Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Hill Street Blues Season 3
Amazon Vehicles Editors' Picks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Shop Now STEM

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
79
Format: Amazon Video|Change
Price:$20.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 21, 2008
Hill Street Blues - Season 3

I have been waiting, assuming that for some weird reason it was decided not to go ahead with the DVD transfers of the series after Season 2. Hill Street Blues had the greatest, BAR NONE, ensemble cast I have ever seen in a series. We actually CARED about those people when we watched it back then. We knew their likes, their dislikes, their relatives, and even about their love lives. Of all the police shows I have ever seen, this one was the most imitated, in style. The camera work, initiated in this series by Bochco, was used in many subsequent shows and series. But over and above the mechanics -- we loved the people in that show, from Belker to Bobby Hill, to Sergeant Esterhaus -- the list goes on and on.

For Pete's sake, just release Season 3, and then finish the series out with a rapid release of the final seasons. There has to have been more than just a handful of people in the 80s who watched this show, and loved it. Not only the greatest cop show, but possibly the greatest show of the entire decade.

Sign up for this one, people -- if you were there, you remember watching this show, and you'll want to see it again.
77 comments| 110 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2008
Okay, so maybe they're going forward with season 3 after all - however, they already had it "digitized." How in the world are we going to get 4-7????? Stop the madness! Release the whole box set so the people that love can own it! And please restore the "Previously on Hill Street Blues" to the show!!!!

THank you.
22 comments| 59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2008
I had forgotten how good this series is. After watching S1 and 2 I couldn't wait for them to release S3 on DVD, so I purchased the downloads. I watched them all in 2 days. I wished Fox would get off the fence and release the rest of the series.
11 comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2008
One of the best all time TV dramas that deserves to have the entire series on DVD. Please add your name to the wait list, perhaps the demand will convince Fox to release the remaining seasons on DVD. Writing to them won't hurt either.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2008
PLEASE EVERYONE Show your support for additional seasons by adding your name to this list. This is the best TV show ever created. Its fans deserve to have it on DVD.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2008
Please FOX, end the agony! Give us the remaining HSB seasons for our collections and satisfy all the die-hard fans out here! We've been ever-so-patient! Hill Street is the best cop drama ever and had one of the best ensemble casts ever and still holds up. Please don't keep it hidden away in some Hollywood vault, but share it with devoted fans and create new fans too! Please and Thank you in advance. Hurry, we are salivating from waiting so long!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2008
When will the powers that be see the garbage they are throwing at us now and release some previously seen good material like HSB Seasons 3-end? I've had it up to my eyeballs with all that REALITY nonsense.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2008
They need to realize that some people are reluctant to buy new sets of shows in case the studio does what they've done here. Release 1-2 sets and stop. Most want the complete set. And then they cry about bootleggers, long live the pirates!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2012
As soon as the theme music began I could feel that old familiar feeling that always came with knowing that the episode I was about to watch was going to be time well spent. Hill Street Blues is still one of the best TV shows ever, and always will be. Laughs along with in-the-gut drama just flow seamlessly together into an exciting story line. The characters grew and developed so that when one left the series, the loss was almost like losing someone you knew. I couldn't help caring about what happened to them and also enjoyed laughing at the goofy situations they often found themselves in. I've enjoyed other shows that didn't come close to the quality that Hill St. brought, with abundance, to nearly every episode.

Its sad that people are missing out on watching this show and will never know what they have missed. And its a shame that the show's creators and actors and writers aren't getting the recognition they deserve for their fine work. This program is entertainment at its best. If there is anything this good playing on network or cable today, I'm not seeing it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2011
Now that 20th Century Fox has gotten into the made on demand dvd business with their back catalog of MGM titles, lets hope they put this wonderful concept to some real good use and release the rest of the classic seasons of Hill St. Blues. And if they still want to remain cheap and stubborn, then why don't they sell the licensing rights temporarily to Shout Factory-they did such flawless jobs with the shows That Girl and Rhoda (both picture quality and special features). It's a crime(no pun intended) that a truly classic show like Hill St. should sit languishing on a shelf in a warehouse somewhere just because the folks in charge at Fox may be convinced they won't make millions of dollars in per season dvd profits. Paramount has been steadily releasing many of their back catalog titles like The Fugitive, Hawaii 5-0 and others, including Mannix and Vegas, 2 older shows that I'm sure aren't raking in multi-millions of dollars in profit for Paramount, but are making their legions of fans happy. And with all the talk going around that the releasing of dvds will probrably start to become obsolete within the next 3-5 years, lets hope Fox does put their classic tv titles out before they decide to quit releasing dvds altogether and make their titles available only thru streaming and downloading, which I honestly fear is probrably all they may be interested in doing!
22 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse