Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Harlem's Little Blackbird: The Story of Florence Mills
Your Garage Fall Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc  Every Time I Die Starting at $39.99 Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Halloween Tailgate-Garden Amazon Football TV Wall Mounting Dressmaker Dressmaker Dressmaker  All-New Echo Dot Introducing new colors All-New Kindle for Kids Edition ErrollGarner Shop Now STEM

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
11
5 star
73%
4 star
27%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$12.46+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 24, 2013
This book is about my Great Aunt and I completely enjoyed it. It is easy to read and understand it was enjoyed by my granddaughter as well.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2012
Renee Watson and Christian Robinson bring Florence Mills to life, pairing mixed media with prose. From her childhood in Washington, DC and New York City, Florence takes the stage from Harlem to London and back again, becoming known as Harlem's Little Blackbird for her sweet singing voice. Children ages 5-8 will be drawn to the mixed media images, as well as this singer's artistic life.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2014
This was a cute kids book, if you needs to get a little history lesson about Florence Mills. Didn't know anything about Florence prior to reading the book. Good book for elementary kids for a quick reference.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2013
"A beautifully illustrated children's book about Florence Mills and her choice to stay in Harlem and sing. We read it to ourselves, to our grandchildren and highly recommended it to our customers and television viewers."
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2013
One of my favorite to read my little one, I think she will only appreciate it more in the coming years not less
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2014
This book is darling! While the story is just fine (it ends rather abruptly with a death of the Little Blackbird), the illustrations are spectacular. Great for a little girl.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2016
An excellent book about African-American performer Florence Mills. Both children and adults will appreciate the powerful story and beautiful illustrations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2014
But clearly a brave woman. Great story and illustrations. I think it would make a good addition to a text set about the Harlem Renaissance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2015
I love the illustrations in this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2014
Great book and history lesson.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse