Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Have Gun Will Travel: The Sixth and Final Season, Vol. 1
Your Garage Editors' Picks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis DollyParton Shop Now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
66
Price:$7.63+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 28, 2013
While I am glad to see Have Gun-Will Travel FINALLY completed on professional DVD release; I have to point out the crowning injustice of this set......

Of course, the '2-volume-split' format is a blatant profit-gouge...

BUT, to make matters all the worse; HGWT SEASON SIX IS THE SERIES` SHORTEST (by 6 episodes) SEASON !

I could also point out that behind-the-scenes, Richard Boone had already decided to end the series before season 6 began filming, and thus the episode count was cut to the minimum and the scripts for the latter part of the season were previously-rejected (or to be kind; put on the 'back-burner') stories which were finally used to avoid paying for still more material (as these had already been paid for)....
Thus you get such weak tales as 'Lady Of The Fifth Moon', 'Two Plus One' etc....

Oh, there are highlights; the dramatics of 'The Fifth Bullet' (with Ben Johnson in great character), 'A Place For Abel Hix' (Paladin out for a Reckoning)... 'Trial At Tablerock ' (2nd best of the 'courtroom' episodes) and of course, 'GENESIS' There are even some fun comedic efforts; "Taylor`s Woman' ( Be careful what you wish for) and 'Bob Wire' (Woodrow Parfrey steals the show)...

But there are sooo many dreary and dark disappointments, such as 'Penelope' and 'The Walking Years'......and (sadly to say) more.....

Fans want the series complete, and will pay of course, but as Paladin might ask ;
"Yes, they have the Right to charge their exorbitant price...But is it MORAL?"
This shorter final season could ( and should) have been a single release.
33 comments| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2013
The first episode of the season is an extremely interesting and unusual bit of television. It simultaniously provides both the beginning and the possible ending of the title character. Richard Boone plays two parts which are essentially his younger and older self confronting each other. Its well written and quite original.

The Paladin character is a former west point officer and civil war veteran. He is from an important family but falls into disgrace and is eventually paid by his family not to go home. To stay away. He falls into a life of dueling, gambling and mercenary work. The episode shows the character hitting rock bottom in his youth, confronting his mistakes years later and possibly reaching a sort of redemption late in life. Whats so good about
the episode is that explains the character in an allegorical way rather than a literal one. The answers it offers are meaningful answers rather than trivia.

William Conrad both directs and plays a role in the episode.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2013
I highly recommend volume one of season six (the final season) of Have Gun Will Travel (HGWT. What makes this season set so desirable that among it's great video library of stories are five top notch episodes:

Genesis
Memories of Monica
The Predators
Marshal of Sweetwater
A Place For Abel Hix

I would like to comment on a one of these episodes.

"Genesis" tells us the story of the origin of Paladin. The story begins with an intruder that breaks into Paladin's apartment to commit theft or to kill Paladin (it's been a long time since I've seen the episode) to pay off a huge gambling debt. Paladin stops the burglar and asks the burglar why he tried to steal from/kill him. He explains to Paladin that he has accrued a huge gambling debt...which reminds Paladin of a time long ago when he owed a huge gambling debt to Norge (played by William Conrad). Thus begins the meat of the episode...the flashback starts BEFORE Richard Boone's character was known as "Paladin". The flashback starts with Norge giving Paladin a way out of his gambling debt. To do so...he must go to a settlement owned by Norge and kill a gunfighter known as "Smoke" (also played by Richard Boone). Norge can not enter the settlement because of "Smoke" who watches over the settlement to protect the people from Norge. It is from this story that we learn how "Paladin" was "born".

This is a great set...volume one...which even contains an episode starring Star Trek's Deforest Kelley in the final episode of the set, "The Treasure"...co-starring Lee Van Cleef and Dallas' Jim Davis.

