Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Oprah's Book Club Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon victoriaS2 victoriaS2 victoriaS2  Three new members of the Echo family Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18_gno

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
12
Historic Spots in California: Fifth Edition
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$7.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on May 2, 2016
Loved this book! So much good information about CA history. My family has been here for about 300 years and I've found a ton of information on them in this book. Well organized by county with a good index.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 14, 2011
My husband and I love this book! We read it aloud while travelling and find ourselves taking little side trips just to see the sites mentioned in the book. I understand that some earlier versions had maps in them. Hopefully changes in printing technology will make the cost of printing maps more reasonable for future editions. I certainly appreciate the huge amount of work that has gone into the creation of this book. You will, too!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 31, 2012
This book is organized first by county, then by city, rancho, road, or trail. This makes it a good reference if you're planning to visit a certain geographic area. The index is thorough, the table of contents lists the counties. Of the areas I am intimately familiar with the number of entries is extensive, but the entries themselves feel brief. There is not much in the way of narrative in the entries, they have a very "Joe Friday: Just the facts ma'am" style. I think this book is a good "jumping off point" to start research into a geographic area of interest, each entry mentions important names and events. Quality printing and editing is evident.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 11, 2015
After buying this book I won't travel anywhere in CA without first consulting it. Gives insights into historic sites county by county. Loaded with information.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 7, 2014
1/2 of the historical spots in San Diego were not mentioned and some of the information was wrong, Stanford should be ashamed!!!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 13, 2011
Outstanding reference material for historic spots in the state of California. Makes for good trip planning when in CA. I use it to scout out motorcycle trips to areas that I might otherwise miss for exploring. The book has answered a lot of questions about houses and sites seen while on the road that pique interest but may be inconvenient to stop and investigate. The book is also help in surprising Klampers with some little known historical information. Great price from Amazon!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 31, 2016
An ambitious work, with a lot of great information, but a bit outdated now. Needs to be revised. Many of the sites have changed their hours, and some are closed. For a much better approach for Northern California, see the new book Historical Gems of the San Francisco Bay Area.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 15, 2015
It is ok, a decent overview but just very basic information about each location. I was hoping for more detailed history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 24, 2012
we are disappionted our area of Califorina was omitted. we were looking for specific historical information on the Seiad area of the Klamath River that was quoted from an earlier edition of Historical Spots in California.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 6, 2013
Comprehensive book, including historical information no longer current but critical to understanding background of locales. Easy to access by county.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

'California Historical Landmarks'

Need customer service? Click here