Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Train STEM Limited time offer Handmade Last Minute Gifts Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon life life life  All-new Echo Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now HTL17_gno

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
10

on October 17, 2012
The book, Heisman: The Man Behind the Trophy, tells a compelling tale of the life and times of the legendary coach John Heisman. In detail only available through the painstaking research of the coach's grand-nephew (co-author John M. Heisman) we know aspects of Coach Heisman's life and ethos previously unknown outside the Heisman family. The richness of of Heisman's life in and out of football show why the Downtown Athletic Club chose the only name for their award that would epitomize both on-field success along with class and academic merit off the field. A fast read that has enough surprises and historical perspective to keep even those not addicted to college football reading on. A worthy addition to the historical record of early college football invention and innovation along with a snapshot of American culture in the early 20th century. Especially rich in detail of life in the Jim Crow South in those years. Coach Heisman's courage in facing down the racial animus of those times is a story that had to be told.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 7, 2014
John Heisman, his great nephew had a huge amount of Heisman's personal document, so this book contains information that you won't find else where. It is coauthor with Mark Schlabach a professional sport writer.
If Heisman had not gone to school in Titusville not being a true football fan I doubt if I would have read this book. I'm glad I did. He was a remarkable man.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 30, 2013
So little has been told about one of the great innovative men in the history of sports, the legendary coach John W. Heisman. This book changes all that. It is packed with little-known inside stories about `the father of modern college football.'

Now we have a better idea of why those were the good old days-- as important as the sweeping changes he brought to the playing field were the moral virtues Coach Heisman instilled in his players.

An eye-opening must-read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 9, 2013
I love this book and would totally recommend it to any sports or college football fan. I was actually amazed how big of an impact Mr. Heisman had on the game. he was such a revolutionary coach he did things way before anyone else in the sport though of them. if your a fan of the game get this book you won't regret it. believe me. R.I.P. Mr. Heisman your impact will never be forgotten.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 3, 2017
Interesting book about a little known football icon
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 14, 2015
It was great to learn about one of the most influential, and unfortunately often forgotten names in coaching history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 24, 2014
I watched a show on TV about John Heisman and thought my dad would really enjoy this book. He actually read half of the book the first night and said it was very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 15, 2013
The story of Coach Heisman - the man behind the trophy. This is a great gift for the young man in your family interested in football!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 20, 2012
Lots of interesting info and well written and researched. I was very surprised to learn of Heisman acting skills, etc
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 11, 2012
I was reading this book at the time I heard the sentence being delivered to Jerry Sandusky. What a stark contrast to the character of another football coach just a hundred years earlier. One may be pleasantly surprised to learn of Coach Heisman's desire to encourage the whole of a man for his entire life, not just a player for a season. I am not even a big football fan, but I am a fan of John Heisman, both of them.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here