Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Harm None: A Rowan Gant Investigation Mass Market Paperback – May 31, 2000

4.4 out of 5 stars 108 customer reviews

See all 10 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Mass Market Paperback
"Please retry"
$4.95 $0.01

The Numberlys Best Books of the Year So Far
click to open popover

Editorial Reviews

Review

"...Sellars is a wonderful surprise all around." -- The Wiccan - Pagan Times

"Fans of Hamilton and Lackey will want to religiously follow the exploits of Mr. Rowan Gant." -- Harriet Klausner, Under The Covers Book Reviews

"Fans of Mercedes Lackey's defunct Diana Tregarde Mysteries rejoice— a new witch is in town!" -- Melanie C. Duncan, The BookDragon Review

"I was caught between wanting to skip ahead to see what was going to happen, and wanting to savor every passage-- not wanting to miss anything!" -- Kelly von Plonski, Subterranean Books

"Sellars has written a creepy, sinister suspense tale. There is an energy to his storytelling as he builds the suspense. His cast of characters are appealing, complex, some would say eccentric..." -- Lane Wright, About.com Mystery Book Reviews

“HARM NONE is a gripping, carefully plotted mystery that will keep pages turning right to the end.” -- P.J. Nunn, Senior Mystery Reviewer, Charlotte Austin Review

“HARM NONE is a superbly suspenseful thriller... highly recommended.” -- Midwest Book Review

“HARM NONE, is one of the most remarkable books I've read this year. I bow to M.R. Sellars' superior story telling ability!” -- Elizabeth Henze, Murder on the Internet Express

“This book is a page eater. Once you start, you find yourself pushing to the end and rooting for the pagans.” -- Honnha Newberry, Mystic Journeys

From the Inside Flap

Just Imagine... It's 2:17 AM.

You've only slept 4 hours out of the past 48. You have a blinding headache that would make a migraine seem like a pleasant distraction. On top of that, the handful of aspirin you took for it 30 minutes ago is making your stomach churn in a very unpleasant way.

Now, just imagine that even with all of that making your life a living hell, it doesn't end there. Instead of being at home where you can suffer in private, you are on the opposite side of town, standing smack dab in the middle of a disgustingly brutal crime scene--the third in as many days.

Cops and evidence techs are watching with jaded expressions as you literally channel the final moments of the murder victim's life through your own mind and body, right before their eyes.

The horror... The fear... The pain...

You see and feel it all, as if your own isn't already enough...

And, by the way, even though the cops asked you to be here, most of them think you belong in an institution, specifically one that is outfitted with padded walls.

Yeah, I know... It sounds like some kind of nightmare, doesn't it? Well, welcome to my world. Be glad you aren't me because this curse that is my life doesn't stop at being a nightmare.

No. It is all too real...

My name is Rowan Gant, and I'm the unofficial Witch for the Greater Saint Louis Major Case Squad.

I'd quit the job, but the dead won't let me...
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

The latest book club pick from Oprah
"The Underground Railroad" by Colson Whitehead is a magnificent novel chronicling a young slave's adventures as she makes a desperate bid for freedom in the antebellum South. See more

