled outsiders provides Happy Doomsday with its singular charm. There are no zombies in this comically apocalyptic tale, just three flawed, striving, and—through Sosnowski’s masterful narrative voice—identifiable characters whose stories I will never forget.

Novels are, at their core, about empathy—encouraging us to feel for their characters and, ultimately, each other. And in this sense, Happy Doomsday is one of the most successful novels I’ve ever had the honor to work on. Oh, and don’t worry about false advertising: it’s no spoiler to say that Happy Doomsday has a very happy ending. I’ll be recommending this book for years to come, and I hope you will too.

- Jason Kirk, Editor

Amazon Business : For business-only pricing, quantity discounts and FREE Shipping. Register a free business account

Editorial Reviews

Review

“Part dystopian survival novel and part coming-of-age journey, the tale weaves back and forth between the three leads as they try to make sense of the catastrophe and create a new normal for themselves…A sharply topical and well-researched apocalypse narrative that shifts among black humor, grisly details, and moments of poignancy.” Kirkus Reviews

“Captivating and darkly humorous, this new work by Sosnowski is perfect for fans of The Walking Dead or postapocalyptic survival stories.” Library Journal

“Reading David Sosnowski’s dazzling new novel is like watching an Olympic gymnast fly through the air, do six impossible things, and stick the landing with a glorious grin. I loved Happy Doomsday!” —Mary Doria Russell, Arthur C. Clarke Award–winning author of The Sparrow

About the Author

David Sosnowski has worked as a gag writer, fireworks salesman, telephone pollster, university writing instructor, and environmental-protection specialist while living in places as different as Washington, DC; Detroit, Michigan; and Fairbanks, Alaska. In a novelistic twist, David currently lives in a Michigan home previously owned by the sixth-grade English teacher who inspired him to write. A winner of the Thomas Wolfe Fiction Prize, David’s short fiction has appeared in numerous magazines, including Passages North, River City, and Alaska Quarterly Review. He is also the author of the critically acclaimed novels Rapture and Vamped.


Product details

  • File Size : 4196 KB
  • Publication Date : September 1, 2018
  • Print Length : 407 pages
  • Publisher : 47North (September 1, 2018)
  • Word Wise : Enabled
  • ASIN : B0786B4F9F
  • Language: : English
  • Screen Reader : Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting : Enabled
  • X-Ray : Enabled
  • Text-to-Speech : Enabled
  • Lending : Not Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    3.5 out of 5 stars 1,064 ratings