Your Garage Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning LastTycoon LastTycoon LastTycoon  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 29 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 44 reviews
on July 12, 2014
The story of twin brothers with an obsession about Dolly Parton. They write a screen play for her and want to hadn it to her. They believe this will ensure she actually receives the play and not be dismissed by beurocrats that may work for her. The two boys are gay and part of a society devoted tom Dolly's music and her personality. There are a few clips when they actually meet Dolly and give her the screen play. Dolly is very dignified in her response and just beautiful. She is a very humane human. Her bits are unrehearsed ands she is just who she is. It is a lovely tale of devotion and would have ben nicer if some more bits of Dolly could be included. Her reaction to the screen play for example.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2016
Not as fun or campy as the title suggests. It seemed to me that it's really just the narcissistic video journal of a self-obsessed Dolly fan. Not entertaining.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2015
This documentary is cute and fun, although I thought was a little slow at some points and tended to repeat it's points too many times. Their dedication to meet and deliver to Dolly was entertaining and I was rooting for them. Full of Dolly music and an appearance by the queen herself made the time spent watching worth it. I would recommend watching this on a lazy afternoon when you have nothing else to do.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2014
Wonderful documentary and with a happy conclusion when the boys were able to meet Dolly and give her their script and the replica of her childhood home. Well done and directed with a real sense of the mission of the Lane brothers. I totally enjoyed the film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2013
There is nothing more I appreciate than humor and direct honesty about oneself and that is what these two young men have shown us. CONGRATULATIONS. It was and always will be a major part of my Media Library.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2013
I bought this because of the subject of Dolly Parton.
It's about coming out as adult gay men in the south, and that is the story line. Sure they rented an RV to drive from Hollywood to Dollywood, and yes they did meet Dolly, but their screen play may or may have not been acted upon. They spent 5 yrs writing it? Hmmm. It's about the south not accepting gay males (or females? ... not mentioned) and even parents closing the door permanently in the faces of gays who came out. It is only about Dolly because the twin adult men who wrote it, saw Dolly as accepting of anybody (though I imagine she's not particularly out there campaigning for gays). It wasn't that great and the reviews and titles suggest it's more than it is. It was interesting, but not that much unless you are a gay man and want to feel part of something bigger, if you're alone out there. I have gay family members, I'm straight, and accept people for what they are. This was not a move track about Dolly or her music in any way, and one track states: This "ALSO"... is the WHOLE story line, not an "also":
"Hollywood to Dollywood" also addresses the issue of homosexuality, people's prejudices toward our sexual orientation (yes I am gay too) and the problem the twin's mother has in dealing with having two gay sons.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2014
Great documentary from now two of my Facebook friends. It is both funny and touching. The twins are both handsome and sexy. And of course, we all three love & adore Dolly Parton.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2014
Beautiful story about following your dreams and self acceptance. Well done to Gary and Larry.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2013
Touching and heartwarming! Would buy again. A great statement on coming out in todays society, and how Dolly has helped so many.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2014
4 years and still going strong! we just made page 25 in the New book - 218 Success facts about Dolly Parton by Diana Reed!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here