Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Happy Feet (Full Screen Edition)
Your Garage Editors' Picks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon February 1, 2009
South polar-izing in this case, but it's hard to miss the fact that some people really love this movie and some really...well...don't.

I just saw this movie twice over the past three days, and here's my take on it, with the upsides and the downsides.

The upsides were:

The animation technology! Some of the animation, especially the backgrounds, was drop dead gorgeous. I don't even have HD, and I was mesmerized by how beautifully done some parts of this movie were.

The misfit becomes a hero. It hit sort of close to home for my wife and I because we have a special needs child and have often felt like Memphis and Norma Jean. What went wrong? We sigh a lot and wonder what will become of him. I quietly hope he will develop some great talent some day. We'll see.

An environmental message that wasn't too heavy handed. The humans are not presented as evil, just as being who didn't know what they were doing. Once they discovered the penguins, they helped them out. At least this movie didn't stoop to the now very tired "man is bad" cliche message.

Interesting symbology. The "Memphis" character was obviously Elvis, and Norma Jean was Marilyn Monroe? The two icons of the 1950's give birth to a misfit who revolutionalizes music among a sort of authoritarian theocratic paternal oligarchy. Is this supposed to be something like what happened when rock 'n roll took America by storm in the late 1950's and early 60's? The fundamentalists preached against rock 'n roll, and the kids just wanted to have fun.

The music itself. I found it varied and rather enjoyable. I've never liked that "Somebody to Love" song by Queen, but I genuinely enjoyed the way it was rendered by the penguin choir.

Finally, extrapolating on the fact that penguin couples can identify each other out of the masses of penguins because each has a unique call. This I assume was the inspiration for the idea that penguins mate when they find "their song".

Now the downsides:

I found the adult penguin characters to be designed in a way that didn't make them particularly endearing to look at. I thought the penguins in Surf's Up (which anyone who likes this movie should see too; it's brilliant) were designed to look more fun and loveable. The hint of breasts on the female penguins just made them look sort of weird.

One dimensional stereotype characters. There's the overbearing authoritarian fundamentalists, the holy roller preacher, the "five amigo" wise guys, the skua bird gang, etc. There just wasn't much depth anywhere in the character department.

Very little genuine humor. A lot of what was supposed to be humor seemed forced, Disney Style. I was entertained throughout the movie, but I only really laughed two or three times.

And, one big helping of subliminal vulgarity. I read it elsewhere and so out of curiosity I freeze framed through the sequence where Gloria and Happy Feet emerge from their first swim and tumble through the snow, and yes it lookes like they went through the catalogue of sexual positions. That was crass, but then this movie is rated PG for a reason. I mean, what parent would think that a fuzzy little cute baby penguin on all the artwork would mean that they should allow their young children see it? Who would get that idea anyway?

So, a solid three stars for a movie that pretends to be for the little ones but richly deserves a PG rating and perhaps PG-13. Now, my happy keys gotta stop clickin'. Tippity tippity tap tap click!
0Comment| 62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2007
I loved the movie, it had me swaying to the music and singing right from the beginning. I loved the characters.. I chose to get it in full screen version due to I'm not a big fan of the wide screen version.. I loved the movie from beginning to end.. I watched it along with my parents and they're a tough bunch when it comes to movies, But my mother loved it especially, I think she must have laughed and kept a smile through the whole movie.. My fathter, whose an even tougher critic to watch movies with enjoyed it also.. I even him him laughing a few times and saw him smile, so all and all, it was worth the buy.. Thanks amazon!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2007
First of all, this is simply a great movie. The narrative is brought to life with humor, action, important life lessons, and conservational commentary. The voice actors all give 5-star performances and the animation is incredible.

But, this being the Blu-ray disc, I'm going to focus on the picture and sound.

The animation by itself is simply breath-taking; easily one of, if not the best looking CGI feature to date. But in HD, it's brought to life even further. Every feather on the penguins is apparent, every flake of snow falling through the air and I'd almost go so far as to say every molecule of water! This is the best looking animated feature you can get on Blu-ray now. It's definitely the show-off piece when people ask "How much better does HD look?". The leopard seal was particularly mind-blowing to me.

Another hook is the sound. While I wouldn't say this is the best sounding movie on Blu-ray, it definitely puts sound to good use and ranks pretty high. All five channels are used when appropriate, but Happy Feet does not utilize them as much as other films. Still, crank up the sound and the action scenes will blow you away.

All in all, this is an excellent movie made even better on Blu-ray. At this time, this is the Blu-ray disc to own for giving people lessons about HD.
11 comment| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2016
What a light hearted and fun film, my kids love it!
Happy Feet is a 2006 Australian-American computer-animated musical fantasy film directed, produced, and co-written by George Miller. It stars Elijah Wood, Robin Williams, Brittany Murphy, Hugh Jackman, Nicole Kidman, Hugo Weaving, and E.G. Daily. It was produced at Sydney-based visual effects and animation studio Animal Logic for Warner Bros., Village Roadshow Pictures, and Kingdom Feature Productions and was released in North American theaters on November 17, 2006. It is the first animated film produced by Kennedy Miller in association with Animal Logic.

Though primarily an animated film, the film does incorporate motion capture of live action humans in certain scenes. The film was simultaneously released in both conventional theatres and in IMAX 2D format.[3] The studio had hinted that a future IMAX 3D release was a possibility. However, Warner Bros., the film’s production company, was on too tight a budget to release Happy Feet in IMAX digital 3D.[4]

Happy Feet won the BAFTA Award for Best Animated Film and the first Academy Award for Best Animated Feature for Warner Bros.,[5] and was nominated for the Annie Award for Best Animated Feature and the Saturn Award for Best Animated Film.

The film was dedicated in memory of Nick Enright, Michael Jonson, Robby McNeilly Green, and Steve Irwin.

A sequel, Happy Feet Two, was released into theaters November 18, 2011 and received mixed reviews.

Contents

1 Plot
2 Cast
3 Production
3.1 Development
3.2 Music
4 Reception
4.1 Box office
4.2 Critical reception
4.3 Analysis
4.4 Home media
5 Accolades
5.1 Top ten lists
6 Video games
7 Legacy
7.1 Sequels
7.2 4-D attraction
8 See also
9 References
10 External links

Plot

Every emperor penguin sings a unique song called a "heartsong" to attract a mate. If the male penguin's heartsong matches the female's song, the two penguins mate. Norma Jean, a female penguin, falls for Memphis, a male penguin and they become mates. They lay an egg, which is left in Memphis' care, while Norma Jean leaves with the other females to fish. While the males struggle through the harsh winter, Memphis briefly drops the egg. The resulting chick, Mumble, is unable to sing but can tap dance. Nevertheless, he is enamored with Gloria, a female penguin who is regarded as the most talented of her age. One day, Mumble encounters a group of hostile skua, with a leader who is tagged with a yellow band, which he says is from an alien abduction. Mumble narrowly escapes the hungry birds by falling into a crevice.

Years later, an adult Mumble is ridiculed by the elders. After being isolated during the graduates' song, he is attacked by a leopard seal. After escaping, he befriends a group of Adelie penguins called "the Amigos", who embrace Mumble's dance moves and assimilate him into their group. After seeing a hidden human excavator in an avalanche, they opt to ask Lovelace, a rockhopper penguin, about its origin. Lovelace has the plastic rings of a six pack entangled around his neck, which he claims to have been bestowed upon him by mystic beings.

For the emperor penguins, it is mating season and Gloria is the center of attention. Ramón, one of the Amigos, attempts to help Mumble win her affection by singing a Spanish version of "My Way", with Mumble lip syncing, but the plan fails. In desperation, Mumble begins tap dancing in synch with her song. She falls for him and the youthful penguins join in for singing and dancing to "Boogie Wonderland". The elders are appalled by Mumble's conduct, which they see as the reason for their lean fishing season. Memphis begs Mumble to stop dancing, for his own sake, but when Mumble refuses, he is exiled.

Mumble and the Amigos return to Lovelace, only to find him being choked by the plastic rings. Lovelace confesses they were snagged on him while swimming off the forbidden shores, beyond the land of the elephant seals. Not long into their journey, they are met by Gloria, who wishes to join with Mumble as his mate. Fearing for her safety, he ridicules Gloria, driving her away.

At the forbidden shore, the group finds a fishing boat. Mumble pursues it solo to the brink of exhaustion. He is eventually washed up on the shore of Australia, where he is rescued and kept at Marine World with Magellanic penguins. After a long and secluded confinement in addition to fruitlessly trying to communicate with the humans, he nearly succumbs to madness. When a girl attempts to interact with Mumble by tapping the glass, he starts dancing, which attracts a large crowd. He is released back into the wild, with a tracking device attached to his back. He returns to his colony and challenges the will of the elders. Memphis reconciles with him, just as a research team arrives, proving the claims of the existence of "aliens" to be true. The whole of the colony, even Noah the leader of the elders, engages in dance.

The research team returns their expedition footage, prompting a worldwide debate. The governments realize they are overfishing, leading to the banning of all Antarctic fishing. At this, the emperor penguins and the Amigos celebrate.
Cast
Elijah Wood, Robin Williams, Brittany Murphy and Nicole Kidman at the film's European premiere in London, UK.

Elijah Wood as Mumble
E.G. Daily as baby Mumble
Robin Williams as Ramón, Cletus, Lovelace, and the narrator
Brittany Murphy as Gloria
Alyssa Shafer as baby Gloria
Hugh Jackman as Memphis
Nicole Kidman as Norma Jean
Hugo Weaving as Noah the Elder
Fat Joe as Seymour
Cesar Flores as baby Seymour
Anthony LaPaglia as Skua Boss
Magda Szubanski as Miss Viola
Miriam Margoyles as Mrs. Astrakhan
Steve Irwin as Trev
Carlos Alazraqui as Nestor
Lombardo Boyar as Raul
Jeffrey Garcia as Rinaldo
Johnny Sanchez as Lombardo
Roger Rose as Leopard Seal

Production
Development

George Miller cites as an initial inspiration for the film an encounter with a grizzled old cameraman, whose father was Frank Hurley of the Shackleton expeditions, during the shooting of Mad Max 2: "We were sitting in this bar, having a milkshake, and he looked across at me and said, ‘Antarctica.’ He’d shot a documentary there. He said, ‘You’ve got to make a film in Antarctica. It’s just like out here, in the wasteland. It’s spectacular.’ And that always stuck in my head.”[6]

Happy Feet was also partially inspired by earlier documentaries such as the BBC's Life in the Freezer.[7] In 2001, during an otherwise non-sequitur meeting, Doug Mitchell impulsively presented Warner Bros., studio president Alan Horn with an early rough draft of the film's screenplay, and asked them to read it while he and Miller flew back to Australia. By the time they'd landed, Warner had decided to provide funding on the film. Production was slated to begin sometime after the completion of the fourth Mad Max film, Fury Road, but geo-political complications pushed Happy Feet to the forefront in early 2003.

An earlier cut of the film seems to have included a large subplot regarding aliens in the extraterrestrial sense, whose presence was made gradually more and more known throughout, and who were planning to siphon off the planet's resources gradually, placing the humans in the same light as the penguins. At the end, through the plight of the main character, their hand is stayed and, instead, first contact is made. This was chopped out during the last year of production, and has yet to see the light of day in a finished form, although concept art from these sequences were showcased at the Siggraph 2007 demonstration,[8] and are available online, as well.

The animation is invested heavily in motion capture technology, with the dance scenes acted out by human dancers. The tap-dancing for Mumble in particular was provided by Savion Glover who was also co-choreographer for the dance sequences.[9] The dancers went through "Penguin School" to learn how to move like a penguin, and also wore head apparatus to mimic a penguin's beak.[10]

Happy Feet needed an enormous group of computers, and Animal Logic worked with IBM to build a server farm with sufficient processing potential. The film took four years to make. Ben Gunsberger, Lighting Supervisor and VFX Department Supervisor, says this was partly because they needed to build new infrastructure and tools. The server farm used IBM BladeCenter framework and BladeCenter HS20 blade servers, which are extremely dense separate computer units each with two Intel Xeon processors. Rendering took up 17 million CPU hours over a nine-month period.[11]

According to Miller, the environmental message was not a major part of the original script, but "In Australia, we're very, very aware of the ozone hole," he said, "and Antarctica is literally the canary in the coal mine for this stuff. So it sort of had to go in that direction." This influence led to a film with a more environmental tone. Miller said, "You can't tell a story about Antarctica and the penguins without giving that dimension."[12]
Music
Main articles: Happy Feet (soundtrack) and Happy Feet (score)

Happy Feet is a jukebox musical, taking previously recorded songs and working them into the film's soundtrack to fit with the mood of the scene or character. Two soundtrack albums were released for the film; one containing songs from and inspired by the film, and another featuring John Powell's instrumental score. They were released on October 31, 2006 and December 19, 2006, respectively.
Reception
Box office

The film opened at #1 in the United States on its first weekend of release (November 17-19) grossing $41.6 million and beating Casino Royale for the top spot.[13] It remained #1 for the Thanksgiving weekend, making $51.6 million over the five-day period. In total, the film was the top grosser for three weeks, a 2006 box office feat matched only by Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest. As of June 8, 2008, Happy Feet has grossed $198.0 million in the U.S. and $186.3 million overseas, making about $384.3 million worldwide. Happy Feet was the third highest grossing animated film in the U.S., behind Cars and Ice Age: The Meltdown. The film has been released in about 35 international territories at the close of 2006.[14][15][16]

The production budget was $100 million.[2]
Critical reception

Happy Feet received generally positive reviews from critics. On review aggregator site Rotten Tomatoes, the film has a 75% "Certified Fresh" score based on 161 reviews, with an average rating of 6.9/10. The site's consensus was "Visually dazzling, with a thoughtful storyline and catchy musical numbers, Happy Feet marks a successful animated debut from the makers of Babe."[17] Metacritic reports a 77 out of 100 rating, based on 30 critics, indicating "generally favorable reviews".[18]
Analysis

The film has also garnered, since its release, quite a bit of analysis and dissection from various places. Film critic Yar Habnegnal has written an essay, published in Forum on Contemporary Art and Society, that examines the themes of encroachment presented throughout the film, as well as various other subtexts and themes, such as religious hierarchy and interracial tensions.[19] And, Vadim Rizov of the Independent Film Channel sees Mumble as just the latest in a long line of cinematic religious mavericks.

On a technical or formal level, the film has also been lauded in some corners for its innovative introduction of Miller's roving style of subjective cinematography into contemporary animation, among other things.
Home media

Happy Feet was released on home media on March 27, 2007[20] in the United States in three formats; DVD (in separate widescreen and pan and scan editions), Blu-ray Disc, and an HD DVD/DVD combo pack.[21]

Among the DVD's special features is a scene that was cut from the film where Mumble meets a blue whale and an albatross. The albatross was Steve Irwin's first voice role in the film before he voiced the elephant seal in the final cut. The scene was finished and included on the DVD in Irwin's memory. This scene is done in Irwin's classic documentary style, with the albatross telling the viewer all about the other characters in the scene, and the impact people are having on their environment.
Accolades
Award Category Winner/Nominee Result
Academy Awards Best Animated Feature Won
American Film Institute Awards Honored as one of the Top Ten Best Films of the Year Won
AFI's 10 Top 10 Nominated
Annie Awards Best Animated Feature George Miller Nominated
Best Writing in an Animated Feature Production George Miller, John Collee, Judy Morris, and Warren Coleman Nominated
British Academy Children's Awards Best Feature Film Won
British Academy Film Awards Best Animated Feature Film Won
Golden Globe Awards Best Animated Feature Film Nominated
Best Original Song "Song of the Heart" by Prince Won
Golden Trailer Awards[22] Best Music Won
Grammy Awards Best Score Soundtrack Album for Motion Picture, Television or Other Visual Media John Powell Nominated
Best Song Written for Motion Picture, Television or Other Visual Media "The Song of the Heart", Prince Nominated
Kids' Choice Awards Favorite Animated Movie Won
Los Angeles Film Critics Association Awards Best Animation Won
New York Film Critics Circle Awards Best Animated Film Won
Satellite Awards Best Motion Picture, Animated or Mixed Media Nominated
Saturn Awards Best Animated Film Nominated
Top ten lists

The film appeared on numerous critics' top ten lists of the best films of 2006, including AFI's Annual list, which is listed above.[23][24] AFI's jury said:

"HAPPY FEET is a one-of-a-kind motion picture experience. George Miller continues to paint outside the lines of traditional filmmaking, and his genius expands upon the animated art form to illuminate a world where penguins embrace dance and differences to survive and thrive. But that is just the tip of the iceberg, as the environment, religion and the chasm between generations enrich this sweet and subtle tale – one that is fun and funny, brilliant and beautiful, groundbreaking and global in its message."

1st – Jack Matthews, The New York Daily News
1st – Stan Urankar, Sun News
2nd – William Arnold, Seattle Post-Intelligencer
2nd – Mark Palermo, The Coast
3rd – Kirk Honeycutt, Hollywood Reporter
4th – Edward Douglas, ComingSoon.net
5th – Scott Foundas, Village Voice
5th – Peter Rainer, Christian Science Monitor
5th – Matthieu Santelli, Critikat (Film review, in French)
5th – Kurt Loder, MTV
5th – Missy Thompson, Tooele Transcript-Bulletin
6th – Constance Garfinkle, The Patriot Ledger
6th – Carole Wrona, Critikat (Top 10 lists for 2006 films, in French)
6th – Lou Lumenick, New York Post
6th – Kyle Smith, New York Post
6th – Michael Wilmington, Chicago Tribune
6th – Keith Cohen, Sun Newspapers
8th – Rene Rodriguez, Miami Herald
9th – Schlomo Schwartzberg, Boxoffice Magazine

Video games
Main article: Happy Feet (video game)

A video game based on the film was developed by A2M and published by Midway Games. It has the same main cast as the film. It was released for the PC, PlayStation 2, GameCube, GBA, NDS, and Wii.[25]

Artificial Life, Inc. has also developed a mobile game for the Japan market.[26]
Legacy
Sequels
Main article: Happy Feet Two

Happy Feet Two was produced at Dr. D Studios[27] and released on November 18, 2011. Wood and Williams reprised their roles for the sequel. Murphy was set to reprise her role and begin recording sometime in 2010,[28] but died from pneumonia on December 20, 2009. Matt Damon and Brad Pitt signed on as Bill the Krill and Will the Krill respectively.[29][30]

In an interview with Collider.com, Miller mentioned the small possibility of Happy Feet Three, stating that if he came up with an idea for a third film, that he and his studio would produce it if they both agreed the idea was better than the first two. As of now, however, he has yet to mention if he has any ideas for a third film since the interview.[31]
4-D attraction

Happy Feet 4-D Experience is a 12-minute 4D film shown at various 4D theaters over the world. It retells the condensed story of Happy Feet with the help of 3D projection and sensory effects, including moving seats, wind, mist and scents. Produced by SimEx-Iwerks, the 4D experience premiered in March 2010 at the Drayton Manor Theme Park.[32] Other locations included Sea World (2010–2011),[33] Shedd Aquarium (2010–2012),[34] Moody Gardens (2010–2011),[35] Nickelodeon Suites Resort,[36] and Adventure Aquarium.[37]
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 27, 2006
'Happy Feet' is an animated feature that has some dizzying animation effects. Sitting there in the theatre, I thought at times that I was watching an I-Max feature. (And at times I was glad I wasn't, which leads me to believe that the cries of one young theatre-goer, indicate it may be too intense for younger viewers.) For the rest of us over seven, there is a good, although familiar, story of the misfit penguin. "Mumble" (played with proper insecurity by the voice of the Hobbit, Elijah Wood) does what comes naturally. Having some latent pre-hatched anomolies, he comes out ready to dance rather than sing. It alienates him from his community and his love interest, Gloria (played with sexy voice by Brittany Murphy). His loner pursuit gets him in another fold. (In this case they're alien penguins with Spanish accents.) The elders disaprove of the alien assimilation, reasoning that too many mouths to feed will stretch community resources too thin. (Sound familiar?) The development is often episodic with harrowing enemies--like a sea lion--and songs that burst out at the drop of an iceburg. (Just like other musicals, characters burst out in song for the weather--or, in this case Northern Lights, and falling in love--or, again, mating season.) The bursts of songs are decent to splendid. (This film is worth every penny for watching the penguins dive into arctic waters from great heights while the full stereo spendour of the Beach Boys' "Do It Again" pipes through the digital sound.)

The main plot has a point and a destination. Mumble meets into Lovelace (Robin Williams) who is the penguin guru. (Much of the movie makes political points, for he wears an involuntary necklace made from a plastic six-pack ring.) He is short on advice, but Mumble has the messianic touch to go solo on a trek to discover the aliens (man) and solve the mystery of the disappearing food supply. "Happy Feet" Mumble tries to bridge that gap and bring home the bacon (or in this case, sardines). While I either respect or agree with the viewpoints of the film, I sometimes think it would be more effective if they "chilled out" a little bit. Besides that, 'Happy Feet' is an irresistible animated musical drama/comedy. (Robin Williams does three voices, including Mumble's main homie, Ramon, which sounds like Williams' comedy portrayal of Ricardo Maltoban.)
66 comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2012
This film failed to grab my attention. Impressive visuals can't hide the fact that this movie is terrible. The plot is mediocre (singing penguins discriminate a dancing penguin, LAME.) No memorable characters. The adult penguins are ugly,especially in HD, they could have at least made them "cute". The main character (dancing penguin)lacks charisma. The voice acting is bland and uninspiring, it's as if the actors are reading from the script instead of acting it out. Any Disney animated film would put these voice actors to shame. And it would've been nice if the penguins performed songs made specifically for the film ala Disney, but it seems like the Happy Feet songs are borrowed from the radio. I hate to be comparing this to Disney. But Disney is the gold standard by which all others are measured by.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2013
Not at all impressed. I had to turn this off because it was very inappropriate for my children to watch. The last thing a three year old and five year old need to learn is the song "I want to sex you up," a modified version of which is in the opening number. I am horrified that this was in a movie made for kids.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2015
Why would anyone let a small child watch this movie? Filled with not-so-subtle sexual innuendo and scary scenes. Highly recommend you watch some clips, particularly the the songs, prior to allowing your child to watch this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2013
This film is an indoctrination piece disguised as a children's film. The purpose of this film is to help usher children into our broken, sex soaked, culture of rebellious acceptance. If, as a parent, you do not want your child to be fit into this mold, please avoid this film and others like it unless you are prepared to dissect it and carefully walk your child through the deep despair that this film disguises as happiness.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2016
The lady penguins have hourglass figures and buxom chests. WTF. This should have been enough of a clue, but I kept watching.... The female characters include 1) Sexy penguin mother, 2) Alluring love interest 3) Harem of sex slave penguins.

The mothers leave to go find fish and instead of making that any part of the story, they focus on the glory and toughness of the men keeping the eggs warm.

The love interest penguin attempts to come on the adventure and gets the cartoon equivalent of "this adventure is no place for a lady. Get back in the kitchen."

Gross.

The music is good. And the animation is good. But I wouldn't recommend this crap of a movie to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse