Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Tailgating FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 30 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 46 reviews
on December 28, 2012
The content of the book and its style of teaching were great. But the number of typos and the lack of synchronization between the downloadable code examples and what is written in the book is inexcusable and got to be very irritating. When I buy a book, I expect that someone has at least proof read it for blatant errors. Clearly somebody dropped the ball in this case.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2015
As previously mentioned, the sample code is full of errors. The quality control is very poor. In one example, variable names in the book do not match the sample code (easy to correct but annoying). In another example, the project in the book goes from having a few lines of code to a complete page of code, but the code was never presented, had to copy from the finished project. I have read two other Head First books by a different author and I did not find a single error. If you are relatively new to coding then, I would look for a different book. I would rated this 4 stars otherwise.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2017
Great book to learn jquery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2012
The book is really helpful to learn jQuery and ajax methods to make your page dynamic. Its not boring, so its great to learn on your own! Detailed explanation and solutions are available, which aids the self learning process. However, I don't think its a book that should be used by a complete beginners to programming. If you don't know what a loop is, you should probably wait for something a bit easier. The official website offers a great explanation for whom the book is aimed for, so DEFINITELY read that. And also a chapter sample. That will probably give you more feedback if its the book for you. Overall, great book!!! I Definitely recommend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2017
OK for the first chapter or two, but eventually the amount of dialogs, graphics, etc in the book detracts greatly from the subject material and simply takes too much time to read and follow along with.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2015
As a rule, I love the Head First books, but this one is lacking in professional business application examples. Too much time spent on playful special effects/animation (chapter 5 & 7) is not helpful when you are looking to apply your learning in a professional environment at work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2013
If you already know HTML, CSS and a fair amount of JavaScript this is the book to get for learning JQuery. They explain concepts at an introductory level, and show how things work such as how JQuery works with the DOM and CSS. They review how loops work and how to use the this keyword. The coding examples are good and when you type the code into your text editor and hand it off to the browser it works. In other words, this book gives you usable code, not just snippets.

The book goes on to introduce how to work with data. It introduces you to AJAX and JSON. It does use PHP for helping with data, and even though PHP is falling off of the radar it's good knowledge to have (keep in mind that this book was published over 2 years ago, so some of the content is bound to be slightly out of date).

After covering a few things about handling data, the book goes on to introduce you to JQuery UI and JQuery API's.

I love this book as I found it a really good intro to JQuery. If you are a seasoned programmer this book will probably be to elementary for you. For the rest of us, this book just rocks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2015
Love how it is so user friendly and enjoyable to read. The only computer science books that I can actually learn from. Also shows you how to set up your own server, which is cool for beginners like me. I definitely recommend for rookies like me, and people who might need a refresher.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2013
Before starting this book, I knew HTML & CSS, but that was it. The book is very effective at teaching jQuery, even if you don't know Javascript.

In addition to teaching you the jQuery methods, arguments, etc, and how jQuery works, it also gives you some great ways to break down problems and work through them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2013
This book was useful in that it helped me learn more about jQuery basics, so this is a good book for beginners. I myself was hoping to get a little more about the ajax use out of it. But it was still a good book and I would recommend it if you are learning or just want to understand a little bit more about jQuery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse