Buy New
Free Shipping for Prime Members
FREE Shipping
Get free shipping
Free 5-8 business-day shipping within the U.S. when you order $25 of eligible items sold or fulfilled by Amazon.
Or get 4-5 business-day shipping on this item for $3.98. (Prices may vary for AK and HI.)
Learn more about free shipping
on orders over $25—or get FREE Two-Day Shipping with Amazon Prime
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
Heartsick Ramblers & Lowd... has been added to your Cart

Ship to:
To see addresses, please
Please enter a valid US zip code.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Heartsick Ramblers & Lowdown Rounders

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, September 20, 2017
Note: This product is manufactured on demand when ordered from [Learn more]

Editorial Reviews

I’ve Rambled This Country (3:32)
Man of Constant Sorrow (3:20)
My Sweet Farm Girl (3:41)
Poor & a Rambling Boy (3:58)
Candy Man (3:12)
Reckless Rambling Boys (3:37)
Rough Neck Blues (3:00)
Mr. Railroad Man (3:23)
Left My Gal in the Mountains (3:04)
The Merry Bachelor (2:42)
Total running time, 33:26

As I’ve rambled through the history of American and Celtic folksongs, one character always seems to emerge. Often he’s a little down on his luck. In some cases, he left home to seek his fortune, took to drinking and gambling, then fell in love with a sweet young thing and, to impress her, robbed a stagecoach or train. Often he’s writing this song from prison, or from a train on the way to prison. In some cases, he’s found his true love in the arms of another man, and is writing this song in the moonlight, from a “lonesome hollow,” with a bottle of brandy or wine or beer in his hand, thankful that he at least has some booze left, and a few bucks to make his way to the next train station. These are the people I think of as lovesick ramblers and lowdown rounders.

Dean Rathje: vocals, guitar, banjo, dobro, bass.

When sold by, this product is manufactured on demand using CD-R recordable media.'s standard return policy will apply.

Product details

  • Audio CD (September 20, 2017)
  • Original Release Date: August 21, 2017
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: New Leaf Music
  • Run Time: 34 minutes
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Customer reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
Share your thoughts with other customers