Industrial Deals HPC Save up to 90% on textbooks Womens Red and Rose nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New year, new music. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Garnet Jewelry modern furniture and decor Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon startrek startrek startrek  Three new members of the Echo family Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now

Henry Poole Is Here
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$7.70+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on January 17, 2009
The director said it best in the BD docu, "...a hopeless man finds hope". I was surprised that this film received no advertising for being a Luke Wilson film (no poster placement, strange pricing structures, limited release, etc.).

I have been playing it in the store for a couple days now and it truly captivated the crowds. The film contains a nice mix of suburban visuals with an excellent soundtrack that repeatedly catches the attention of those that might only be listening. It has become one of those films that sells itself but in a good way.

The story revolves around a man that is obviously extremely depressed that wants to skip human interaction by buying an empty suburban house. Instead he encounters several neighbors that end up changing his life and in the end, helping those that helped him. Regardless of the large volumes of hate one can find about this film out there (and I do mean a lot) I did not categorize this as a religious film, or an agenda film, I just saw a good emotional film filled with believers and non believers, love and incredible events.

The BD quality is excellent, and was very appropriate for this film with the amount of landscapes and overhead shots. The music sounded wonderful in the TrueHD (lots of music) and special features were worth the time. The production docu is informative, as was the commentary. The selling point though is the deleted scenes. They removed over 30 minutes from the film. A great deal of the questions I have read about this film (and was asking myself while watching) were answered here. Even after listening as to why the director removed them, I strongly disagreed and felt they should have been in the movie (hence I rated it one star lower). The scenes would have made the film a great deal more believable and would not have been lagging with all of these questions about why this whole event was happening.

Some nice performances, a solid BD, and a worthwhile film make the BD price here on Amazon a steal.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 11, 2012
This film is exceptional and will leave the viewer profoundly impacted; the film deals with three big issues; Faith, Hope and Love. The lead Character has to grasp and deal with all three of these issues, and when they do, it affects all of the supporting characters profoundly. The plot deals with various personality types, and their respective reactions in dealing with life issues such as Love, on the level of "Humanity" and on the level of the "Amorous". The plot also deals with Faith, specifically Faith dealing with the miraculous and things beyond humanity's control. This film was profoundly well written and directed; the intimacy and the interaction of the characters produces nothing other than heart rendering reactions in the viewer. This film is a must see for families and is suitable for all walks of life, and will likley leave the viewer with pensive thoughts over their own life.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 23, 2009
What a sweet movie with an excellent cast of actors and actresses. It was a dramatic film which I was suprised by. I thought it was more on the comedy side. It all revolves around the depressed Henry who has a bad stucko job done to his house that ends up being a image of Christ that makes miracles happen to all who touch it. I cried through the whole movie, it was that good. Beautiful music as well to go with the film. And thankfully it has a good ending! I just LOVE Luke Wilson and this was one of my favorites of him. My other fave of his was Old School which is completely different from this one!
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 15, 2015
I bought this movie not knowing what it was about as a add on to get free shipping. But wow what a good movie and a tear jurker. Took me by surprise. I loved it :0)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 11, 2016
This is a funny, heart-warming movie. I watched it on my tablet on an over-crowded flight to visit relatives, and I arrived in a more accepting and generous frame of mind.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
This is a very difficult movie for me to review for this simple reason: I think the script has a lot of holes in it, and yet I love the movie. This is the story of a man who has given up hope, and is dragged back to the world of hope and miracles (kicking and screaming) by a series of events all centered around a woman who thinks she sees the image of Christ on one of his exterior walls.

Luke Wilson is the star of the movie and a large part of the reason that I like the movie so very much is that he's simply a perfect actor. Having to act within the limits of a script that, as I said, has some serious holes, he manages to pull this whole film together. He emotions, his body language, his facial expressions very powerful. I loved watching him act.

I really can't detail the things I think are weak in the script without putting some spoilers in this review and I don't want to do that. It's just that a few things seem to happen with no explanation (and I'm not talking about the miracles that seem to occur pretty regularly in the film) and there is one somewhat crucial scene that is just kind of glossed over quickly.

Anyway, I loved the movie. I'm holding back one star because of my personal issues with the script. There is a very fine documentary on the making of the film that was really entertaining and I think all film students should watch it. If you like quirky and offbeat films, and if you know of Luke Wilson and like him, you'll love this movie.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 17, 2016
We enjoyed tremendously this original and unique storyline, a film that blends comedy with faith and hope !
Highly, highly recommend this movie.
You won't be disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 18, 2016
Great premise. Provides an original, real& raw take on life& the lead star's (Luke wilson) circumstances. Offering a lil' magic here& there& comedy. But definitely
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 18, 2014
Luke Wilson plays a man named Henry Poole who wants to hide from life, but whose nosy suburban neighbors keep pulling him out of himself. When a water stain on his exterior wall reminds a Catholic neighbor (Adriana Barraza) of the face of Christ, she brings in the local Catholic priest (George Lopez) and others to pray at the spot, leading to one or two dubious alleged miracles. Radha Mitchell plays another neighbor with a young daughter who also gets involved with Wilson's character. Despite some offbeat and potentially hokey plot moments, the film is surprisingly poignant, coming across as more meaningful than it probably has a right to be. It's worth a look particularly for Luke Wilson fans.

The DVD includes a making-of feature and two music videos as well as the theatrical trailer (a rarity on many current DVD releases!) and other goodies. There is also a fold-out insert with a note from director Mark Pellington, explaining his personal interest in the project. It's a film with a lot of hear that is clearly a labor of love.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 26, 2014
While the central miracle in this film--a stucco blemish that resembles the face of Christ--is unbelievable, it serves as a double metaphor for the apparent foolishness of faith and the impossible things which God can accomplish through it. The redemptive romance between Henry and the single-mother next door is life-affirming; as are the other key characters in the film: the adorable daughter who suffers from post-traumatic stress syndrome, the plucky young cashier aptly named "Patience," and the determined neighbor "Esperanza" who drives the action with her determined witness and conviction. Worth the time for any of its subplots, Henry Poole is Here quaintly wraps an incredible spiritual message in understated comedy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Visitor, The
$7.99

Need customer service? Click here