I highly recommend volume one as it proves beyond a shadow of a doubt that it is with this set that Paladin and HGWT go out with a BANG.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2013
As others have noted the entire final season should have been done in one release. But adding insult to injury, the inclusion of multiple commercials at the beginning is way over the top. I'm afraid to even think what vol. 2 will be like. Haven't watched this in its entirety yet, but it's an automatic one star reduction for the 'greed factor'.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2013
Season One unveiled a unique and most interesting character and format. Paladin, the Carlton Hotel, Kam tong's 'Hey Boy'- a sophisticated gentleman hires himself out to do the difficult and dangerous and usually interesting. But with all that potential, the show never explored itself and by Season Six, there's nothing of interest. The Hotel and Kam Tong are rarely seen and Paladin turns into nothing but a saddle tramp getting into a lot of fights. They just let this series die and that's a genuine shame. Ricahrd Boone wanted more from the show and obviously never got it.
33 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2013
Even through the series was winding down and there were more sub-par shows then in the first 5 seasons the show was still very, very good. But even sub-par HGWT is better than 90% of other TV shows. The Paladin character is unique and is portrayed by the perfect actor - Richard Boone.

This the rare show that I can watch more than once without it becoming irritating. The pace and direction are perfect. The acting is nearly perfecct overall. The picture is razor sharp and the sound is acceptable.

This is one of my all-time favorite shows. I have fond memories watching this show with my mom and dad on Saturday nights. Since my dad is gone and my mom's memory is, at best, only fair now days this show means a great deal to me on a personal level.

Anyone who likes good acting, good directing and good plots (especially westerns) will like this show.

I watched a lot of these with my daughter on tape so that she would have the same memories that I do. I would rate this a very good 4.5 out of 5 stars.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2015
Have Gun Will Travel was a series before my time, but I heard about it often from my husband. He wasn't really a "western" type guy so I found it a bit intriguing to hear him go on and on about it as it was a part of his childhood. A few years ago I picked up my first volume of HGWT to see what it was all about and have added to the collection a bit at a time. My husband passed away several years ago, but I found watching this series reminded me of him explaining a whole lot. I guess he must have fancied himself a bit of the Palladin rogue. I am a true blue western fan and discovering this series gem all new to me was a real treat. So, if you remember this first hand I'm sure you'll enjoy it all over again. If it's new to you it's a great investment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2014
This is the sixth and final season of have Gun Will Travel starring Richard Boone as Paladin hero of the show.All six seasons are available on DVD as two-part volumes.
Paladin lived out of a hotel in San Francisco and took on jobs from people who were in need of his help when no one else could handle the problem.Think of him as a one man A-Team or a early version of an Equalizer.
Shot in black and white this is a great western series with a terrific theme song "The Ballad of Paladin" sung by Johnny Western.
Paladin's trade mark is a calling card with the logo of a chess piece reading "Wire Paladin,San Francisco" emblazoned on it.
A man of refinement,dapperly dressed changes into a man of mystery,an avenger dressed in black when on a mission.
Guest stars this season include:
William Conrad (Cannon)
Duane Eddy (Him of the twangy guitar fame in the late 50's early 60's)
Charles Bronson (Death Wish)
Robert Blake (Baretta)
David White (Bewitched)
James Stacy (Lancer)
Jim Davis (Dallas)
Deforest Kelley (Star Trek)
Wayne Rogers (M.A.S.H.)
Harry Morgan (M.A.S.H.)
Lon Chaney (The Wolf Man 1941 version)

Below is a list of my favourite episodes:

GENESIS
The story of how Paladin began.Richard Boone plays a duel role in this episode directed and starring William Conrad.

THE FIFTH BULLET
A man paladin broke a promise too is released from jail.

BEAU BESTE
A lawman's retirement brings out gunman looking to get even.

MEMORIES OF MONICA
When a man was in prison the sheriff marries the man's girlfriend.Now the man is out.

THE PREDATORS
Paladin goes up against a young outlaw.

MARSHAL OF SWEETWATER
A friend of Paladin's has become marshal of sweetwater. But Paladin finds him acting like a dictator.

MAN IN AN HOURGLASS
A young man is on the trail of a lawman who he believes murdered his father

CAGE AT MCNABB
Paladin is caught up in a jailbreak.

THE WALKING YEARS
Paladin and two other people are mysteriously imprisoned in a warehouse.Why?

SWEET LADY OF THE MOON
Paladin is escorting a homicidal maniac to an asylum.But things don't go exactly to plan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2013
The show ran for 225 episodes from 1957 to 1963, with Boone receiving two more Emmy nominations, in 1959 and 1960.

Miss the little factoids that were included with each episode real screw-up to stop including those.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2013
I like Westerns and Have Gun Will Travel is one of the best! I used to watch it when I was growing up. I never tire of Richard Boone and the spots he manages to get in and out of. It's Black & White but well shot with good picture detail.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse