Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Fall Reading Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 87 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 124 reviews
on June 13, 2017
This book is hard going for the average music lover but great as a textbook for music students. I've struggled through most of it because I like the history of music but not quite this much history.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2015
I had a paper to write on the evolution of European music. If you have to write a paper like I, or if you have intellectual curiosity, I would wholly recommend this book. It spans from the Ancient Greeks to Schoenberg, and the detail and references provided are simply astounding. You could take a whole year of classes based off of what is in this book. Don't let it's publication date fool you, this book shines above all others. Truly the definitive work on European music.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2013
It's difficult to envelop all of the HIstory of Music into one textbook. There is so much to cover, and this book not only does a pretty good job of it, but also gives you other resources to look into.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2013
Accompanied with the Anthologies of the same title this set is great for learning about the history of music. Clear and easy to read it explains everything about the music of the times covered in this edition. Great.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2013
Took for a college class--very informative. Recommended for music majors, which I am not! Good reading anyway. Interesting, with lots of explanations
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2015
Well written. Incorrect information from the previous edition was edited and corrected.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2016
This book also comes with online access, which I used more than the physical book. The ability to search within the textbook was great. The content of the matter of the book is dry, but that is expected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2013
This is a great product, exactly what the description states. I am satisfied with my purchase. I would highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2015
Expensive, but worth the money. Very well written and interesting to read -- even if you are not a Classical Music Fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Not the latest version but what our music faculty will be using.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse