Amazon Vehicles Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Spring Savings Event on Amazon.com Ellen



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 14 reviews
on July 27, 2009
I do a lot of hiking in the national parks and rely on Falcon Guides for good trail information. I have the first edition of the Glacier/Waterton guide so I thought I would get the latest edition for a recent trip. I still like this edition, but I agree with some other reviewers that there are some disappointments. Gone are the elevation profiles (which give you a snapshot of the gain and loss for the hike). As also mentioned, now several trails are combined on one map (GPS-compatible). That actually proves useful when several trails are part of a larger trail system (e.g., the Grinnell Complex), but this can be confusing for other trails (not to mention a little harder to find the maps for individual trails).

The first edition didn't have an index, so having one here is a plus (even if, as someone else mentioned, it's not as good as the second edition's). The third edition also has a nice trail comparison (though it should have distances) indicating which trails have waterfalls, lakes, meadows, etc. This edition also has several more pages of general information than the first edition, and descriptions of two additional trails. Although most of the trail descriptions seem to be the same as the first edition, the pictures accompanying them are new (though still not that great because they are in black and white).

On the whole, I recommend this book if you don't have an earlier edition. If you have the first or second edition you can probably get by with them if you also check other sources for updated park information (such as the free shuttle on the Going-to-the-Sun Road).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2012
I purchased the Kindle edition just before heading out to Glacier in 2012. I referenced the guide frequently in planning our hikes, but I found the 4th edition (available in the national park but not through Amazon at the time) to be far superior. The graphics in the Kindle edition are poor and the maps difficult to read (low resolution). Unlike this edition, the 4th edition includes color maps and photographs, as well as elevation profiles. If you're heading to Glacier in 2012, hold off on purchasing this now and get the 4th edition in the park. If you're only interested in easy to moderate day hikes under 10 miles round trip, check out Falcon Guide's Best Easy Day Hikes (Glacier and Waterton Lakes National Parks) by Erik Molvar. I also recommend the Moon Glacier National Park Handbook by Becky Lomax.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2012
After using Falcon's Yellowstone guidebook to successfully plan and hike a 75-mile route through Yellowstone last year, I assumed that this book would be equally useful for planning our upcoming Glacier backpacking trip. I was wrong. This book is oriented almost entirely to casual dayhikes plus a few overnighters. There is one small section in the back of the book relegated to "extended trips," with one or two paragraphs at most describing the longer treks that most backpackers are interested in. There is a complete lack of mileage data, elevation profiles, and detailed "trail beta" that I had hoped to find.

Don't use this book to plan a backpacking trip that's more than an overnight trip! C'mon Falcon, let's get some real useful data in here so it can be used to actually plan a trip longer than 2 days!
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2016
excellent guide to an extensive area, we had a great time on many of the trails, so if one is closed or the weather not favorable, one has a many alternatives to chose from. Listing of difficulty levels, and descriptions are very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2008
Went went on several hikes listed in the book in a recent trip to Glacier. It is pretty informative, but there were a couple of shortcomings. The description for the location of trailheads could have been a little better and the description of some of the hikes we went on were a little vague. Overall, still a good book and would recommend to anyone wanting to hike in Glacier.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2010
Glacier National Park is for hikers. The drive-through approach along the historic and spectacular Going to the Sun Highway is wonderful and memorable (and can be done with the efficient shuttle system), but the real action is provided by getting into the backcountry. It is truly the "last best place"!

We have been visiting the Park every year since 1974, and this guide has become our trusted advisor for planning day hikes and overnight trips. During the summer, a copy is kept at our bedside in order to plan new ventures. Glacier can be a challenging park to hike with rapid weather changes and highly varied terrain. We view this guide as important to survival as gore tex, first aid, water bottles and broken-in footwear.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2011
Worth buying, but the pictures aren't great. Also, much of the information is subject to weather so you might be better off just calling the visitor center/ranger station. Good book though if you already have trails in mind and just want some more information/maps.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2010
very good from what i've seen so far. i would have liked to have the approximate time of the hike included.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2012
Very good guide book, good descriptions and maps. This book was extremely helpful in planning hikes and accomodations.
I would highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse