Buying Options

Kindle Price: $13.99

Save $13.01 (48%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others


Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more


These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
The Herd: A Novel by [Andrea Bartz]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Herd: A Novel Kindle Edition

4.1 out of 5 stars 206 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$13.99

Length: 323 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible book:
Audible book
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible book with Whispersync for Voice. Add the Audible book for a reduced price of $12.99 when you buy the Kindle book.
Available
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton
Amazon Business : For business-only pricing, quantity discounts and FREE Shipping. Register a free business account

Editorial Reviews

Review

“Andrea Bartz breathes new life into the psychological thriller by setting her novels in bitingly modern settings. Her first book, The Lost Night, is set in Williamsburg’s party scene; The Herd is a biting satire of a women’s workspace like the Wing, and the darkness that may lurk behind that perfectly coiffed sitting room.”O: The Oprah Magazine

“[A] propulsive thriller. . .Through every twist, these enterprising ladies will have you breathlessly trying to keep up with them.”—Marie Claire

“This thriller offers a nonstop plot and layers of mystery—not to mention smart commentary on female friendships and social media.”—Real Simple

“As she did in her debut The Lost Night, Andrea Bartz constructed a complex cast of female characters who will make ‘feminist thriller’ your new favorite genre. Read The Herd ASAP—but maybe not at a coworking space.”HelloGiggles

“Her hard-hitting debut, The Lost Night, has made Andrea Bartz one to watch, and her second novel, The Herd, confirms her reputation. . . . As someone whose building was recently taken over by a WeWork and who now has to wait ten minutes for the elevator, I can’t endorse this book enough.”CrimeReads  

“Darkness swirls beneath the surface of the idyllic setting at the center of this thriller. From its gorgeously haunting opening to its spine-chilling final lines, The Herd delivers an astute exploration of female ambition in a world that tries like hell to keep women down. You won’t be able to stop reading this dazzling nail-biter until you unearth every last secret its characters keep buried.”—Megan Collins, author of The Winter Sister     

“Andrea Bartz has created another deliciously twisty thriller that is so much more than a page-turner. At its heart, The Herd is an ambitious novel about the complex dynamics of an exclusive all-female coworking space—empowering yet cut-throat, open yet exclusive. Filled with insights and biting social commentary about the commoditization of female ambition, The Herd is sure to be one of the spring’s buzziest must-reads.”—Angie Kim, national bestselling author of Miracle Creek

“A uniquely timely whodunit set in an exclusive, women’s only co-working space.”The Boston Globe

“The Herd begins by following the recipe for a classic whodunit, but a backdrop that speaks to the modern Millennial woman makes this thriller feel fun and fresh.…A fast-paced look at friendship, family, ambition and what can happen when carefully built facades start to crumble.”­––San Francisco Chronicle

“Bartz packs in plenty of twists, with a deliberate pace that picks up speed at the end. Surprises and suspense married with themes on the nature of womanhood and sisterhood make this ideal for fans of Paula Hawkins’s The Girl on the Train or Gillian Flynn’s Sharp Objects.”Library Journal

About the Author

Andrea Bartz is a Brooklyn-based journalist and author of The Lost Night. Her work has appeared in The Wall Street Journal, Marie Claire, Vogue, Cosmopolitan, Women's Health, Martha Stewart Living, Redbook, Elle, and many other outlets, and she's held editorial positions at Glamour, Psychology Today, and Self, among other titles.

Product details

  • Publication date : March 24, 2020
  • File size : 3276 KB
  • Word Wise : Enabled
  • Print length : 323 pages
  • Language: : English
  • Publisher : Ballantine Books (March 24, 2020)
  • ASIN : B07TQK7Y6B
  • Enhanced typesetting : Enabled
  • Text-to-Speech : Enabled
  • X-Ray : Enabled
  • Lending : Not Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.1 out of 5 stars 206 ratings

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5
206 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on April 8, 2020
Verified Purchase
21 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on April 25, 2020
Verified Purchase
15 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on April 23, 2020
Verified Purchase
15 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on April 8, 2020
Verified Purchase
14 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on April 19, 2020
Verified Purchase
12 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on March 30, 2020
Verified Purchase
14 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 14, 2020
Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on April 29, 2020
Verified Purchase
10 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Snapdragon
4.0 out of 5 stars Well-plotted, unusual thriller
Reviewed in Australia on October 1, 2020
Verified Purchase