Amazon Vehicles Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Shop Now Ellen

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
17
Price:$32.46+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 15 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 17 reviews
on January 28, 2017
Quality is average at best. Some of the markings on the dice are missing or very hard to read. Two of the dice colors are very similar and difficult to tell apart.

The rules can be frustrating for some players. My boyfriend complained that the person doing a majority of the actual "fighting" ends up with less glory points than the people contributing by preparing because their units are the only ones killed by the enemy units. Also a few of the characters in the wild are not very useful so we end up only actually using a small handful of the dice.

We also find the game to be too easy which lowers the replay value.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2015
If you like Quarriors, dice games in general, and Lord of the Rings then this game is right up your alley. If you are unfamiliar with Quarriors then this game has a fairly steep learning curve. If you are familiar with Quarriors then you will understand the basic game mechanics but still need to learn about 2/3 of the differing game mechanics and nuances.

I myself am a big fan of Quarriors and own all expansions so I thought this would be a fun twist. I do recommend the game but should point out several pros and cons.

Pros:
-Uses basic Quarriors game mechanics, so if you are familiar with the Quarriors series you already know about 1/3 of the rules
-Co-op with an ending human winner. There are many co-op games hitting the shelves these days which I feel is great, but this is the first that I have encountered where it is both co-op but also competitive between the human players at the same time.
-Lord of the Rings... Enough said.
-A lot of randomness between the artifacts and characters which will be used each time you play. You will likely never play the same combination of cards twice.
-Overall high quality game items. The only caveat which is also true for the Quarriors games is the paint on the dice can be a bit off. However, each die has each face shown on its corresponding card so there is always a reference if needed.

Cons:
-Jumbled rule book makes reading and understanding the rules a bit complicated
-There are a lot of phases for each turn and it can be easy to go out of sequence or forget a step. It helps on the player mats that the steps are paraphrased but several phases have extra fine details which are easy to overlook.
-Steep learning curve, especially if you have never played Quarriors

Overall I feel if you like dice games and LoTR the pros of the game outweigh the cons. So far I have never played a game in an hour or less so if you are looking for a fast game this is probably not going to be it. If you are looking to have a good time with friends or family and have some time to kill this is a great option.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2015
I wanted to have at least one "Lord Of The Rings" themed game in my collection. It would be an understatement to say that I like Dice games. This game scores in both categories.

The rulebook states that this game is similar to Quarriors. I have never played that game so I can not comment on that. Basically, you start out with a small pool of dice that you draw from. Each turn you will score points for previously played dice, use your dice to attack Sauron (sauron's dice), then recruit more dice or restore tainted dice. You can build and thin your pool. It is like deck building but with dice. There are location cards that help the storyline move along as well as adding more dice options. Different characters in the game have unique powers when using the dice associated with them.

Some issues I would like to address. Some reviewers complained about dice defects. Mine were fine so perhaps I got lucky? The rulebook was a nightmare. Fortunately I watched a run-through of the game by Rahdo on youtube so I had a good idea of how to play it before even getting it. You can also download a revised version of the rules from the game publisher's website. Until you've played this game several times, I would count on the playtime lasting longer than what is printed on the box. I have only played this a s a two-player game but it plays well at that number. At times it feels like three people are playing because "Sauron" gets his turn. With the revised rules, it can be played as a semi-cooperative game or fully cooperative. Also there are variants for making the game more difficult if you so choose.

This is my first experience with "dice building" and I must say that, once I learned how to correctly play the game, I rather enjoy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2013
I'm having a lot of fun with this game. Anyone familiar with the game Quarriors will pick it up pretty quickly since it uses the same basic mechanics and the dice iconography is the same.

Although this game is quite different from Quarriors since instead of fighting each other, you are working together to defeat Sauron (each player will take turns playing him after all the other players have finished their turns). Even though you are cooperating to ultimately win the game, there will still be a "winner" due to an interestingly implemented glory mechanic.

Players get to choose between "mustering" which causes them to attack Sauron and gain glory points when their dice survive Sauron's attacks till the next turn, or they can "prepare" their dice, which makes them available for other players to use in combat and can give other helpful effects. Glory can also be used to buy down Sauron's corruption points which the enemy uses to corrupt dice and make them useless to players. So there's a fascinating tradeoff between helping your fellow players and getting the most points to beat them, it's almost like the Eye of Sauron is corrupting you as you play the game.

There are some downsides. The game is very easy, especially if everyone works together and doesn't hog glory points. Still, the easy difficulty might not be the worst thing, especially if you are sick of constantly getting your butt handed to you in other co-op games like Pandemic or Flash Point or if you are playing with youngsters who don't like losing. The components were a bit rushed and it shows in the paint application on some dice. The instruction manual is absolute garbage, but Wiz Kids instantly re-wrote the manual to make it much clearer after customers complained (make sure to download it from their website or from boardgamegeeks.com before playing, otherwise you will have a bad time). As in any game that relies mostly on dice, luck is a huge factor in how your turns play out.

Despite it's minor flaws, I love this game. Perfect for people who love dice games and want a little more complexity than Yahtzee or King of Tokyo.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2014
I like the game. I do not like the quality of the dice in the game. Half of them have some type of issue with them. According to the company I can only get three dice from them or else must send pictures. We are talking close to 50 dice that have imperfections with most of the imperfections being that there is not ink in all of the grooves making the dice difficult to see. The game play itself is good once you throw out the rule book and go online for the revised rule book which makes a lot more sense. So check your dice, download the good usable rulebook from online and then you will have an enjoyable time playing. Lost the star due to quality of dice not quality of game play.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2013
The game itself is a lot of fun, however, the rulebook is not very clear on the flow and timing of events during play. I had to watch a You-Tube video to figure out how to play it properly and insert house rules to make it work.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2013
Its a great game, and a awesome twist from Quarriors, but be warned that 1) the book is a mess and not well organized for teaching the rules, and 2) even after you know the game, the play time is NEVER a half hour--- plan on at least an hour or two.

That being said, however, I greatly enjoy the game, and the playtime was not laggy-- just way over their given range. It comes in a lovely lidded dice tray for inbox storage too. I used TCG card sleeves as well. I enjoy the cooperative elements, be you fully cooperative, or also striving for individual scores as you play. I personally like it better than Quarriors.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2013
This game is very similar to Quarriors in many ways, but is more strategic. That also means it takes longer, but once you get used to the dynamic, it's a really fun game to play.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2016
A Quarriors cooperative experience. Not bad overall a little difficult
To dive right into
Game
Play but I managed to figure out the rules with the help of YouTube.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2014
Good quick game with cool looking dice and cards, comes with everything you need to have a fun adventure, even velvet dice bags! Worked great with my gaming group and even played with my son who is 5 years old and he enjoyed it as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here