Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$28.18+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 55 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 79 reviews
on May 5, 2017
Reviewing the made-to-order product: The image is very degraded compared with what Turner Classic Movie Channel has accustomed us to expect. The lack of crispness, the visual 'noise' in the blue sky shots, the varying colors within scenes were all very distracting.
I'm sure there are better crafted versions to hunt for before settling for this less-than. The movie has much to offer visually and deserves a better reproduction effort than this.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2017
A good old movie, beautifully made.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2016
This is by far the best version of the film story
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2017
Good to Watch
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2014
Adventure from 1200 B.C. that is every bit as thrilling as anything from our times. There is something so real about some of these old classics which seems to get lost in the modern, computerized versions. Paris and Helen are very convincing; the Greeks' meeting to decide upon their actions and the actual siege of Troy are believable and monumental. There is a secret wish to see the Trojans triumphant for as long as possible with the knowledge of the final act. Sir Cedric makes a great Priam, wise and with a certain forboding at times. Also, look for a new face as Helen's maidservant in Greece, Bridgitte Bardot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2015
Very satisffied
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2014
An original Hollywood take on the Helen of Troy legend. At least this one is true to the aspect the war went on for years & not just a few days. An enjoying outing to watch if you like the "oldies but goodies" of yesteryear.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2004
I loved "Helen of Troy" when I was a young girl in the 50's. Paris, Jacques Sernas, was the most gorgeous man I had ever seen. I wondered how I would feel about it after seeing "Troy" with Orlando Bloom playing a rather whimpy version of Paris. I felt no chemistry between Paris and Helen in this new version. I ordered the original and it still stands out as a classic and cannot be replaced with expensive special effects. "Helen of Troy" has a heart and the audience is compelled to hope that Helen and Paris can have a life together. In the new version, it didn't matter to me if they stayed together or not. I highly recommend "Helen of Troy" for the descerning movie viewer.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2011
Helen of TroyGreat portrayal by actress. Beautiful scenery and wardrobes. Well worth the price; would recommend that dvd be shown to all students interested in history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2007
Warner Bros.' Cinemascope rendition of the events of the Trojan War has been pretty much forgotten now, thanks in large part to its cast of mostly unknowns: though Sir Cedric Hardwicke is here (inevitably), the rest of the cast was pretty unknown to movie audiences then as it still is today. The Italian actress Rossana Podestá is Helen, and the French actor Jack (Jacques) Sernas is her lover Paris, who somehow is turned into the movie's hero. Both Podestá and Sernas were probably chosen for the extreme beauty of their chests, but they're both exceptionally likeable in their roles. There are a lot of British stage actors in the other familiar parts: Stanley Baker is Achilles, Robert Douglas is Agamemnon, Niall MacGinnis is Menelaus, and Nora Swinburne is Hecuba. (The latter's particularly exquisite enunciation affords many of the film's unintentional comic highlights.)

It all could have been fairly disastrous, and the familiar events of legend are collapsed as much as possible so as all to be fitted into two hours. But it helps immensely that Robert Wise is the director and keeps things moving at a fair clip, and that the studio went pretty much all out on the sets and extras. Troy is made to look much like the reconstruction of the Palace at Knossos in Crete, with tapered red columns and bull-horn decorations (the latter more appropriate to the palace of King Minos than that of Priam, but what the heck). It's all every bit as silly as TROY, the 2004 telling of the same basic story, but this version is much more compulsively watchable.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse