Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 4,804 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 5,255 reviews
on November 6, 2014
The story about the boy himself is OK. However, the Dad is a preacher and doesn't appear to act as one would expect a preacher to act with the news about his son. He takes his anger out on God. His actions in the chapel makes him look like he has no faith and the way he leaves his congregation in the lurch while he goes through the difficult experience makes him look weak and not trusting in God. I know his problem was very difficult, but I have known people who have faced hardships who don't know the Lord handle their problem with more grace, As a Christian movie, I was disappointed in it. It was just OK.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2014
It was a very touching film, and for the believers it is sweet and appreciated. I would give it 5 stars, but the culmination and the speech that wraps up the film was so weak and flat and anticlimatic that I can't give it a 5. This guy is a pastor who is supposed to give the sermon of a lifetime and it just never happens. The film is written and directed by Randy Wallace, who wrote Braveheart... which had amazing speeches and dialogue. Where is the Randy from 1995?! Just a lot of creative decisions that fell short, maybe there was too much mega church influence behind the making of the film that took away from beautiful art that was on the verge of a 5 star. Non filmmakers meddling with the art end up hurting Christian films. They also needed to cut about 30 minutes too, it is far too long and then to only fall flat. As a stand alone film I'd give it 3 stars. As a Christian film I'd give it 4 stars (Since most are 1 to 2 stars. The Blindside and The Passion get 5's). There are definitely emotional moments and you get chills time to time. The end is just not well done.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This will be SHORT:

.

I enjoyed the abridged version of this story that I read in----the disc's cover art LOOKS like one----READERS DIGEST. Not so much the theatrical version.
It's the story of a preacher that is provided with a free house, but has a second... and third... and fourth job; financial problems; a recent still-birth; personal
medical problems; self-doubt; and a 4-year-old child that survives a burst appendix, and sees Jesus.
The deleted scenes, rightfully, cut the scene where all the neighbors pay of the preacher's bills... before making MORE money from a book/film-rights.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2016
I found the young boy's description of heaven to be enlightening and encouraging. I watch very few movies, but I feel that this one is definitely worth seeing for its description of heaven and for its entertainment value, too. The reason I rated it as 4 stars instead of 5 is that the plot is somewhat slow at times. Especially the first 20 minutes or so when the characters are being introduced seemed boring, but the plot really picks up once the boy becomes ill, so don't give up early on this movie!

After watching the movie I recommend watching the video "The Girl who Paints Heaven! Akiane Kramerik" on Youtube. This fascinating video is about the painter of the picture of Jesus shown near the end of "Heaven is for Real." Her description of heaven and her paintings are amazing!Adding her description to the boy's gives a more complete picture of heaven.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2015
This is a great true story about a family in rural Nebraska who had a four year old son who suddenly became gravely ill. He was rushed to a hospital and sent in for emergency surgery. After the child began recuperating, and for sometime after that, he began describing what he saw and experienced while he was under anesthesia. The film is not only about the child's experiences, but also about how the family, and friends of the family, reacted, as a result of making the child's story and what he experienced, public. There were varied reactions from community members, as they heard about the child's experiences. The child's father was a minister, which caused some dissension and varying levels of discomfort among his congregational members. The movie is very thought-provoking and will appeal especially to those who are interested in Near Death Experiences (NDEs), since it shows how even experts (doctors, psychologists,etc.) differ in their belief in the validity of NDE's. While the movie has Christian overtones to it (the father was a minister), the movie will be interesting to people of many different religious faiths, since it covers a subject that is a phenomenon experienced by certain people of all cultures and religious backgrounds who have become very ill, or badly injured. The movie would be a good one to show to a wide range of potential audiences - movie discussion groups, religious education groups, medical and psychological professionals, theology students of all religious backgrounds and other interested groups.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2014
I had read the book before seeing the movie. The movie takes a few liberties and leaves out/rearranges some of the book content, but is still well done. Colton's story is one of comfort and faith and I was inspired by both the book and the movie. Recommend to all audiences.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2015
I really enjoyed this movie. I know Heaven is real, that God the Eternal Father and His Jesus Christ are real and alive and they still do wonderful miracles today as in days gone by. What is in this movie really happens to people to help people know the creators are there. It has not happened to me, but other things have. I do truly believe that all things show that there is a God and He does stuff. There is also a devil and he does stuff too. The war in Heaven talked about in Revelations and other places is still going on, but here instead of there. This movie does a wonderful job of showing there is a God and He still, to this day, does stuff for us. While on this earth it is all about faith for us He is there and He does care about each and every one of us. I don’t belong to this man’s church or even his faith, but I know what he and his son have said in this movie is true. Anything that brings one closer to God is of God and anything that takes one away is of the devil. Keep the commandments as commandments – not suggestions. The Lord will bless you for all you do His way. The idea is to make your will conform to His will. In my many years I see too many people want to have His will conform to their will and it does not work that way, not ever in the history of the world. This movie is really good at depicting that fact, but it never says that in so many words. I loved this movie; I think it has the potential to help a lot of people grow closer to the God that gave them life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon July 31, 2014
An excellent film based on the book that chronicles the true story of the Burpo family, particularly the six year old son's near fatal illness. His visit to heaven and his recounting of events that he coul not have known will challenge one's thoughts of this life and the after life. This is a great film to watch with your family but be prepared for some great conversation afterwards.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2014
What a great family movie! This movie has a lot going on in it... a lot of what we really deal with about death and God. We really enjoyed this movie. How can a 4 year old make up things so real and so poignant? Makes you think and gives us HOPE!
Be Blessed
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2014
This movie follows very closely the book. I enjoyed both of them. My elderly mother read the book the week before she died and was so happy reading it. It is strange how adults have such a difficult time believing a child can have a real experience.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$5.99

Need customer service? Click here