BCA Month Salon Beauty Best Books of the Month Women's Coat Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis South Park Shop Now ToyHW17_gno

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
17
Hemingway
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$129.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on April 8, 2009
A TOTALLY REFRESHING EPIC SAGA OF OUR #1 NOVELIST, BAR NONE. HEMINGWAY SHINES ABOVE SO MANY GREAT AUTHORS. STACEY KEACH IS SUPERB AND THE 5+ HOURS NEVER DULL. A SENSATIONAL VIEW ON A RAINY DAY. MARISSA BERENSON IS EXQUISITE AS ONE OF THE MANY MRS HEMINGWAYS, AND ACCORDING TO JACK HEMINGWAY (SON)IN THE A&E DOCUMENTARY WHICH I OWN, ERNEST DID EAT THE BARRELS OF HIS SHOT GUN (NO BLAST TO THE FOREHEAD AS REPORTED BY MANY). IF YOU'VE READ HEMINGWAY, YOU MUST TREAT YOURSELF TO THIS ACCURATE PORTRAYAL. OH! AND I'VE VISITED HEMINGWAY'S HOME IN KEY WEST. IT'S EXACTLY AS DEPICTED IN THE MOVIE.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2016
This was a gift for my husband. He had seen it years ago and always talked about it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2009
This production follows Hemingway's life fairly closely. If you're familiar with Hemingway's short stories you'll recognize the source of many fictional scenes in this biopic. The film was based on biography of Baker and the notes of Mary Hemingway, so the story favors her a bit, but it still gives a good idea of what Hemingway was like.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2013
I love this movie.I show it to all my friends.Stacy Keach did a greatt job in this movie.He was Hemingway.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2015
No problems, merchandise was as expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2015
Perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2015
I am viewing it now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2014
Saw this when it first aired on network TV. Glad I was finally able to get a copy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2004
I previously had no reason to worry about who or how many women Hemingway might be married to. Even Dorothy Parker was married a few times, and she wrote for `The New Yorker' when she was lucky, but she was unlucky enough to get married when husbands were going to war. Dorothy Parker was most unpopular during World War II for complaining that by the time her husband came home, he was sure to be somebody else. Hemingway never made it all seem as funny as Dorothy Parker usually was, but John Dos Passos was pretty funny when he said, "Every time Hemingway writes a new book, he needs a new wife." If that seems strange to you, you definitely need to see this five hour feature on two DVD discs. The four main female roles are all wives, and the young woman who has a major role in the final novel before THE OLD MAN AND THE SEA does not even get to be more than a companion on a sightseeing expedition in Italy (the book flopped).

Paris, Spain, Africa, Key West, Cuba, some mountain in the Alps; this DVD has great scenery and several wars. There are also a lot of newspaper reporters, who sometimes get into arguments. In Madrid during the Spanish Civil War the reporters called each others' stories propaganda, but the secret police who were arresting people on the streets might have been shooting them without having a secret military tribunal first, and the guy from Pravda who talked to Stalin on the phone every night never revealed what Stalin said. Hemingway could usually get into arguments staying at home, or going out in his boat, or wanting to spend a few more hours in a bar before he went home for the night.

If you remember Liza Minelli teaching a little English to Marisa Berenson in the movie `Caberet' (I've been . . . How do they say it in German?), you should see Marisa Berenson dominating Hemingway as his second wife in this romp. I am giving away too much plot: there are so many women sitting around a table or hooking up with Gertrude Stein in Paris that you shouldn't expect a young married writer like Hemingway to start falling for them. My favorite line is Hemingway telling her "Rich girls know how to drive up the cost." Marisa Berenson plays a rich `Vogue' fashion writer, and if you watch this DVD expecting Hemingway to tell her that, it will help you figure out Hemingway, too. Eventually you will not be disappointed.

Hemingway has to write what's true, but he wants his writing to make him happy. Being happy as the most famous character on Key West gets pretty crazy. With a movie this long, it seems that he lasted a long time before seeking psychiatric help and having a doctor tell him, "Promise me you won't commit suicide if I let you go home."

It is not unusual for authors whose books I enjoy to kill themselves, and some of the suspense is seeing how often it can be avoided before it happens. The end of this, with Hemingway worrying in 1961 that he has kissed the Cuban flag and donated the Nobel Prize for literature to Cuba, shows how far a man with five concussions and a history of heavy drinking can sink. In many of the movies that I like, the worst parts are the things that are true, and the end of this one is an expectation fulfilled.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2010
Having videotaped the original broadcast of HEMINGWAY back in the 80s, I've never had the need to watch the DVD version; so I can't comment on the edits, the transfer quality, the soundtrack, and the other technical aspects of the film.

I will say this: Stacy Keach (who looked like the young Hemingway) does a star turn in presenting "Papa" to us. Convincing and realistic, Keach carries this exhausting role off with panache.

This is a really big budget, complete and sympathetic miniseries that is well worth your time.

The only shortcomings in this five hour portrayal concern the episodic nature of the screenplay (a common flaw in lengthy biopics), and the fact that Hem's life is rather bowdlerized.

Papa drinks, he fights, he runs his mouth; but the darker side of Hem, his anti-Semitism, his racism in general, his adolescently inadequate hypermasculinity, his oft-pointless aggression and tendency to punch out almost anyone, his compulsive womanizing, and his blind-drunk binges are severely played down.

Hemingway was a gifted writer, spare of unnecessary literary excess and well able to draw a portrait in as few words as possible; but, talent aside, he was not a particularly nice man, and Keach's portrayal and/or the script tends to obscure that. Of course, as mentioned, this was originally a made-for-TV production, so the producers couldn't present a foul-mouthed lush into the typical American living room. Given the amazing amount of detail in HEMINGWAY, so much would have to be left on the cutting room floor in even a three hour big screen adaptation, that, warts and all, this is as good as it gets.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here