BCA Month Salon Beauty Fall Reading Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited $69.99 Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment outlanders3premiere outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on May 23, 2016
A bit contrived and often flat in the scenes between Hitch and Alma (what Hitch himself would have done with placid English domesticity curdled with perverse impulses!). But Tony Hopkins' Hitchcock is a nice piece of impersonation. And Scarlett Johansson's Janet Leigh is crisp, a sharp little miniature of tone and likeness. Some specific complaints: the first act seems rushed. Some histories have "Psycho" coming as a result of Hitchcock's shrewd reading of the emerging market for cheap, dark little exploitation/drive-in movies. "Hitchcock" instead casts the movie as a make-or-break moment for Hitchcock's commercial viability—which it may have been, but those beats are thinly established. Instead the movie pursues a melodramatic subplot in which Hitchcock suspects Alma is cheating on him. He's tormented by his suspicions and his fears, which are voiced by Ed Gein himself as a kind of spectral conscience. A bizarre and distracting choice (maybe Bosley Crowther would have made more sense). Getting any movie made is enough of a tale of farce and treachery; why the creative team added this layer of misdirection is hard to figure. For my own taste, it would have been much more illuminating to have the film plumb Hitch's creative and commercial response to the "Psycho"-like cheapies that were crowding out his own brand of filmmaking. The point is that "Psycho" was a turning point for Hitch; his sexual obsessions became starker and less playful after "Psycho." The film is more like a shrieky coda to "Vertigo" than this film lets on. This movie depicts him stumbling and unsure of himself during the filming of what is rightly considered a masterpiece. There's some dramatic value to that, but it doesn't account for the masterly confidence of virtually every shot in "Psycho." If Hitch was an artist on the downslope of his powers, where did such a movie come from, given he was working with a rookie screenwriter and the production crew from his TV series? What I missed most in the movie was some of Hitchcock's own wit in teasing out the perversity of quiet middle-class people who dabble in murder firsthand or once-removed.
33 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2017
Alfred Hitchcock is said to have quipped to Miss Bergman when she was struggling with a scene: "Ingrid, it's only a movie." The same may be said of "Hitchcock."

Hollywood's biopics notoriously play fast and loose with their subjects, be they Cole Porter ("Night and Day," 1946) or Johnny Cash ("Walk the Line," 2005). Sacha Gervasi's "Hitchcock" (2012) is no exception. Based on Stephen Rebello's "Alfred Hitchcock and the Making of Psycho" (1998)—an excellent, thoroughly researched, well-balanced book—"Hitchcock" gives its titular character the same treatment. By that I mean it often oversimplifies human complexity in order to entertain an audience. For instance: There's no evidence whatever—certainly not from Janet Leigh, who ought to have known—that Hitch uncorked his repressed fury by terrifying her while filming "Psycho"'s shower scene. That does injustice both to the director's craft and the actress's ability. Exactly how far the relationship went between Hitch's wife Alma Reville and writer Whitfield Cook, who worked on the scripts for "Stage Fright" and "Strangers on a Train," seems a matter of dispute—but in this film it serves a weak domestic, melodramatic purpose. Ed Gein's wandering in and out of Hitchcock's fantasies is pure chozzeray. For those who care to separate fact from fiction in "Hitchcock," NPR's interview with Patrick McGilligan, a reputable Hitchcock biographer—"Fact-Checking "Hitchcock": The Man, the Movie, and the Myth" (24 December 2012)—does a good job in short space.

That said, "Hitchcock" is graced by some splendid performances. Anthony Hopkins, wearing a fat suit that makes the director even more obese than he actually was in 1959-60, disappears into the character he is playing, even though he's been directed to present a more tortured, less witty characterization.. Scarlett Johansson conveys Janet Leigh's cheerful professionalism. In fleeting minutes onscreen James D'Arcy offers an uncanny portrayal of Anthony Perkins. But this movie belongs to the incomparable Helen Mirren, who captures in Alma Reville the qualities that those who knew her remember most fondly: her intelligence, wit, formidable strength, and unerring judgment. The consensus among those who knew them and have gone on record is that Hitchcock released none of his films unless they had satisfied Alma. When he paid attention to no one else, he always listened to her. If "Hitchcock" draws Alma Reville out of the shadows behind the great director and allows her a proper place in the limelight, it is movie worth having been made.

When, in 1979, the American Film Institute honored Hitchcock with a Life Achievement Award, he said to his audience: "‘I beg to mention by name only four people who have given me the most affection, appreciation, encouragement and constant collaboration. The first of the four is a film editor, the second is a scriptwriter, the third is the mother of my daughter, Pat, and the fourth is as fine a cook as ever performed miracles in a domestic kitchen. And their names are Alma Reville."
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon October 1, 2017
Must see for Hitchcock fans.
It's not just the story but there are impressions of Hitchcok style throughout the film.
I knew he was ingrained in my psyche but for example, one scene is reminiscent of a classic Hitckcock car scene & it gave me a chill.

Anthony Hopkins is brilliant as always. Got sucked into Westworld bc of him.
Helen Mirren is fantastic as his wife and, she doesn't just play a supporting role, she has her own storyline.
There is plenty going on to keep your attention yet the picture doesn't lose its focus, the history of Psycho.

Two new things I learned. It was based on actual true story.
Hitchcock sought it out & funded on his own bc at age 60 his relevance, to continue after a successful career, was questioned.
Psycho was his Swan Song to prove he would always have a voice.

There is one other fantastic twist that runs parallel to the main story line but, I don't want to ruin it for you.
Just know... It. Is. Good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2014
Alfred Hitchcock earned the title, “The Master of the Macabre,” by making over 50 movies involving murderous death and mayhem, and his signature techniques are still powerful today. I often give talks illustrated with clips from Hitch’s films, and it doesn’t matter if the audience is made up of high school students, teachers, writers, psychotherapists, or film buffs, they all react to classic suspenseful scenes like the out-of-control carousel from Strangers on a Train, the discovery of the farmer’s body in The Birds, the chase across the faces of Mt. Rushmore in North By Northwest, or the voyeuristic scenes from Psycho. The Psycho film is the centerpiece of the new biopic Hitchcock which not only showcases the director’s fears and foibles, but also his manipulation of women, collaborators, the press, and Alma Reville, his wife, co-writer, editor, script girl, and mother of his daughter, Patricia. This film places a little too much emphasis on the “McGuffin” of having Paramount Studios be unwilling to bankroll a black and white movie, when the truer story is how Hitch wanted to make more money off his films, and by being his own banker/producer, he reaped a huge profit. But you don’t have to be a film buff to delight in all the great work by the actors personifying Hitch, Alma, Janet Leigh, Tony Perkins, Vera Miles, composer Bernard Hermann and screenwriter Josef Stefano. Just sit back, relax, and be prepared to scream (and laugh, too).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2017
This is just fun. Some of the other reviews claim that this plays fast and loose with the facts, but in the end since I haven't read the book I can't say. But as I say the move is fun and I recommend it for folks who are looking for a pleasant something to wile away an evening.

I would suggest that people who are thinking that this is isn't particularly fact based, should consider the framing device. It starts and ends with Hitchcock giving the same kind of opening that he always did with his TV shows. It should give a hint that it isn't meant to be completely serious.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2016
As a teenager I knew Alfred Hitchcock and this film is an inaccurate view of him. Otherwise a good story.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2016
Best if you watch together with "Psycho". This was about the making of "Psycho" and well-done. Hitchcock was portrayed as kind of obsessive with his leading ladies, but movie portrayed Vera Miles and Janet Leigh as very decent (and Janet Leigh as also very nice). I liked that it didn't seem to trash anybody. Also touched on "North By Northwest" and hinted at next film, "The Birds". Actors/Actresses were great.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2017
If you're a Hitch, film, Hopkins, Mirren or ScarJo - great low key Hitchcock film... Well worth the rental!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2013
I loved everything about this movie. It was funny, poignant, and Anthony Hopkins should be nominated for an Academy Award for this flawless portrayal of a great Brit that became a loved American. What a wonderful insightful film. I've watched it 3 times already. It's without a doubt, the best movie I've seen in 5or 6 years. I can find enough adjectives to describe how I feel about Hopkins performance;;;and Helen Mirren really shined as well. It's in my top 5 favorite movies of all time;; that's how much I love this film. I'm surprised it did not do better at the box office. People don't know what they missed. It's as good as his great films.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2016
Interesting to watch, but not special. Although the movie focuses mostly on the challenges of making "Psycho" with a limited budget, and the relationships between Hitchcock and his wife and his lead actresses, I never felt that the actors were really invested in their characters.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Marnie
$3.99

Need customer service? Click here