Lyft Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon victoriaS2 victoriaS2 victoriaS2  Three new members of the Echo family Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Paperwhite Game of Thrones: The Complete Seasons 1-7 now available on Blu-ray and DVD Shop now TG18_gno



on November 28, 2012
I own both Harry Potter Film Wizardry and Harry Potter Film Wizardry (Revised and Expanded) and they are almost identical.

The only differences are:
1)The 1/3-page paper belt which wrap the book cover
2)In the 2010 version, the last 2 pages are "sneak peak" of the final movie. These 2 pages are gone in the 2012 version and the photos from these 2 pages are nowhere to be found in the Revised and Expanded version. In the Revised and Expanded version, we get 6 pages of new materials from the final movie: the return to Gringotts, the Battle of Hogwarts, the Deathly Hallows, and the Tales of Three Brothers.
3)An additional material: a pocket/envelope, which contains a booklet Film Photo Diary, embedded on the inner side of the back cover. Nothing spectacular about this additional material: just a few photos from each of the movies (and only 1 page is dedicated to each movie).

For those who missed out on the 2010 version, go ahead and purchase this. It is as good as the 2010 version.
For those who already own the 2010 version, you may want to think twice before purchasing this.
88 comments| 174 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
Love this album!!! Essential to every Harry Potter collection. This book is a treasure chest of information, images and keepsakes from the Harry Potter universe. I only wish it contained the Wanted Posters for Sirius Black, Bellatrix Lestrange and Harry Potter.

Extras

No. 4 Privet Drive
- Hogwarts Acceptance letter

Diagon Alley - Under Construction
- Borgon and Burkes store catalog

The Sorting Hat and The Hogwarts Houses: Slytherin
- Advanced Potion Making

The Village of Hogsmeade
- Honeydukes Confectionary boxes

The Quidditch World Cup
- 422nd Quidditch World Cup Pogramme

The Yule Ball
- Yule Ball

Imelda Stanton as Dolores Umbridge
- Proclamation Decrees: No. 29, No. 30, No. 83, No. 98

Confidential Graphics: Production Designer's Notebook
- The Marauder's Map

Weasleys' Wizard Wheezes
- Weasleys' Wizard Wheezes Product Catalogue

The Ministry of Magic
- Ministry of Magic Identify Card, Mafalda Hopkirk

Inside Back Cover
- Film Wizardry Photo Album
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 14, 2017
bought this more expensive, new, hardcover as a long lasting gift last year. Just noticed the backing is completely off and falling apart. Sat on a bookshelf in a cool, dark room, no misuse. Paged through about a dozen times. Fulfilled by Amazon, maybe it was a defect or sat in uber hot warehouse? Could have bought same quality for $2-5 used. Waste of money and a disappointment for the recipient. Look over VERY carefully after receiving!
review imagereview image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 19, 2016
This is the 2nd copy of this book that I purchased. My kids are huge Harry Potter fans and they enjoyed looking through all the details in this book. I am buying a second copy as a gift
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
I actually purchased Harry Potter Page to Screen: The Complete Filmmaking Journey before deciding to purchase this as well. The reason was that I did not realize this title was published (for some reason it slipped my HP radar), and it was only after I had perused the delights of page to screen that I realized this title was available as well. Initially, I wasn't sure how this would compare to Page to Screen since that is quite a hefty volume devoted to almost every conceivable detail regarding the HP movie franchise. The deciding factor for me was the fact that Film Wizardry also contained many inserts, pull-out books, pamphlets etc. that make for an interactive and engaging reading experience.

I'd say both books are complementary. While Page to Screen provides more details on the movie-making process and covers just about everything (I say just about as there are some things not covered), Film Wizardry provides more of an overview with many fun elements thrown in for devoted fans such as the various foldouts and inserts. For example, in HP Film Wizardry, readers will get a chance to peruse a copy of the Marauder's Map, Harry's acceptance letter to Hogwarts, a catalogue from Borgin and Burke's, stickers in the Advanced Potion-Making pamphlet, two boxes of treats (sans the treats) from Honeydukes of Hogsmeade (you can tear them out and fold them into actual treat boxes, not that I would!), a Quidditch World Cup Programme, a copy of the Yule Ball Programme, Educational Decree No. 29, a product catalogue of Weasley's Wizard Wheezes, and a Ministry of Magic ID card. Such goodies are not to be found in Page to Screen, so I'd definitely recommend getting both books.

Since I've had both books, I've been reading both in tandem, and comparing notes. It is such a wonderful, rewarding experience to read all the details that went into making the HP movies. After visiting the Wizarding World of Harry Potter last fall (I'd recommend that experience for all Potter fans, at least once), I've been missing that wonderful experience, but these two books certainly make up for it as I can relive the world of the HP movies anytime I feel like it!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 23, 2014
This book is really great. The detail of the props and the sets that Stuart Craig and all the crew that they worked on are amazing. I was especially loved the yule ball invitation, such detail that went into it. The potions book the proclamation signs, and Weasleys Wizard Wheezes catalogue are just unbelievable. I could go on and on about the other props but won't. The pictures of the wonderful out of this world sets Stuart Craig & staff created are beautiful. I could write a book about this book cause it's so great.
As a Harry Potter collector this book is one of the best.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 15, 2010
Yule Ball Programs. Hogwarts Acceptance Letters. Potion Labels. Educational Degrees. The Marauder's Map.

These are some of the things you get in this book, that is almost an encyclopedia about the movies. The book cover itself is embossed with pictures of some characters in the Harry Potter franchise. The first page makes it look like a Hogwarts student's book with a place for you to write your name, class and year. Probably enjoyable to younger readers.

The book is filled with high quality photos of the cast, props, movie stills and other behind the scenes pictures. There are four introductions, one each by the three main cast members- Daniel Radcliffe, Emma Watson and Rupert Grint, and one by the produce, David Heyman.

The book is divided up by movies. Each section starts with a callsheet of the movie and if you look closely, you might be able to recognize what scene it is for. Whether these are real or fake, it still is a nice addition. Accompanying the callsheet is a note from the production designer, Stuart Craig's notebook, and the producer, Heyman's diary.

With some pages that fold out and all the novelty prop replicas like the Marauder's Map, Educational Degrees, etc. it makes the book an interesting read. Don't be intimidated by the amount of text. It's written with simplicity and if you really like Harry Potter, you would be able to read through the text while enjoying the large pictures.

The amount of information contained in this book is immense, and it will most likely take some time to really go through every detail of this book and to become a Harry Potter film geek.

I would recommend this book to any Harry Potter fan, as it is extremely informing and fun to read. And it has some novelty to it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 22, 2014
The inserts in this book alone are 100% worth the price. It comes with an acceptance letter to hogwarts, a pamphlet for Borgin and Burkes goods, potion stickers in the Advanced Potion Making pamphlet, buildable Black Pepper Imps and Sugared Butterfly Wings boxes, Quidditch World Cup pamphlet, Yule Ball invitation, Proclamation Educational Decree 29, 30, 82, and 98 papers/posters, A MARAUDER'S MAP, Weasley's Wizard Wheezes pamphlet, Ministry of Magic Identity Card for Mafalda Hopkirk, and the Film Wizardry Photo Album. Not to mention the book is packed full of photos, interviews, quotes, and other things from the movies.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 3, 2013
I saw one commenter mention that it wasn't a great guide for film-makers, and that is true. It doesn't give a ton of detail on each thing, but if you want it just because you like Harry Potter, then it is perfect. It provides sketches of scenes and costumes, photos, cast and crew interviews, etc. It's similar to stuff that you might find on a bonus DVD, but in paper form. (it's got a lot of extra's tucked into it, like stickers and photo books. It's not all on the pages.)

Is it an in-depth look at the film that focuses on details of every aspect? No, not at all. It's made for kids to be able to enjoy and learn from. If you want to study the film, you'll have to look elsewhere (although it might be a decent jumping-off point.) But as just a fun glimpse into the world, it's great.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 10, 2017
The book was as described but the hard cover has an indentation. I am not sure if the book was used or new, my daughter was disappointed with the condition of the cover
review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse