Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Horrible Bosses
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Ingrid Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Shop Now STEM

Format: Amazon Video|Change
Price:$2.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 8, 2011
Perhaps this is partly due to the very vocal and very packed theater I saw Horrible Bosses in, but I have to say that it was one of the best experiences I've had watching a comedy in a long time. This movie is funny, really funny. The writing is vulgar and clever, often at the same time. There is not one weak link in the cast. Jason Bateman, Charlie Day and Jason Sudeikis play the three main guys getting pushed around by their evil bosses. They then hatch a plan to kill each others bosses. Kevin Spacey, Jennifer Aniston and Colin Farrell play those three evil bosses. You also get other big names like Jamie Foxx, Donald Sutherland and an unexpected cameo from Bob Newhart. Everyone is great, but I have to give a special props to Jennifer Aniston. We finally get to see her in a role that showcases more of her talent than everything else she has done combined. She's funny, sexy and pulls of some nasty lines with ease.

I didn't plan on seeing this today, but I got bored, read some really positive reviews, felt spontaneous and headed to my theater. Best decision I've made in...well today. Forget the latest Hangover and check out one of the best comedies for grown ups in a long time.
66 comments| 108 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2011
There have been quite a few R-rated comedies this year, but they've all left something to be desired. Your Highness collapsed under being nothing but improvised toilet humor, The Hangover Part II was a complete rehash of the original, Hall Pass was just a disappointing attempt by the Farrelly brothers, and Bad Teacher was too tame to really be called "bad" at all. Paul and Bridesmaids were both pretty decent, but Paul wasn't nearly as good as the movies Simon Pegg and Nick Frost collaborated with Edgar Wright on and Bridesmaids pretty much played out like every other Judd Apatow movie out there. It was beginning to feel like every R-rated comedy from here on out would be so similar to everything before it that the laughs it tried to provide wouldn't be very funny at all. Thankfully, Horrible Bosses came along to prove that theory wrong.

What's interesting is that Horrible Bosses kind of follows the same formula as The Hangover; three guys getting themselves into a really terrible situation but roofies are replaced with a crazy scheme to kill their bosses. The funniest aspect of the movie lies within three guys, Nick (Jason Bateman), Dale (Charlie Day), and Kurt (Jason Sudeikis), obviously having no idea what they're getting themselves into and dealing with the situation in the worst way imaginable. Things get really crazy really fast and only get more hectic as the movie jogs along. That's essentially the movie's charm. While the formulas to the two movies are similar, Horrible Bosses does seem to offer quite a bit more than The Hangover.

The cast may be the strongest factor of the movie though as nearly everybody involved makes the most of their screen time and manages to get a laugh or two in no matter if they're a recognized name or a new face. Kevin Spacey, Colin Farrell, and Jennifer Aniston play the three bosses and they're all fantastic in their roles. Spacey just goes out of his way to be the most despicable person anyone could really come across while Farrell, despite being selfish and greedy, still manages to toss in a few pretty hysterical one-liners. Aniston will probably be the one that sticks out the most since she makes the biggest impact by being rather forward with her sexual desires for Dale. It's just such a different role from what Aniston has played in the past. The chemistry between Bateman, Day, and Sudeikis is really spot-on, as well. Their conversations, fighting amongst each other and interactions just make you really believe that these three have known each other for years. Even though his role is a little small, Jamie Foxx deserves a mention as well. Dean Jones turns out to just be a really entertaining character overall.

It's difficult to point out any sort of problems this comedy really has, if there are any at all. The film is extremely vulgar, but doesn't really feel entirely too crude or include any gross out gags like many R-rated comedies seem to fall victim to. None of the cast drags the movie down as they all do their part to drive the movie forward. I feel like it won't be as successful as some would think though and will be overshadowed by other comedies that aren't nearly as solid or as funny as Horrible Bosses is. That's really the only complaint anyone could possibly have.

Horrible Bosses is easily the most hilarious R-rated comedy of the summer. The strong cast, amusing dialogue, and entertaining banter between Nick, Dale, and Kurt is more than enough to sky rocket Horrible Bosses to the top of the list of comedies released this year. Charlie Day will have you laughing right from the start. Luckily, Horrible Bosses came along to inject some much needed hilarity into mainstream comedy this season.
99 comments| 78 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
First, let me say I wasn't a fan of Bridesmaids or The Hangover. Saw them both and wondered what all the hype was about. Second, I had scanned the reviews for this one before renting it and decided that since there seemed to be a 'half n' half' on it - some loved it and some were disappointed - it was probably worth a look. I'm so glad I did, as it was one of the funniest 93 minutes I've enjoyed in a long time!

The 3 main characters really aren't the bosses, but their employees. Each with their own set of quirks, these three friends have growing up together and remaining friends, and hating their bosses in common. What struck me about a third of the way in was how much it reminded me of the movie '9 to 5' - the theme of wanting to kill the boss and the comradery between the main characters.

All the characters were played perfectly. All of them are really one-dimensional, but they don't need to be more. It all works and you get some surprising big name stars you've not seen in awhile popping into the movie too.

Situational comedy is at the core of this film. It's not slap-stick, but the dialogue between the characters is sharp and on-point. If you are laughing too hard, the beauty of a rental is you can rewind to catch what you just missed! I did it several times while watching this movie.

You get a happy ending with lots of laughs from start to finish. The characters are fun, you empathize with the employees, feel the 'ugh' from the bosses, and laugh at the ineptness of regular guys who could be you, or your friends.

Horrible Bosses is for anyone who enjoys comedic bi-play without a concern for the movie 'should' or 'could' be. Just have fun with it! You'll be glad you did.

-----------------------------

UPDATE 11/17/15: I've probably seen this film half a dozen times more and I continue to enjoy it, finding new things to laugh about and considering this film one of my go-to, fun favorites.

It bears restating that it's not going to be for everyone, but if you're not overly sensitive to naughty, crude talk and like the actors (Bateman, Aniston, Spacey...) give it a look. For me, I find I like it more now than I did the first time I saw it, which doesn't happen all that often.

-------------------------------------
44 comments| 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2011
I was hesitant to rent this movie because it only had two and a half stars here, but we gave it a shot. This movie was freaking hilarious. My wife and I both loved it. Then we read the reviews to try to figure out why it was only two and a half stars. Some people are having some issues with the digital copy and therefore the actual movie rating is being affected. This is my first review here and I just wanted to write it to give the ratings a boost because it deserves 5 stars.
22 comments| 79 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2011
Horrible Bosses is a revenge fantasy on acid or better yet, a snort of cocaine. It's obscene. It's politically incorrect. It's boorish and absolutely hilarious. Everyone seems to have having a good time, especially the horrible bosses played by Kevin Spacey, Jennifer Aniston and Colin Farrell. Colin Farrell seems to be channeling Tom Cruise's performance from Tropic Thunder. He's completely unrecognizable as the kung fu obsessed tool of a boss, Bobby Pellit. Of course, no one does smarm better than Kevin Spacey. He's played this type of role before but never with so much glee. As for Jennifer Aniston, she is fabulous as the nymphomaniac dentist who lusts after her hygienist.

The premise is very simple. Three under paid, under appreciated and over worked employees played by Jason Bateman, Jason Sudeikis and Charlie Day decide that if they want their lives to improve, they need to murder their bosses. Thus begins the clever and very rude homage to Alfred Hitchcock's Strangers on a Train as well as Throw Mama From the Train.

It's an intelligent, witty and extremely well written movie. What made it more fun were unexpected cameos by Ioan Gruffudd and Bob Newhart. Ioan Gruffudd's scene as a potential assassin for hire is a riot.

This movie was a pleasant surprize.
33 comments| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2011
I don't write reviews. I have never laughed so much. This is falling out of your chair funny. BAD SANTA may have come close. Kevin Spacey and Jamie Foxx stole the show for me. I know you don't know me... but trust me, SEE THIS MOVIE!
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2011
I saw 'Horrible Bosses' on my birthday in July with two friends and it was by far the best way I've spent my birthday in years! To go into a movie with not a lot of expectation other than hoping that being a comedy with an all star cast, it would at least keep me somewhat entertained, and come out of the movie still laughing and laughing for days afterwards, is all I can say. I knew immediately I would have to have this movie on dvd and am pre-ordering it. If you don't think this movie is funny, then well, you just don't have a sense of potty adult humor, and that is unfortunate. I have also seen 'Bridesmaids' and 'Bad Teacher' this summer and while they are both very funny, they really don't even compare to 'Horrible Bosses'.
22 comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon July 9, 2011
I recall reading something a year or two ago about employee dissatisfaction. It commented that it tended to increase during times of economic trouble because employees who felt unhappy in the workplace didn't have the ability to escape. They were stuck with their current jobs, since leaving might mean they couldn't find another one. They also seldom got sympathy from other people who said, "Hey, at least you have a job!" This reached its culmination for me when the place where I worked put up a motivational poster that said, I kid you not, "I should be grateful I have a job." Indeed.

In this time of economic troubles, it's perhaps surprising that a movie like this, where three friends get together to kill each other's horrible bosses, hasn't come along already. Well, it sort of did in 1980 with 9 to 5, but that was a bit different. I don't think I recall Franklin Hart, Jr, shooting anyone.

The movie's title bosses are a corporate president (Kevin Spacey), a cokehead who inherited his father's chemical company (Colin Farrell), and, in one of the funnier performances, a dentist who doubles as a sexual predator (Jennifer Aniston). Their oppressed employees are, respectively, a man who is working hard for a position the corporate president takes for himself (Jason Bateman), a hard-working employee who loved the cokehead's father (Jason Sudekis), and a dental hygienist/sex offender who is recently engaged (It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia's Charlie Day). One night while mutually commiserating with each other in a bar a plan begins to take shape. What if they killed their bosses? Soon they have a "murder consultant" in the form of one MF Jones (Jamie Foxx), and, with vague memories that confuse Strangers on a Train with Throw Mama from the Train, the make ready to make murder.

I had no great expectations going into this film, but I was surprised at how enjoyable it was and how much I liked it (also surprising? The ten-year-old boy sitting next me. Some parents...). The film is as raunchy as you'd expect any adult-oriented comedy to be, but it uses its raunch to great effect. There's the expected jokes centering around sex and bodily functions, but nothing too extreme.

I was also surprised at how intelligent the movie is. At the start I was coming up with objections to the notion that the characters needed to kill their bosses instead of just get new ones, only to find the screenplay explaining why they couldn't just up and quit. I was also greatly amused when the friends ran into a former pal of theirs who'd lost his last job with Lehman Brothers and since had been forced to resort to offering a "hearty handshake", as it were, to men in bars.

The performances were excellent all around. Spacey in particular seemed to be having a great time playing a deliciously evil man, while Aniston was clearly happy to ditch her good girl image. Day, who is a relative newcomer to film, plays a character not dissimilar to that of Charlie Kelly, proves that he can certainly hold his own on the screen with the big boys (and girl).

The movie is ably directed by Seth Gordon, who keeps the action moving at a decent, but not frenetic, pace. He also knows when to throw in a good Tarantino homage. It's produced by the somewhat infamous Brett Ratner who proves that as a director, he makes for an acceptable producer.

This isn't the best comedy ever, but it was a good time at the movies, and after a summer that's included films like the rather dull Green Lantern and the aggressively boring Transformers: Bark at the Moon, I'll take what I can get.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2012
I think Horrible Bosses is a really funny movie; I rate it 5 star and hold it equal to some of the best comedies of the last 5 years (The Hangover, 40 year-old Virgin, Little Miss Sunshine). Considering the crude sexual jokes that seem to be prevalent in many recent comedies, I thought Horrible Bosses was very decent, except for a scene or two.

I think Jennifer Aniston was awesome, she was hot, she was funny, and her acting was great. Actually, all of the actors did a terrific job. Colin Farrell, like Jennifer Aniston, was in a very unusual role where he showcased his comedic skills which I didn't know he had. Kevin Spacey is great as usual; his portrayal of evil boss with gigantic ego was amazing (although his character gets too crazy in the end).

Totally Inappropriate Blu-ray edition has some extra scenes that are not in the theatrical release but they are not that many. I've seen this at the theaters recently and if my memory serves me rights, the following scenes are extra:

- When MotherFxxxx talks about the incident how he acquired the name MotherFxxxx, there is a flashback depicting the story
- There is an extra scene which shows Bobby having sex with some prostitutes

I really don't care for the Ultraviolet format as I watch my movies on big screen TV. I know many reviewers rated this 1 star due to their dislike for Ultraviolet format. I don't think it's fair to rate a Blu-ray product just 1 star due to dislike for only one of the formats offered with the product (but everybody is entitled to their opinion).

If you like this movie, I recommend this version (I bought it for $15 from Amazon, which I think is a great price; Target and FYE have the same version for $20).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2013
When I saw the reviews for this movie, I thought it would be funny to watch but not so. In my point of view Hollywood thinks that if they load a movie with lots of stars the movie will be a hit, in this case not So. This movie has a pretty pitiful story line, too many stupid gags, what a waste of some often good talented actors.

I do not recommend this movie and that is too bad because I do like these actors individually. Nice try Hollywood but you should do better by us the movie going public. This is my own personal opinion.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here