Product Details

  • Series: Rowan Gant Investigations (Book 1)
  • Mass Market Paperback: 380 pages
  • Publisher: Willowtree Press (May 31, 2000)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0967822106
  • ISBN-13: 978-0967822105
  • Product Dimensions: 6.7 x 4.3 x 0.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 10.7 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (108 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,343,028 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
I came looking for a good urban fantasy that got its facts right and found it.
M.R. Sellars does not fall prey to the common failing of so many urban fantasy writers who seem determined to make their main characters into pagan supermen saving the world from all evils (while usually mangling the precepts of the religion and everything else).
The characters are believable (not just the pagan, but I loved the Native American policeman, who was very well done. Being native I notice when I have run into so many books that botch that one). The facts (pagan and police) are correct. The plot is well thought out. The action keeps you turning pages.
I am very impressed with this author and am recommending him to my friends, some of whom are pagan. That's how accurate I feel his portrayal is. This is a book my friends can read without cringing.
Comment 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Well, I have a confession to make. Prior to reading this book, I didn't really believe in miracles. Truthfully. Now, however, I find myself a believer. Truthfully.
M.R. Sellars has indeed created a miracle in his first novel, "Harm None - A Rowan Gant Investigation". Writing a first-class thriller without resorting to cliche and folly is in itself a master accomplishment. But to do so whilst portraying a frequently misunderstood religion successfully (and without pretense), is simply miraculous. On this fine journey, Sellars takes us into the life of Rowan Gant, a practising Witch. A likeable fellow, Rowan becomes involved, via his close friend Ben Storm, in what appears to be a cult murder. What ensues is a story of magick, mystery and human nature. The tale spins you around like a whirlwind, picks you up and throws you onto a rollercoaster ride like no other. The characters are realistic, the technical content is simply incredible, and the ending will indeed surprise and delight you. This book will also scare the pants off you. It did me...and I'm not easily scared!
You must buy this book. As a supernatural thriller, "Harm None" deserves 5 stars. As a cross-genre first novel, "Harm None" is a miracle.
Comment 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By A Customer on January 21, 2001
Format: Mass Market Paperback
This was a truly enjoyable and suspenseful novel. I'm eagerly awaiting Rowan Gant's next case, having devoured this one in one afternoon. Once I started, I just could not put it down.
I really appreciated the positive view of Wicca; this book ranks right up there with Rosemary Edghill's Bast mysteries. One caveat to the nonpagan reader: while the religious details were pretty accurate, keep in mind that this is a work of fiction -- don't assume that all Wiccans possess Rowan's awesome psychic abilities (to Mr. Sellars' credit, he does point out that they took quite a bit of work to develop).
The one and only complaint I have about this book is the frequency of distracting typos breaking up the flow of the writing. For example, "it's" is used as a possessive, and "your" and "you're" are often mixed up. I'd bet this says much more about budget cuts in the publishing industry than it does about the author! Publishers: how about some human proofreaders instead of computer software that can't distinguish context?
1 Comment 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Harm None: A Rowan Gant Investigations M.R. Sellars WillowTree Press ISBN 0967822106 June2000
This is the debut of M.R. Sellars "Rowan Gant Investigations series.
Rowan Gant is contacted by a good friend Detective Ben Storm to answer questions about his religion, which is Wicca, and to give his alibi for the time of the murder. Rowan explains to his friend that even though he is a witch in "The Craft" their code is to harm none, and they do not sacrifice animals or people. When Ben shows Rowan pictures of the crime scene, Rowan realizes he knows the victim. The victim, Ariel, was a student in the craft. Rowan and Ben set out to solve the murder. While they are working the case, other murders happen and they are even worse than the first. This book kept me in suspense to the very end, the author's description of the murders was so real I thought that I might be sick, and I loved it. That's what I look for in a good thriller. Harm None was so good I can't wait for his next book "Never Burn A Witch"; I hope that the author will allow me to review it also.
M.R.Sellars is the recipient of the "Linda White Literary Excellence" and the "Silver Quill Awards for short stories upon which the "Rowan Gant Investigations" are based on.
Pam Stone
Comment 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback
What a breath of fresh air in the world of fiction: a well-written story that comes at an area from a slightly different angle.

Having said that, I won't try to claim that other authors haven't done variations on the theme (Jim Butcher, PN Elrod and Laurell Hamilton are 3 -recent- names that come to mind) but it's different in that it's set in what appears to be the world of now and witches are actually set in a good light. I'm certain that the fundamentalist religion über-wing in the nation haven't yet seen this or they'd be protesting it much like they do Harry Potter.

I've read all of the books out as of 03/03 and will cram an overall basic review into this area for brevity and conciseness. The books are good. M.R. Sellars has done his research and the police background work has been thought out appropriately. My only "bone" to pick is that St Louis has 2 serial killers inside of a year. I lived within 2½ hours of St Louis for awhile and, while I'm firmly convinced that not all serial killers are known, much less acknowledged, I can't see 2 of them hitting that close together. St Louis just isn't that developed. No wounding from people in St Louis ok? But that's one of the things I put onto books, as with movies, and that's "suspension of disbelief"...to a certain amount.

There's a few incongruities that are casting questions in my mind about Rowan, and I'm hoping that Mr Sellars will deal with them in the next book maybe, but they're nothing to detract from the overall enjoyment, and I certainly won't bust open any plots in the 2nd or 3rd books for anyone who hasn't read them.

Overall, a good read and traipsing through someone's imaginings. And it doesn't hurt that it gives an oft-thought ill of area of society a good viewpoint. Give it a read, drink some coffee and keep the music to a good level.
Comment 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Pages with Related Products. See and discover other items: suspense thrillers, mystery audio books