Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

History of the Organ, Vol. 3: The Golden Age

5.0 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews

Additional DVD options Edition Discs
New from Used from
(Oct 28, 2008)
"Please retry"

Unlimited Streaming with Amazon Prime
Unlimited Streaming with Amazon Prime Start your 30-day free trial to stream thousands of movies & TV shows included with Prime. Start your free trial

Editorial Reviews

This volume in the series outlines the history of this magnificent instrument, ranging from the beauty of the sound to the wealth of the music written for it. This DVD focuses on the first half of the 18th century - the Golden Age of organ music. The Fren

Special Features


Product Details

  • Actors: Gustav Leonhardt, Andr Isior, Xavier Darasse, Daniel Birouste, Gilles Cantagrel
  • Directors: Nat Lilenstein
  • Format: Multiple Formats, Color, Full Screen, NTSC, Subtitled
  • Language: German (PCM Stereo), English (PCM Stereo), French (PCM Stereo)
  • Subtitles: Spanish
  • Region: All Regions
  • Aspect Ratio: 1.33:1
  • Number of discs: 1
  • Rated:
    Not Rated
  • Studio: Arthaus
  • DVD Release Date: October 28, 2008
  • Run Time: 52 minutes
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • ASIN: B001F1YBMQ
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #176,894 in Movies & TV (See Top 100 in Movies & TV)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Verified Purchase
This third volume of this series was somewhat elusive to obtain, but, after regular searches and watching, I was finally able to purchase one. For a time the purchase price on various sites was really prohibitive. The history is compelling, the narratives are informing and the performances on the several instruments are fascinating. This volume contains a particularly interesting and informative segment on organ building. The wind chest and bellows are explained. The different types of pipes and the voicing of pipes is shown. A pedal board under construction can be seen. Once again this third volume is hard to find, but, keep searching, be patient and one will pop up. Just be realistic about the price and refuse to pay an premium amount.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Verified Purchase
The Four Volumes that make up this documentary are very informative, and include musical examples composed for the various periods which best show the advances in the development of The King of Instruments. The journey takes us from Italy, Spain, Germany and France to discover and listen to the changes that make up the history of this wonderful instrument.
Volume One (53 Minutes) covers the Latin, or Italian, Origins.
Volume Two (55 Minutes) covers from Sweetlinck to Bach
Volume Three (52 Minutes) covers The Golden Age
Volume Four (52 Minutes) is entitled The Modern Age
Comment 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse