Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Buy New
$9.99
FREE Shipping on orders with at least $25 of books.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
Hellhole West Virginia has been added to your Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Hellhole West Virginia Paperback – September 29, 2011

3.8 out of 5 stars 8 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$9.99
$9.89 $13.71

The Amazon Book Review
The Amazon Book Review
Author interviews, book reviews, editors picks, and more. Read it now
$9.99 FREE Shipping on orders with at least $25 of books. In Stock. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover


Editorial Reviews

About the Author

After an unillustrious print journalism career in southwestern Pennsylvania, Rich Bottles Jr. moved to West Virginia at the age of 32 to pursue a career in technical writing. He spends his free time visiting and hiking at the many state and national parks in the Mountain State, which is also where he develops the concepts for his novels. He has produced a trilogy of WV-themed "humorrorotica,"  including 'Lumberjacked,' 'Hellhole West Virginia' and 'The Manacled.' His only regret in life is that his out-of-state secondary school education prohibited him from earning West Virginia's prestigious Golden Horseshoe Award.
If you buy a new print edition of this book (or purchased one in the past), you can buy the Kindle edition for only $0.99 (Save 67%). Print edition purchase must be sold by Amazon. Learn more.
For thousands of qualifying books, your past, present, and future print-edition purchases now lets you buy the Kindle edition for $2.99 or less. (Textbooks available for $9.99 or less.)
  • Thousands of books are eligible, including current and former best sellers.
  • Look for the Kindle MatchBook icon on print and Kindle book detail pages of qualifying books. You can also see more Kindle MatchBook titles here or look up all of your Kindle MatchBook titles here.
  • Read the Kindle edition on any Kindle device or with a free Kindle Reading App.
  • Print edition must be purchased new and sold by Amazon.com.
  • Gifting of the Kindle edition at the Kindle MatchBook price is not available.
Learn more about Kindle MatchBook.


The latest book club pick from Oprah
"The Underground Railroad" by Colson Whitehead is a magnificent novel chronicling a young slave's adventures as she makes a desperate bid for freedom in the antebellum South. See more

Product Details

  • Paperback: 340 pages
  • Publisher: Burning Bulb Publishing (September 29, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0615535798
  • ISBN-13: 978-0615535791
  • Product Dimensions: 5.1 x 0.8 x 7.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 15.5 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (8 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #3,227,079 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Get ready for an over-the-top thrill ride that perverts history in a way that only Rich Bottles Jr. can! Do you like the Mothman? Yeah, he's in there and the reader will learn what really happened back in the 1960's over in Point Pleasant, West Virginia.

From zombies waving pick axes at the WV Book Festival to quadriplegic midget prostitutes, the King of Bizarro mayhem will either have you rolling on the floor peeing yourself laughing or getting really offended, depending on your sense of humor (or lack thereof).

Hellhole West Virginia is a comedy that draws its plot from several historical events: the Mothman Incident (Point Pleasant, WV), the Manson Murders (Charley is from WV), Hellhole Cave Environmental Issues (Riverton, WV), and others. Plus, there is even a cameo appearance by the author himself in Chapter 4!

Hellhole is not your typical read, but would we want it any other way? Enjoy!
Comment 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
There are lots of West Virginias. To some it's the redneck, backwards in-bred core of Appalachia. To others it is home to the powerhouse football and basketball teams of WVU (Go Mountaineers!), while, to legions of John Denver fans, it is "Almost Heaven," an outdoor mecca of whitewater rafting, biking, and hiking.
In the five years I've been here I've seen a little bit of all of these pictures of West Virginia, and many more. The frontier spirit is alive and well, as are lots of examples of innovation and the ongoing controversy over coal, natural gas, and "fracking." I've also noticed in my time here that West Virginia fascinates writers, whether natives or transplants like myself. Sooner or later, you just have to write about the place.
Rich Bottles Jr., a Pennsylvania native and "bizarro" author, is one of those whose fascination with all things West Virginia manifests prominently in his work. Like his novel Lumberjacked, Hellhole, West Virginia confluences fact and fiction, stereotype and the utterly unique in horrific and humorous ways.
His publisher, Burning Bulb, specializes in both Bizarro and West Virginia as a ripe setting for the horror and sex-filled tales their authors tell (I have previously reviewed the 50+ story collection called The Big Book of Bizarro that Bottles co-edited as well as Gary Lee Vincent's Darkened vampire trilogy). Hellhole is the perfect storm of these foci. On the back cover the publisher gives a tongue in cheek but perhaps necessary warning to the reader about the "graphic sex and gratuitous violence" in Hellhole.
Read more ›
Comment 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Author Rich Bottles Jr. continues his brand of "humororrorotica" with his second novel HELLHOLE WEST VIRGINIA. Not content to simply focus on a single plot, Bottles offers several seemingly unrelated storylines before mashing them together in an over-the-top riot of Mountain State madness; in addition to vampiric eco-terrorists, you'll find cave-dwelling zombies, a seedy motel/tattoo parlor with unusual amenities, and the real story behind the Mothman.

HELLHOLE is a swift, entertaining read, with frequent detours into deviant sex and colored with raunchy, often unspeakable humor (there's a doctor's visit in this book that ranks as one of the most hilariously repellent scenes I've ever read). Fans of Richard Laymon or Edward Lee's backwoods tales will want to plan a trip to Hellhole.
Comment 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
I LOVE this book! The reader can see a VERY marked improvement in Rich's skill as a writer. I quite honestly can say that I cannot recall reading another book that compares to this one in a very long time in terms of a novel presentation. This work could actually be boiled down over simplistically by saying that Mr. Bottles tells the same story five different times; one for each chapter of the book. I know, I know, it sounds really kitschy, and I honestly don't believe that most writers could have produced what Rich came up with if prompted to use the same story line in each chapter. Most writers would have probably simply wrote the same story from five different perspectives. That is NOT what Mr. Bottles does. No, he makes this book such an interesting and completely new experience for readers that it leaves you yearning for more. Bottles' use of satire is absolutely genius, and nothing is beyond being poked fun at in this book. We have parodies of the Manson murders, (right down to a strung up pregnant lady and a girl named Maxine House), Massey Coal, and even the No. 9 mine explosion. "Parodies" is really the wrong word, because that suggests that Bottles is "making fun"of these events, and he really isn't, but his use of uncomfortable topics is becoming a hallmark of his work, And before all you haters out there get all pissed off and try to break politically correct on my ass, I just have this to say: my great uncle died in the No.9 mine explosion, and the mere thought that he could be a brain-hungry, nuclear created zombie attacking young sexy bimbos while protecting some creepy evil guy doesn't bother me one iota.Read more ›
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Hellhole West Virginia
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Hellhole West Virginia

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?