Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now PSFF17_gno

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 342 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 586 reviews
on February 13, 2017
This is for the 2017 Criterion Blu-ray edition: This film, along with (finally) a first-rate print of 1931's "The Front Page" is a revelation in picture and audio quality. They can't get any better than this.

It IS a pity that Criterion has apparently given up on recordings new commentary tracks because "His Girl Friday" is so chock full of great unsung supporting players and clever dialog, it would've been a real pleasure to listen to one of the many excellent film historians who would've spotlighted all of the performances and quirks in this classic screwball comedy.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2016
Fabulous classic -- need to watch it at least once a decade. Although famous among researchers of dialogue for having an average of 240 words per minute of dialogue (more than twice the average for a movie), the real reason to watch is that every word counts, creating a tapestry of characters and motives that would probably have been spun into at least a mini-series in the more modern movie world, perhaps even into a franchise of "His Girl {friday|saturday|sunday|...}"

Although officially a romance (and starring the heartthrob male lead of that era), it is really about two people who love their work and love working together. It is so clearly about work instead of romance that the remake (Front Page) had no troubles from switching the lead reporter to a male role.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2017
This movie is always a joy to watch Rosalind Russell steals the movie and Carry Grant is the perfect foil for her. As far back as I can remember I have been a fan of old B&W movies! I have always had a crush on Rosalind Russell when I saw her in No Time for Comedy (1940) with Jimmy Stewart. I always thought that Carry Grant and Rosalind Russell had such chemistry and had such a witty racy repartee that made me want them to be in more movies! For America in the 1940’s Rosalind Russell character Hildy Johnson was way ahead of her time, she was a 1980’s woman in a time warp. Smart, Sexy and able to keep men in check, if you know what I mean. The character is a woman that both men and women are enamored with. To women, she is that strong woman who is smarter, wittier, and more talented than the men around her. To men she is an incredibly beautiful woman who can keep up with anything a man does, she is the Smart, Sexy and oh so desirable with her witty banter! Even though in 1940, this might have been deemed as a threat to most men. Personally, as a Gen-Xer I think it is ridiculous to believe that all men would be threatened by such a hot sexy woman like Hildy Johnson in the 1940’s! Russell, who was very much like her character in the movie in many ways, paved the way for other “career women” roles in the 1940s, which was a character that she in particular perfected to the point of being typecast in future movies.

As for my Overall review, it’s an enjoyable movie and was of fair quality to watch as an old B&W movie that was streaming on a tablet. I own this movie on VHS and I have downloaded it on the way home from work so I have yet to put it up on a larger viewing screen. Picture quality is an issue when watch old B&W on our modern high def. equipment but I really don’t mind it’s the story and content that I love so much about this movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2017
First, I like the film and I appreciate the clean-up by Criterion but the real reason, you should buy it is the other film, The Front Page.. Friday is based on the 1931 film but the changes in the script make it a different film. Jack Lemmon and Walter Matthau starred in another production of the Front Page in 1974. Both films are considered screwball comedy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2015
speaking of which version to get, which version to stream is not indicated anywhere on this site, so i'll point out, after checking all three, that the version with the above cover is the high definition transfer, while the other two are seemingly very blurred remnants from an old VHS transer - that's just guess. So - even though this one has the misleading cover of looking as if it has perhaps been coloized - it is actually by far the easiest on eyes accustomed to 2015 levels of resolution -- and even though it has used a fiarly inexpensive re-digitizing process that increases the grain - it's still much easier to watch.

speaking of the varying levels of quality in the transfer of this film - which remains, to this Columbia Journalism School graduate - the greatest and still most accurate of all films made about American reporting - THIS COVER IS THE ONLY HD VERSION FOR STREAMING. why this one, I have no idea - but the other two are blurry low-resolution that look like a remnant from the first VHS transfer, while this one has been cleaned up digitally and had its line count enhanced - even though whatever process they used increased the grain, and can't be compared to, say, any of the Criterion remasterings of black and white classics - it's still much easier on 2015 eyes than the other two. So this is the one to choose, even with its color photograph cover which hints of a colorized version - it is not. It's black-and-white. (and btw, the Netflix version of His Girl Friday is not only blurry but out of sync by at least two frames, so avoid)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2016
The banter between Grant and Russell is top notch. It doesn't matter if it's the 1930's or today, it seems news people haven't changed. Listen to the various accounts, told simultaneously, by the newspapermen to their respective papers via telephone of one news story. The story moves along, only found one or two of the bit players a bit over-the-top in their characterizations - but from other movies of the time with these same actors, that was how they played it. And, you have to realize this is the 1930's when women worked in jobs like this until they got married and had children, so Hildy dreaming of the white picket fence and a husband who came home for supper each night was something to attain. It was a man's world, and Hildy only the "Girl Friday" who took care of everything in the background.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2017
The movie is wonderful, but the streaming kept pausing and stuttering. Newer movies work fine, so I suspect its a quality issue and not a streaming issue. It made the movie extremely difficult to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2016
The only reason that I didn't give this movie 5 stars is that the DVD has no menu nor special features. The movie itself is a fast paced farce about a romantic triangle, a murderer, and a newspaper scoop. Rosalind Russell and Cary Grant spit out their lines with machine-gun-like rapidity, telling the story of a newly-divorced newspaper reporter on the cusp of her second marriage whose ex-husband convinces her to put out one last scoop for his paper in exchange for a whopping life insurance policy sold by her intended. Of course, the ex has an ulterior motive and a list of dirty tricks that is very entertaining.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2017
This one of those movies that you can watch over and over again. It is fast paced, with an amazing cast. I have seen it many times and each time I have enjoyed as if it was the first time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2012
fabulous dialogue. Fine acting. A perfect example of the quick witted humor of the 30s, before there were cell phones and everything was abbreviated.

clever and fun repartee, though a bit overwhelming at times. The actors seem to know they are cute... but except for those moments Miss Russell hits the mark and sets the standard for the hard nosed new woman of the 30's. ( pre war 40s..)
The story... divorced couple still in love, but she is heading for the suburbs with an unsuspecting protestant insurance salesman, and He, the editor of a newspaper, is not about to let her go without a fight. He tricks and maims
and upsets the happy apple cart, using characters of unsavory remark, and employing every dirty trick to exhaust the husband ( and his mother) before they can board that train for HappyeverAfterville.. Meanwhile someones life is at stake,
a man has murdered a policeman. Here is where the story takes on an unexpected complexity. This mild mannered unemployed sadsack has not only shot a policeman - but a black policeman - they emphasize - and you know what that
means. Liberals will be lining up to have him killed. Why? To keep the black - I mean 'colored' vote. Colored in these decades was a term used by hipper white folks who, while surely racists, did not want to be so. It felt the least degrading.
So you hear a complaint about a black man who has been killed and a white man who will be killed in return - because he is black! and you know how we aren't allowing any black folks to get killed right now. I mean it goes by so
fast but it, while maybe appearing to be honest, is downright racist and frightenly so. Then the socialist stuff. This out of work killer would just walk around in the rain in the park, he was hungry, sad, lonely. He'd been fired after
a lifetime. And he hears a speech about everything must have a use. And then he has the gun in his hand and... IT seems that there was probably a lot of socialize propaganda going on at the time, i get that impression by the easy
reference to things that no longer seem clear. So I like this complexity, especially since on the surface it just seems to be a comedy of no particular merit except for the fabulous rhythm of the writing and the beautiful spirits of Rosalind Russell
and Cary Grant.

Culmination- the news room above the gallows...with the various scribes, their phones and their garters, who care about no one and nothing but the story, playing cards waiting for the execution. Our lady journalists stops by
and so does the lady witness who had tried to do the poor sap a good turn and take him in...only to be slandered in the press by mocking innuendo. The sad, tiny killer hiding in the rolltop desk, an effeminate writer who, when he offers to come to her wedding Russell quips ( you can be the bridesmaid..) and the irascible orchestrator of this rondo, Cary Grant, handsome enough to carry the scene when the dialogue is to exhausting to stay with. All this goes by without blinking an eye, no reactions, just hit after hit, its operatic, really.. Then enters the ignoramous messenger and the corruption is revealed..... A Capra-esque stew of Shakespear proportions written in the gritty street style of the 30's. I love
this movie. And, in the hands of Howard Hawks, it is a classic of its kind.
You MUst see it if you have not.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse