Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating FFII_gno

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$9.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 337 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 392 reviews
on January 3, 2015
My first impression of this purchase is that it is a 21st century tribute to the TWILIGHT ZONE. The town of Haven seems to be a very depressing place, with deaths and strange occurrences happening almost on a daily basis, with not a sighting - ever - of anything good happening to the town or its residents.

The viewer is introduced to the lovely (make that gorgeous) FBI Agent Audrey Parker who has come to town to track down an escaped inmate. It turns out he is killed in his escape attempt but this is just the first in many events which take place here that have a supernatural basis. Keep watching the show and you learn many things concerning the town and its residents; even the hunky town cop that our girl Audrey is paired with is suffering from a condition that prevents him from feeling any kind of physical sensation. But just like the fabled Princess in her isolated tower, maybe he is waiting for the kiss from his one true love to set him free. I hope so, for his sake, as Miss Parker is one hot hottie!

Like the great TV shows of recent times, the cast is comprised of a zany and greatly varied set of mysterious characters, each with their own shady backgrounds that we know nothing about. Obviously as time passes we learn a little about them, but this information is given out in very small doses, not just to keep the viewer interested, but also to let the information be absorbed properly into the viewer’s conscience.

Season one highlights, for me, anyway, are right at the middle. Episode 8, “Ain’t No Sunshine” is the first really spooky episode on the show and features the “Shadow Man” who apparently is accused of killing terminally ill patients before their time is due. The dynamic duo come to the rescue of the town and catch the real killer, who was actually in control of this so-called Shadow Man in the first place.

Episode 9, entitled “As You Were” initially feels like a tribute to the Agatha Christie Classic, “And Then There Were None” but instead of a murderer in the group there is a chameleon. The surprise of the night is in determining who in the party (trapped in the deserted hotel on a dark and stormy night) is actually the shape shifter in question. I did not work it out, but I was too busy enjoying the atmosphere to concentrate on the puzzle.

I am totally in love with this show. To be honest, i was not so sure at the start of season one but with the compelling characters, and Miss Parker’s own family history in question, the spooky episodes, the charm and freedom of living right at the foot of the ocean, all mixed up with what appears to be the paranormal centre of America all makes for an extended set of viewing sessions all set to scare the pants off you.

And we get to watch the Prince being saved by his Princess, just for a change.

Four stars for this beauty. Can’t wait for season 2!!!!!

BFN Greggorio!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
An FBI agent with a reputation for somewhat reckless behavior on the job gets sent to a small town in Maine where she encounters things that are, to say the least, kinda strange. Throw in a local detective who is "troubled," a pair of cantankerous newspapermen who know a lot more than they write about, an equally cantankerous police chief, a smuggler and an odd assortment of townsfolk and you have "Haven," a quirky combination of fantasy and detective series that features some wonderfully bizarre plots, the delicious Emily Rose and enough mysteries to keep even the most jaded t.v. addict amused.
The series owes its genesis to a novella written several years ago by Stephen King, who can still scare the pants off me whenever I pick up "The Stand." The creators took that novella and expanded on the idea of "Who Killed the Colorado Kid" and in the process have - with King's blessing - fashioned a worthy successor to the first few seasons of "The X Files" for sheer entertainment. The writing is tight, laced with just enough humor to lighten the burden of belief suspension, and some really fine acting by this ensemble cast. I particularly like the portrayals of Vince and Dave, owners of the Haven Herald.
My point: If you haven't seen "Haven" you should. It's well worth the time and money.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I watched this show a few times when there was nothing else on and I thought it was ok, but then it started to intrigue me. I like the Twin Peaks aspect of it and there also is a bit of Northern Exposure's influence too. Some have said that Emily Rose seemed wooden at first. I thought more that she acting like any person would in a new town: cautious and subdued. Small towns are tough to move in to and get acceptance...so that's what I thought she was doing with her character. At first the episodes were kind of "well, whats weird this week, but about midseason they really started to throw things at us about the Troubles and Audrey's past and then things REALLY got interesting...for instance the enigmatic tatoo on Duke. I am really looking forward to buying next season and so is my wife. I can't wait for season two to be out on dvd and I hope the execs use their brains and don't pull a Firefly on us and cancel series three. I would be so pissed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2011
The first thing 'Haven' has going for it is the beautiful, seaside Nova Scotian landscape which is masterfully captured for this series. As a result, I feel compelled to take a vacation to a place I have never even considered! Secondly, an eclectic cast of actors make up the core of this new SYFY series. Nicholas Campbell, (formerly of 'Da Vinci's Inquest') whose persona seems to slip from the pages of an Erle Stanley Gardner novel, and Lucas Bryant, who does not feel physical pain, represent the law as a father and son duo. Just their last name, Wuornos, colors this picture eerie. Emily Rose, who I really enjoyed in 'Jericho' (a show that ended before its time), performs the role of a temporarily displaced FBI agent who just might get some answers about her own unknown past from this strange little town, should she stay. In the meantime we are torn between the two men in her life, and getting some frights, as well as kicks and giggles out of various characters.

Yes, 'Haven' is comprised of many unique and interesting citizens with certain interesting abilities which generate potential for a number of intriguing episodes. Between the mysterious tale of a small town with an otherworldly aura and the possibility that Agent Audrey Parker has discovered nuggets of her own obscure history, 'Haven' is the premise for some sort of a 'Twilight Zone' hued hit for the muggy months of summer and each episode just gets hotter!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2017
Never heard of this show, but I love to buy complete dvd sets from Amazon. My wife and I both loved it, and enjoyed watching from episode 1 until the ending. Now part of my collection, and Im sure we will watch it several times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2016
A very enjoyable series. I will probably watch the other seasons. I would buy them now except for one thing. When i first looked they were all 9.99 except for season 5. But after i bought and watched season 1 the price went up for all the other seasons within like a couple of days. Like it knew i bought a season and was interested...so the price went up. Maybe that isn't it but it sure seems like it. And being a long time loyal Amazonian that is very annoying. In any case there are a number of things wrong with the service. For example if i own the SD version why would i have to pay full price to upgrade to HD? Makes no sense. Sometimes seasons are missing, or just episodes. And i know because everyone else has them. Sigh!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2012
First met this show in an online preview of Episode One at a nameless competitor. Since I grew up 20 miles from Lunenburg the filming location for this show the hair stood up on the back of my head the moment I started watching it. The views of the harbour are classic and the aerial shots give a whole new perspective on a town I know and love. Camped in Lunenburg this summer up the street from where the Bluenose II is being rebuilt and walked the harbour where Duke's boat lies docked with a for sale sign. Town Hall subs as the police station.

Those personal attachments aside the series employs great Canadian actors the two male leads being standouts. Anyone who has gone down to the sea in ships knows that superstition and faith take over when man loses control and despite the most advanced technology man is still powerless to control the sea. Half-million ton ships still plow straight into rogue waves off the Cape of Good Hope and vanish forever. Ships like the Mary Celeste show up sailing themselves with crews that vanished without a trace. Among people who try to make sense of the inexplicable ghosts and hauntings are commonplace. Some of the storylines here begin to strain suspension of disbelief but on the whole are not too far removed from reality. The episode in Season 2 based on the plagues of Egypt taken from Exodus is a case in point. Highly recommended. If it succeeds this show should do wonders for tourism in a World Heritage Community. Weekly it makes me homesick for Lunenburg, Mahone Bay, Chester, and Hubbards.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2015
Haven is that quiet little sea town that everyone wants to vacation to.... Until things start getting weird. Haven is full of "troubles" and you never know what is going to happen next! The love stories never overshadow the supernatural and that keeps you coming back for more!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2015
I fell i love with this series immediately. I never imagined how much I'd fall for the people. As I watched this season I was drawn to Duke. Sort of a misfit while wanting to fit in while staying his distance. How can you have both? Such a wonderful cast. The two brothers Dave and Vincent are darlin as they squabble together yet you know they have a love that goes deeper than you could ever imagine (which you will get to see in future episodes). Such a delightful series with so much potential for continued success. Keep strong Audrey.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon July 29, 2011
Small, sleepy town. Odd folks. Strange doings. Smokin' hot FBI agent. Yeah, count me in. I'm not sayin' HAVEN is the best show on television, but it's certainly kept me tuning in. HAVEN draws its roots from Stephen King's novella, THE COLORADO KID, and the ironic bit is that this novella has closer ties to the mystery genre than to horror fiction.

Cracks on the road, holes in her past. Deployed to Haven, Maine on a routine investigation, FBI agent Audrey Parker stumbles onto sudden fissures on the road and onto the puzzle of the Colorado Kid, an unsolved, decades-old mystery which may or may not shed light on her murky orphaned past. Agent Parker is intrigued enough and hopeful enough that she opts to bide a while in Haven. She rapidly susses out that this little town hides its fair share of secrets. What makes Haven special is its status as refuge for those with paranormal attributes. The townspeople, in hushed tones, label those with extraordinary abilities as "Troubled" or "Afflicted." Sometime in the past, a plague of supernatural horror - or the Troubles - swept over Haven, and then eventually went away. Today, dormant powers are reviving; there's a strangeness in the air. the Troubles are back. And Agent Parker, with her training and her natural bump of curiousity, may just be Haven's best hope.

The picturesque seaside locations - mostly shot in Nova Scotia - lend texture to the show, serve as an effective counterpoint to the town's dark underbelly. The Troubles are a widely accepted urban legend in Haven, and you often have characters dropping remarks such as "It's the Troubles, isn't it?" or "The Troubles are back, aren't they?" or in Audrey Parker's case, "The FBI never trained you for the Troubles." Season One unveils thirteen episodes which are predominantly stand-alone stories, although recurring sub-plots and themes do run thru the entire season. In the unraveling of Haven's mysteries, Agent Parker regularly comes face to face with otherworldy phenomena, and she's open-minded enough and thinks outside of the box enough that she doesn't get too much ruffled, even though the foul play involved is often of the staggeringly preposterous sort. I don't know that Emily Rose makes for an entirely convincing detective - she's a bit too pretty and glib and breezy - but damn if you don't get drawn into her exploits. Emily Rose is a capable enough actress that she sells her moments of vulnerability, and then there's her intriguing chemistry with Lucas Bryant.

Bryant plays Nathan Wuornos, a local cop who becomes Audrey's partner. Nathan is one of them wounded souls. He's afflicted with idiopathic neuropathy, a condition that prevents him from physically feeling anything. As one may expect, this has made Nathan a detached, almost painfully shy character. Except that he's very sympatico with Audrey Parker. And matchmakers that we are, we start hoping for them to hook up. Now if only that charming rogue and smuggler Duke Crocker (Eric Balfour) would beat feet... He's threatening to steal Nathan's thunder.

When not wallowing in flirtatious moments, HAVEN dives right back into the supernatural procedural. There are some really nifty episodes featuring phenomena such as rapid aging, dream murders, a homicidal shadow, living stuffed people, a person whose moods influence the weather, shapeshifters, a pyrokinetic, an artist whose drawings affect reality, et cetera... not to mention, an assortment of folks sporting ominous tattoos. All of these crazy bits of hoodoo, by the way, are given life by - for television - pretty excellent special effects. I like that Agent Parker, often times, resolves a case without resorting to violence. On the other hand, the way she handles the unrepentant pyrokinetic demonstrates a certain ruthless streak on her part (in "The Hand You're Dealt"). If you're a Nathan fan, then "As You Were" showcases him saving the day. If you're a Duke fan, what the hell's your problem?

Season One is chary with the reveals but we are treated to several big ones, with Audrey, Nathan, and Duke each either unveiling or discovering a huge secret about themselves. Nathan's discovery would make him even more attached to Audrey, the poor sap. For Audrey, curious orphan, it's all about her digging into her blurry past, her search galvanized by a mysterious photograph shown her by those two odd newspapermen when she first arrived at Haven. What she learns in the Season One finale is a humdinger and nicely dovetails into the startling season ending cliffhanger. Favorite episodes are: "Welcome to Haven" (the pilot); "As You Were" (basically a taut "killer-in-the-midst-while-trapped-in-a-confined-space" murder mystery; "Sketchy," because how can you not love an episode in which a guy gets his limbs brutally twisted like pretzels and another bloke has his eyes and mouth cold vanish on him?; and "Spiral" - the very good season ender in which several plot threads come together. Now, in Season Two, if they can only escalate things a bit further and maybe develop these Troubled incidents so that they feed into a more cohesive overarching threat, why, that wouldn't suck at all. HAVEN's biggest problem is that it's harder to connect to the stories when the format insists on these creature-of-the-week stand-alone episodes. And, in fact, "Spiral" does a good job of changing the status quo. So, again, HAVEN may not be the best show on television. But, damn, you cannot keep me away from watching it week after week after week.

HAVEN - THE COMPLETE FIRST SEASON contains all 13 episodes on 4 discs, with the following bonus stuff:

- 12 Audio Commentaries with the cast & crew on 10 episodes, and it's a treat that the lead actor, Emily Rose, is very prominent in these commentaries

- "Welcome to Haven" featurette (00:18:11 minutes long)

- "Visual FX of Haven" featurette (00:05:05 minutes)

- "Mythology of Haven" featurette, and how the writers' being inspired by Stephen King's works ties into it (00:05:58)

- 6 Behind-the-Scenes Video Blogs: "What is Haven to You?" - the cast's reflections on HAVEN (00:4:26); "Let the Good Times Roll..." - Emily Rose guides you thru the making of the giant rolling ball scene in the "Butterfly" episode (00:03:58); "Location, Location,Location" - Emily Rose guides you to several scenic spots in Nova Scotia that were shot for the show (00:01:53); "Emily Rose Q & A (00:03:21); "Stephen King References in the episode "Spiral" - which, in retrospect, aren't that many (00:03:08); and "Sci Fi Wire Interview with Emily Rose (00:02:18)

- Cast Interviews: Emily Rose (00:02:31); Lucas Bryant (00:02:08); and Eric Balfour (00:01:57)

- Season 1 trailer

- Season 2 Sneak Peek: Inside the Writers' Room (00:04:46)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse