19 songs available with Unlimited

Listen Now
Go Unlimited
Start your 30-day free trial
Listen to any song, anywhere with Amazon Music Unlimited. Learn More
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to Amazon.com (US).

Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Like New | Details
Sold by MovieMars-CDs
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Sealed item. Like NEW.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Heidelberg Concerts

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Listen Now with Amazon Music
Heidelberg Concerts Amazon Music Unlimited
New from Used from
Audio CD, September 7, 2011
$21.98 $28.17

Editorial Reviews

Bun-Ching Lam, born in Macao, and Gunnar A. Kaldewey, a book artist born in Germany, have been working together for more than twenty-five years. The artistic outcome of their collaboration was presented in an exhibition of artist books and three evening concerts featuring compositions by Bun-Ching Lam, held in Heidelberg in the fall of 2009. The CDs included here contain the opening concert of October 26th, and the final concert of October 28th, featuring vocal and chamber music written for Asian and European instruments. The compositions featured on Disc 1 attempt to translate poetic or artistic sentiments into sound. It presents the many different cultural traits, from Heine to Hiroshige, from Europe to Asia, from Debussy from lunzhi (running finger techniques on the pipa) to Run, that have merged in the musics of Bun-Ching Lam. These pieces show Lam thinking as a citizen of the world as one critic, Ken Gallo, put it. Disc 2 presents more chamber music by Lam, under the title of Seeing Sounds Like Water, Like Ritual: Chamber Music. Each of the pieces is an expressive painting in sound, allowing the audience a multiplicity of sensual experiences: it is not enough to hear, but one must see and smell, taste, feel and be touched by this music. Run was the first work Lam ever wrote for solo pipa, the Chinese lute with four strings. Nachtgesänge is scored for soprano, baritone saxophone, trombone, marimba and koto, a rather unusal combination of instruments. Lam decided to set three poems of Friedrich Hölderlin in German. Lotosträume is a setting of Heinrich Heine s poem, written for Thomas Buckner. Omi Hakkei refers to the eight scenic views of Omi by Lake Biwa, near Kyoto, Japan. Lü was originally composed for a dance entitled A Woman Who Roams . It was scored for a large gamut of percussion instruments, ranging from wood, skin to metal. In Six Phenomena there are six movements altogether, depicting each of the six phenomena. As the Buddhist believes that the physical world is just an illusion, I feel music shares the same illusive quality, hence this composition. Bittersweet Music II for violin, is the second of a series of pieces that Lam composed for various solo instruments, mostly virtuosic in nature. ...Like Water consists of a series of short self-contained movements. It makes reference to images of water and its various manifestation such as ice, steam, and mist.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Run
  2. Nachtgesänge I
  3. Nachtgesänge II
  4. Nachtgesänge III
  5. Lotosträume
  6. Omi Hakkei I
  7. Omi Hakkei II
  8. Omi Hakkei III
  9. Omi Hakkei IV
  10. Omi Hakkei V
  11. Omi Hakkei VI
  12. Omi Hakkei VII

Disc: 2

  1. Lü
  2. Six Phenomena I
  3. Six Phenomena II
  4. Six Phenomena III
  5. Six Phenomena IV
  6. Six Phenomena V
  7. Six Phenomena VI
  8. Bittersweet Music II
  9. ...Like Water

Product details

  • Audio CD (September 7, 2011)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Label: Mutable Music
  • ASIN: B005MR2NYM
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #413,276 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
Share your thoughts with other customers