Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 32 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 39 reviews
on March 10, 2014
This 90-minute History Channel documentary (ignore the dust jacket that says it is 100 minutes) from 2005 is a fun and fast-moving analysis of military battles in the Old Testament or Hebrew Bible, starting with Abraham's rescue of his nephew Lot and continuing through the military exploits of figures like Moses and the judge Deborah. Unlike many older History Channel videos deceptively packaged under recent copyrights in the same style of artwork, this is actually a modern (i.e. within the past ten years) production that features excellent CGI animations and rousing battle recreations. This video is no stale 1990s documentary with still art photography and pompous voiceovers, like many older History Channel or A&E biblical documentaries, but is a slickly produced "infotainment" tour of the Bible in the more current History Channel style.

The film's details about weapons and tactics are a bit excessive, and the Vietnam veteran-professor who provides most of the analysis seems just slightly on the crackpot side, but it's fascinating to see the Biblical battles presented in a way that presumes the reliability of scripture as a historical text. While one wishes for a bit more stuff on the archaeological record of these events, the documentary offers the intriguing hypothesis that the Bible is a treasure trove of accurate military history replete with rich information about ancient battle tactics, and it does so in an entertaining way. The film is just a touch bloody, but it's not excessive, and it's not boring at all. It's certainly modern enough to hold the attention of young people today, with appealing graphics and visuals that catch the eye. I would recommend it for religion students both young and old, but also for military history buffs who enjoy learning about ancient military culture. "Bible Battles" is not very deep, but it's fun, and it is respectful of the religious texts without trying to deconstruct them.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2014
If you think the Old Testament is boring, order this CD. It covers major battles in the OT, giving background history and results of each battle and what it meant historically to Jews and Christians. Most of all, it shows strategies of battle that were of God and how His leading led to their successes. These strategies have been used successfully in modern battles as well. Who says you can't learn from history and/or the Bible?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2015
I like it. It went along with some of the books I am currently reading on Ancient Israel's history. So I could cross reference some of what I was reading , watching etc. It is however just a brief beginners overview. Not detailed. And although the "experts" they used are knowledgable. It is not endorsing of the divine intervention of God.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2011
This show is extremely well done. It is interesting and entertaining, with no moments that drag or make one lose interest. The narration, the comments, the cinematography, and the quality of the re-enactments are all first class.

Richard Gabriel, the author whose book, "Military History of Ancient Israel" The Military History of Ancient Israel, is the foundation of this show is the main narrator. As he explains, he is examining the Bible and the battles from the perspective of a soldier who has been in battle, who has felt the sweat, fear, blood, and pain, and also as military historian. As an expert in that field, he can read between the lines in a manner that few can match. Simultaneously, he points out that the Hebrew word used in the Bible as written to describe the Jewish people in Egypt as "slaves" has been mistranslated, and should be translated as workers. This is not the only mistranslation in the Bible. The 6th Commandment, thou shall not kill, actually must state, when translated correctly, thou shall not murder. If it actually said thou shall not kill, then Joshua, etc, would never have fought to conquer Canaan, and there is no indication that God was going to do all of the fighting for them, and they would have wandered in the wilderness forever.

It would be good if all Christians would take the current translations of the Bible and what they state with a grain of salt. Just becuase it has been drummed into all of us since Sunday school days does not make it correct.

Gabriel does not explain how God is assisting in any way. He is approaching it from the purely military analysis. I know from my own studies how easy it is, if one does not know a subject intimately, to overlook or misunderstand a writing or statement. I also know, for those subjects I do know, how easy it is for everyone else to overlook or misunderstand what is written, stated, or occurring. Every Christian can decide for themself exactly how God interacted in each battle with each leader.

This military analysis makes a great deal of sense. How slaves could have escaped from Ramses II and his army has always been a stretch, even with Charlton Heston parting the sea.

Nothing that is in this show is anti-Christian, or should diminish ones Christian beliefs. If anything, it should enhance them, for God, in His Wisdom, chose a people that could survive.

I do recommend this show. At the very least, it is a great thought starter. More likely, it is a revelation that makes great sense as well as being time well spent.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2014
An amazing look at stories that you probably have heard of as a child in Sunday school or just reading the Bible. The film puts a new spin on some very old battles. Looked at from the perspective of military strategy, the stories of Moses, Saul, and others as they fight to gain their freedom and establish statehood is refreshing. Moses as warrior, pillars of fire that are not necessarily from God; the walls of Jericho fall down with spies and maybe not so much trumpets in the literal sense....all of these stories are shown to be sources of military strategy in themselves at the time AND later in world history. This approach is somewhat controversial in that it sees the battles of the Bible as metaphors for real strategies. It also shows the early warriors of the Bible to be as blood thirsty as their enemies, and just as calculating. It is a History Channel episode well worth buying and watching...with an open mind. And you'll want to watch it again and again to get the details.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2016
Great Product and service covering a part of the Bible that most just glance over.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2007
If you are studying the Old Testament of the Bible, this History Channel program gives a unique perspective of events of the time, told from the point of view of the soldier. The perspective is supported by both Biblical text and Egyptian texts describing the various events. This program provides a humanistic opinion of Old Testament events that involved warfare as told in a very logical sequencing of military thought and strategy. I highly recommend this program for anyone doing in depth study of the Old Testament or Torah.
33 comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2015
I was very pleased with my order. My order meet my expectations. I enjoyed watching this DVD. I thought it was interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2009
I am very impressed at how this documentary was produced and only wish that it was longer! The re-enactment scenes are violent and real! The program is fast moving and very exciting! It's like watching an adventure movie and you learn a great deal at the same time! I highly suggest this documentary for anyone interested in Ancient warfare or Biblical studies!!!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2016
no comment
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here