Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 17 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 23 reviews
on May 27, 2016
A masterpiece from one of the finest and most charismatic British food writers of her generation, and it was a generation that included Elizabeth David, Jane Grigson and more.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2014
I used to have it in paperback. well worn and well used. unfortunately I lent it to someone and can't remember who. I hav eto have this book in my kitchen! Wonderful recipes, so very simple, wonderful reading. I highly recommend it !
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2015
A gentle book recommended by a friend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2015
Fantastic recipes and stories
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2015
As far as books go, I am never letting this one go. It is an exquisite example of how to write, how to live, and how to cook. It came to me, from the seller, as if it where an heirloom, oh so carefully wrapped and packaged...perhaps they, too, have read it and own a copy, and treasure it so. The writer, by profession, was a jeweler. Well. She was able to create a gem from her experience.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2015
This book is an extraordinary memoir by an artist, biologist, cook book writer. She chronicles life in rural Mediterranean locations and the foods of the local people in a way that helps the reader understand food and food traditions as an integral part of life. This book is thoughtful, informative, and also challenging about our supermarket approaches to food and nutrition.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2017
This book has long been a favorite of mine. Most of the recipes I've used have been from the first, Greek, segment, but, as wonderful as the food is, the stories are what I come back to over and over.

I wish it was available electronically.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2016
I bought this as a gift for my significant other. From the reviews I've read people seem to like it or hate it, "get" it or not. She likes to travel and eat healthy for some strange reason, so it seemed like a good march, and she loved this book; she devoured it in a couple days.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
`Honey from a Weed' by Patience Gray, by my very informal survey of approximately 400 cookbooks over the last year is probably the single most cited culinary book after Harold McGee's `On Food and Cooking' and Julia Child's `Mastering the Art of French Cooking. And, I have been trying to place this most distinctive work in the world of culinary writing for about the same time. I think I am finally able to identify its niche in a way that will assist potential readers to know what it is they can look forward to.

It is no whim to the publishers, Lyons & Burford, tagging the work as `Cooking/Literature'. The quality of the writing is easily on a par with the greatest food writers in English and this talent is directed to producing an almost unique genre that can be approximated by combining at least three common genres of culinary writing. First, take 40% from culinary diarists such as Amanda Hesser's `The Cook and the Gardener' and Elizabeth Romer's `The Tuscan Year'. Then, leaven with John Thorne's brand of culinary reporting and bake in the oven of Elizabeth David's culinary sophistication and cosmopolitan outlook.

Like Hesser in `The Cook and the Gardener', Ms. Gray is `embedded' within the milieu's on which she reports. But like Hesser of `Cooking for Mr. Latte', Ms. Gray is also participating in these cultures of Tuscany (Beantown central), Catalonia (Spain on the Mediterranean coast just south of France), the Cyclades (Greek islands in the Aegean), and Apulia (the heel of Italy). She is living and working in these worlds in a way very uncommon for a typical journalist or scholar.

The events driving the book's backstory are the travels of Ms. Gray with her partner, never identified more exactly than by the references `the sculptor' and `a stone carver' to various sites around the Mediterranean which are homes to marble quarries for giving up raw materials for statuary. A sample of the poetic imagery in the book describes this fact as `A vein of marble runs through this book. Marble determined where, how, and among whom we lived; always in primitive conditions.' These primitive conditions place Ms. Gray and her companion smack into the heart of environments which well-fed culinary commentators such as Mario Batali have been describing as the wellspring of great cuisine in Italy and other parts of the Mediterranean. Making do with local seasonal ingredients is not an ideological position for Ms. Gray; it is a daily fact of life!

I am generally not impressed with authors' lists of kitchen equipment offered as suggestions for your kitchen in order to pad out an extra ten pages in their books, when whole volumes cannot deal with this subject. Ms. Gray's recitation of her kitchen gear is not to teach, it is to aid us in understanding her kitchen environment in these rocky corners of the world.

The text is divided fairly evenly between chapters that deal with the author's experiences in these places with chapters dealing with a class of recipes typical of the local folk. This means one can pick up the thread of Ms. Gray's dialogue with her environment at just about any page and follow it's thread through the Mediterranean labyrinth of cuisine, as suggested by John Thorne in his Foreword. Just now, I open the book at random to a description of the rural Tuscan method for preserving `lardo', the fat from the pig's rump which is rubbed with salt, sprinkled with some dried thyme and bay, and sealed in an earthenware jar, where it stays as sweet as the day it was stored. The finer fat from around the pig's organs, `lardo strutto', is saved separately and used for yeast cakes and pastry. In a single paragraph there is information which some authors have used to fill whole articles in `Saveur'.

One especially delightful confluence of the book's themes is the chapter on mushrooms found near the marble quarry used by Michelangelo. Having read more than one book on mushrooms by such experts as Antonio Carluccio and Patricia Grigson, I find Ms. Gray's writing on these mycological treasures to be as entertaining and as informative as some of the best known works on the subject by other culinary writers.

While virtually all of the recipes can be done in a modern American kitchen, Ms. Gray typically describes them as they are done `in situ' on the campfires and coal burning ovens available to her. This enhances her work as a study of primitive cookery, leaving it to us to translate the primitive to our electric All-Clad kitchens. The book is also a feast of words. Everything is labeled with its proper Italian, Spanish, or Greek names, with complete translations. This is, after all, a work of scholarship where names in the original language are needed to be certain that references in Italian, Spanish, or Greek books are matched up correctly.

While this is a book of scholarship as much as it is a literary effort, I am delighted that Ms. Gray has included two items that I consider essential to good culinary studies. The first is not one but an entire set of excellent maps identifying the locations that are the subject of her writing. The second is an excellent bibliography arranged by site that cites not just the usual sources such as Elizabeth David and Alan Davidson. It includes both ancient and modern sources in English and Spanish, Italian, and Greek. But, we are not left to our own devices with ancient Latin or Greek, as classical works are cited in good English translations. The author has also been so considerate as to provide a list of Corinna Sargood's line drawings that contribute much to the charm of the book.

I must encourage you to seek this book out if you love reading about food. The author lives and paints the culinary environment most other writers simply report. Very highly recommended.
0Comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2011
This is not a cookbook, and it's not a travel guide. Those expecting either genre will be variously disappointed and bewildered. It's an antropologist's approach to a culture that existed 25-35 years ago, and has largely disappeared. Gray has an immensely broad education, the brains to take advantage of it, and life experience to make her a unique person to comment on the things she has seen and "lived" around the Mediterranean.

The recipes are simply a bonus.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse