Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon victoriaS2 victoriaS2 victoriaS2  Three new members of the Echo family Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Paperwhite Game of Thrones: The Complete Seasons 1-7 now available on Blu-ray and DVD Shop now TG18_gno

Hollywood Town Hall
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$10.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


This album set the tone not just for the rest of the Jayhawks' albums, but for the burgeoning Americana movement. When you listen to "Two Angels," there's no mistaking how Wilco owes as much to this album as to all of Uncle Tupelo. In a song like "Wichita," you can hear the roots of everything Ryan Adams has cut. "Hollywood Town Hall" is both seminal and a good listen in its own right.
But it's imperfect. There's not a lot of variation, structurally, from one disc to another. It's easy for your attention to wander and the songs to blend together. This is a shame, since each song is thematically distinct; but when the instrumentation sounds the same from track to track, you can miss it.
Some star tracks, like "Nevada, California," or "Sistar Cry," really do stand out, especially if you listen to Americana radio and have heard them before. And all the songs, with there Dylan-like opacity, suggest a much larger story behind what they tell us. This disk really presages everything good that was destined to come out of alt-country in the twelve years between this album and now.
Unfortunately, if you're not already into the genre, this isn't the album for you. But for those of us who love Americana, this is a sort of "Missing Link" album, and much worth listening to. Just remember, if your attention wanders, don't be afraid to listen to it again and again. It will grow on you, and very quickly too.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 18, 2017
Americana at its best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 21, 2013
The Jayhawks have a small but rabid following. They had little chart success, but you can hear their influence in many current country-ish singers - Ryan Adams and etc.

This is widely regarded as their classic album. At first (almost two decades ago!) I thought that all of the songs sounded alike...Further listening proved that the band had combined a well-developed and consistent sound with a variety of well-written songs. This really is an album that rewards repeated listening. It is probably the most-played album I own, and is in fact currently parked in my car's CD changer. It is ageless and timeless.

If you buy it and don't like it, listen at least three times. Seriously.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 20, 2011
If anyone is wondering either or not he should try a Jayhawks cd, this is the one to start off from.
This is the real masterpiece this band (and this genre)released.
Great harmonies, great fuzzy electric guitars and great song writing in a simple and clear production that makes the songs shine of their own beauty (instead of a beautiful production.

This new release adds some 5 pretty good previously unrreleased songs which are a treat for old fans and give a slightly different view of the band to a new listener.

The only one thing i have to say is: I would have make it a double cd and put the unreleased material in a differend cd, because despite the fact that they're all good songs(and i'm SO glad i have the chance to listen to them), those 5 new ones sound a little different and they kinda break the "integrity" of this masterpiece of music.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 5, 2011
This CD has always been one of my all-time favorites. So I was excited when they came out with the remastered and expanded edition. The sound quality is great and I love the new songs that were added to this CD. I highly recommend this CD to anyone who likes any type of music, but particularly rock, alt-country or country. The Jayhawks are a great band!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 12, 2015
A vastly underrated band at their best! Absolutely love every track. Well worth anyone's auditory time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 28, 2017
Sounds good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 27, 2011
If you're a fan of vinyl, this one's a no-brainer. A terrific album now benefiting from some vinyl mastering. I don't need to add anything to the other great reviews of the music, as this band's songs really stand up over time, and fans of vinyl records deserve class of this nature to get issued. Thanks to those who worked hard to get these Jayhawks reissues out on vinyl, they sound immaculate!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 20, 2004
Bands may come and go, as does their popularity. The Jayhawks have managed to stick around despite their relative lack of recognition. It's unfortunate that they have never had the following they truly deserve.

That being said, this is easily of the greatest albums ever made. This is the Jayhawks at their finest, and although subsequent albums have been tremendous, none quite lives up to Hollywood Town Hall. You can read descriptions of their 'sound', but it really must be experienced to be appreciated. So go ahead and hit the "Listen to All" button, or just order it already. An absolute must for any alt-country fan, but essentially a must for all music fans.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 21, 2017
really good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse