Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating ToyHW17_gno

Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:$5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 58 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 89 reviews
on June 28, 2015
What can I say......as a lover of all Shakespeare's works this is just a great historic story about Kings and their families and how disfunctional they are and were even back then and how grabbing the crown and keeping it any way you can seemed to be the order of the day. The Folgers books are so very well detailed. Not only the play itself but the explanation of words and situations on the page across from the scene itself helps even those new to Shakespeare better understand the old English expressions of that time. The life of Shakespeare is told in every book and comments on the play and reference books to look up if you are of a mind to pursue further knowledge of the play and the times. Nobody beats Folgers Library if you want to understand the best of Shakespeare.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2014
This is a play I chose to read for my Play Analysis paper for my Intro. to Drama class. The language is extremely powerful and memorable, the characters are compelling, and the play itself is exceptional. I definitely highly recommend it for anyone with any interest at all in drama. It is, without question, one of the greatest examples of the genre ever written. As to the edition itself, I found it to be greatly helpful in understanding the action in the play. It has a layout which places each page of the play opposite a page of notes, definitions, explanations, and other things needed to understand that page more thoroughly. While I didn't always need it, I was certainly glad to have it whenever I ran into a turn of language that was unfamiliar, and I definitely appreciated the scene-by-scene summaries. Really, if you want to or need to read Shakespeare, an edition such as this is really the way to go, especially until you get more accustomed to it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2016
Any Shakespeare is a good purchase. This is my first purchase of a Folger Shakespeare. Should be easy to read b/c the notes appear within the text rather than in a separate notes section at the back. Disappointed in the poor quality of the paper; it's thin and relatively coarse, the kind that will age, yellow and crumble to pieces pretty quickly. Does nobody produce books on beautiful, smooth, long-lasting, archival-quality paper anymore?
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2016
This is an excellent edition of an excellent play, with useful front matter to prepare readers unfamiliar with the play or Shakespeare generally. I only fault the Kindle edition for not having search enabled. I'm not sure what reason there is to prevent Kindle users from being able to search within the text, but it does detract from the overall utility of an otherwise admirable edition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2017
Excellent and vary good price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2016
What can you say about Bill? He was one hell of a writer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2013
I am teaching Henry V in a college writing class, and this copy of the play is perfect for those who have never read Shakespeare before. At a very low purchase price, my students have an easy to hold, light weight book. There is a short introduction that gives a brief history of the play and its early stage production, and each pages has effective glosses at the bottom to explain or define uncommon terms. While a more expensive scholarly edition provides far more front matter for those with a strong interest in Shakespeare's military history play, this Dover thrift Edition of Henry V is a marvelous place to start. Highly Recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2017
Always enjoyed this film, packaging was fine and worked well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2015
Outstanding edition. Prefatory material is clear. Useful but not overwhelming notes. Eminently readable. What the RSC uses, what more could you want?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2016
This is honestly one of the worst books I have ever bought. Shakespeare's as good a writer as he always is, but Signet is a horrible publisher. The book cuts out the first two acts entirely, and begins on page 53, with Act 3, Scene 4. Do NOT buy from Signet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse